We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“short break”
Review of Percy Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Percy Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Chatton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“short break”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Decided on stopping at this hotel while touring about the borders,could not have picked a better spot,hotel has new people in running it and what a job they are doing. Rooms are nice and homely,meals are excellent and filling,well worth a visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenandDave610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    44
    13
    9
    4
See reviews for
34
119
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

Lovely village, Pub under new ownership and much improved
Well worth a visit, Good food and lovely atmosphere
Celebrated my granddaughters birthday and also had Sunday Lunch
Both excellent and excellent kept bar worth calling in if you are in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank menu1186394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NE England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We were with friends who live in the village so did not stay here. We decided to try the Sunday lunch from the new managers. Very well cooked tender beef with horseradish sauce and moist chicken with cranberry sauce offered in addition to the stuffing, both with fresh vegetables. Really tasty meal. We all chose the large size and couldn't manage puddings, but were tempted. Very friendly service, extra jugs of gravy too! Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maznal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We were welcomed into the hotel, the room was very clean and perfectly fine - and excellent value at £40 for a double room for the night. We didn't have an evening meal in the pub but the cooked breakfast was very generous and very well cooked - excellent value at £4.95. The beer in the pub was well kept and extremely good. We stayed midweek and it was fairly quiet. By all accounts it seems that Rose and her husband have only been in since january and are turning the place around and growing custom again and would urge others to stay here.
Its only 5 miles (about 7 Mins) from the A1, in a nice village and close for a visit to Chillington Castle and teh Wild Cattle - which is worth a visit.
Don't expect the Ritz - its a great and homely country pub to stay in

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NickfromLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level Contributor
207 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Reviewing the restaurant only as didnt stay here
Ate here last night with my cousin when we were out for a day in the countryside and had a lovely meal. Restaurant was busy, so it did take a while for the food to come, but it was worth the wait. I had fish and chips and my cousin opted for gammon, both meals were delicious.
Will definitely eat here again when in the area!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank misspink34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pitlochry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

had a good weekend with family till going into this pub
had been walking cold and wanted a coffee / bowl of soup and sandwich Pub only one near
i know it was a sunday no notice on door to say only doing sunday lunch.Went in side picked up menu this lady leaning on bar shouts only sunday lunch 12-4 i asked if they did coffee etc we got shouted at again only sunday lunch she moved from the bar to point at notice a customer at a table didnt know where to look asked if we could get any thing in village got shouted wooler. We just left wouldnt go back i am in hotel trade if i spoke like that i would have been sacked

Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank julie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

A group of us ate in the restaurant recently and found the staff very friendly and accommodating and the food reasonably priced and well cooked. A great pub to have a meal when staying in the surrounding villages.

Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Yorks04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatton
8.5 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
21.1 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
20.6 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
11.5 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
1.3 mi away
Chatton Park House
Chatton Park House
#3 of 4 in Chatton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Percy Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Percy Arms Hotel

Property: Percy Arms Hotel
Address: Percy Arms Main Road, Chatton NE66 5PS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Chatton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Chatton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Percy Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of rural Northumberland in the village of Chatton you'll find The Percy Arms; an ideal place to visit, dine or stay in luxury. Take a drive Northbound on the A1 from Morpeth (a mere 36 miles), follow the signs for Chillingham Castle and you'll descend on the peace and tranquillity of Chatton. On your drive there, you'll witness the spectacle of the Cheviot Hills, the varied hues of the grasses and heaths and appreciate the true splendour of our county. The Percy Arms is the ideal place to visit or stay for those looking for a relaxing break in informal but luxurious surroundings in the Northumberland countryside. The Percy Arms is in close proximity to some fantastic places including the spectacular Northumberland coastline, National Park, fine Castles and country houses, splendid churches and delightful towns and villages. We are also a dog & family friendly establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Percy Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Percy Arms Hotel Chatton, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing