We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning surroundings = Relaxing stay”
Review of Spylaw Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chatton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Spylaw Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning surroundings = Relaxing stay”
Reviewed 27 July 2012

My husband and I stayed at Splylaw for 4 nights from 16th July, to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. We were looking for a quiet location, but where we could drive out to find things to do if and when we wanted to!
Spylaw didn't disappoint. We were given a warm welcome by Lorna and Andy, and we stayed in Cuddys Croft cottage. Lorna showed us around and we were immediately impressed with the place. its absolutely gorgeous, clean and beautifully decorated.
We chose self catering and the cottage kitchen has everything you need for this, and if it doesn't, then i am sure that Lorna will sort that for you with absolutely no trouble!
Although we were self catering we took advantage of having our evening meal prepared and served in the cottage on two occasions by Lorna and Andy. The food was outstanding and a real treat to ourselves.
The furniture in the cottage is all very comfortable and games and DVDs are available. We personally enjoyed a DVD night!
The views from the cottage are stunning, and its great to open the door to a welcome from the farms chickens!
We would highly recommend Spylaw as a place to stay and we will definitely be returning! Ive got to have some of Lornas amazing meringues again!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
46
77
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeenshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2012

My husband, dog and I have just returned from a most enjoyable 4 night stay at Spylaw. We wanted Bed and Breakfast and were delighted when I phoned to check about whether or not dogs were allowed in the B&B accommodation, that Lorna offered us the use of Homildon. This meant that we had the use of the whole ground floor of this cottage which included a hallway with storage cupboard, a double bedroom, bathroom with huge bath and overhead shower, open plan kitchen, dining room, lounge and an enclosed garden. We then only had a short walk to the main house for meals.
The extensive and original breakfast list we were issued with each night left us with an unenviable task of having to choose what we wanted to eat the next morning. There were the usual cereals and juices but then there were also the home produced smoothies, yoghurt and fruit compote, porridge with double cream and maple syrup, home reared bacon, sausages, eggs, homemade pancakes, bread, jams, etc, etc.
We decided to have Evenings meals as well and each evening we waited eagerly to see what delightful dishes were going to be put in front of us. There is no choice but I am sure that if you told Lorna beforehand if there were things you definitely didn’t like, she would take this in to consideration. Once again, we were treated to a feast of wonderful flavours from home produced, extremely fresh produce. We also enjoyed sharing the table with the other guests and discussing their day’s experiences.
The extra touches like flowers in the rooms, a tea tray with home bakes each day when we returned and the log fire lit on our return one day when it was slightly cooler outside were very much appreciated.
We would thoroughly recommend Spylaw to anyone, young or old, single, couples or families (there’s plenty of games, toys and a safe garden). Its location is so peaceful but yet it’s only a short distance from several villages and the wonderful beaches on the Northumberland coast. The Boarders are also easily explored from Spylaw.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We stayed for 4 nights in July. We realised just before arriving that we had had a miscommunication regarding the booking - we thought we had booked self-catering. We were in the Hayloft, which the website implies has a private lounge with log burner. When we arrived, the Hayloft doesn't have a private lounge because the lounge is now a children's bedroom. It would be better if the website were amended so this is clear.

In fact we had inadvertently booked bed and breakfast for four nights, which we wouldn't have chosen as we wanted self-catering. For us it was a shame that the room had no TV and no wireless/3G reception and we had to vacate during the day so the owners could turn the rooms over.

Having said that, if you like to stay in B&Bs, the room was spotless, the breakfasts were excellent, the service warmed up considerably after the initial frosty reception over the booking confusion and the owners were very accommodating to our dog. So on the whole I would recommend Spylaw if you like B&Bs - I think it's a high standard of B&B.

Note that the nearest decent, dog-friendly pub seems to be in Bamburgh about 8 miles away, which is a problem if nobody wants to drive. We tried the Red Lion (not the one in Wooler) but they don't actually let dogs in (we had a wasted journey travelling over there for food and had to go to the chip shop in the end!).

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a private TV.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenMc17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Even better than we expected after reading the brochure. Exceptional accommodation, food, welcome, care, concern. What else could we ask for? What Lorna says in the brochure is absolutely true "Nothing is too much trouble". We stayed here a few days on our way to Scotland and were so glad that we had also booked to stay a few more days on our way back home;it was something to look forward to; and we would recommend it to anyone..

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2012

I booked for a night and wished I had time to stay for a week. This is the quintessential Bed and Breakfast offering a warm welcome (with tea and delicious home made cake) clean, stylish and cozy interiors, mouthwatering food (most definitely book an evening meal), comfortable beds, and a breakfast fit for a king - all wrapped up in Lorna and Andy's obvious enjoyment and care for their guests' needs. Spylaw is set on a quiet lane in some of the most outstandingly beautiful English countryside with every room offering breathtaking views (with binoculars to hand). A five-star bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedDogMumma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2012

We stayed in Cuddy's croft which is the one bedroom self catering cottage on the farm. It was perfect for our four nights stay and had everything we needed. One the first night after our long trip up we had food cooked by Lorna delivered to the cottage and it was superb, I thoroughly recommend having a meal. We were lucky enough to see some of the new born lambs and enjoyed checking up on the other animals after our days out and picked some strawberries from the polytunnel with Andy. If you are looking for a quiet location but within easy reach of the stunning Northumberland coast and the National Park I could not recommend staying here more highly. Thank you to both Lorna and Andy for making our holiday so enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We spent the last night of our English tour here.
We stayed at a couple of other similar places during our tour - we're still new to B&Bs having stayed only in hotels before the birth of our daughter. This was more of a B&B than the other places we stopped - the TV was in the main lounge, and tea and coffee as well and as we're quite anti-social (!) we were a bit taken aback at first. But it just didn't matter!
The room was lovely, and spotless. Our wee one slept on the mezzanine level of the room which was great though the steps up there were a bit steep and shoogly...
Lorna and Andy were very hospitable and Andy took us round the farm, tirelessly answering all our questions. Lots of animals including turkey chicks and lambs, and we were actively encouraged to go wandering around! It's a wonderful location, really secluded and peaceful.
Dinner was great, and breakfast was one of the best we've ever eaten! Lorna and Andy appear to do this for the sheer love of it, they really were lovely hosts. Tea and scones on arrival was a treat.
We hope to come back and stay self-catering - we could probably put most meals together from super produce from the farm - took home an overflowing veg box this time!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatPea99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatton
12.4 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
0.0 mi away
East Horton Farmhouse
East Horton Farmhouse
#3 of 9 in Wooler
34 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Old Mill B&B
The Old Mill B&B
#1 of 18 in Wooler
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Market Cross Guest House
1.8 mi away
Percy Arms Hotel
Percy Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Chatton
214 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Old Manse Chatton
The Old Manse Chatton
#1 of 4 in Chatton
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spylaw Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spylaw Farm

Property: Spylaw Farm
Address: | South Hazelrigg, Chatton NE66 5RZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Chatton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Chatton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very warm welcome awaits you at Spylaw Farm luxury holiday cottages. Superbly located in north Northumberland in rolling countryside, only seven miles from the Heritage coast, AONB and the Cheviots, Spylaw makes an idyllic base to explore local attractions, unspoilt beaches,historic sites and local wildlife. Great golf courses/links are within 4 miles. Pub, restaurant,shop,post office and trout fishery 2 miles away in the village of Chatton. Self Catering Cottages Two snug cottages offer you luxury, stylish, restful accommodation. Homildon House sleeps 6 in two double and one twin bedroom. The cottage has a log burning stove and a sunny south facing walled garden with BBQ and patio furniture. Cuddy's Croft sleeps 2 in one double bedroom, has a private mature, garden and wonderful views across the open countryside.Outside seating area and BBQ. Open all year for short breaks or longer holidays. Approached along a tree lined road in the lush Northumbrian countryside. Peaceful, rural retreat with stunning views. Relaxed, luxury self catering accommodation in an idyllic setting. A beautiful small development of traditional farm cottages in 4 acres of land. 7 miles to beaches and hills. 4 miles to great golf courses. Chatton village within 2 miles with pub/restaurant and post office/shop & trout fishery. Ideal for family and small group holidays. Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence 2015 and 2016 Our wonderful cream tea and welcome pack on arrival for all breaks. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Spylaw Farm Chatton, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing