We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highlight of our trip, the best place in Portugal!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Geres
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ermida Geres Camping
Ranked #1 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Geres
Certificate of Excellence
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip, the best place in Portugal!”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights last month. It is an amazing place with wonderful owners. The village is wonderful, almost lost in time, with loads to explore. The owners, Carlos and Ana were incredibly helpful and gave great advice. They told us places to go and things that we would be able to do with our two young children. The highlight for my seven year old was a canoe trip with Ana to a little piece of paradise (complete with waterfalls). My daughter had never been in a canoe before but Ana helped her build her confidence and she still says it was the best bit of our three week trip! The toilets and showers were incredibly clean, and lovely hot showers! A really great campsite, one I can't recommend high enough. We will definitely be back next year and have told all our friends to go. Thank you Ana and Carlos for making a small part of our trip so memorable.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Abitha2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    12
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
55
74
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, Somerset, UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

OK I haven't been to them all but this site would be a contender for such title.

Start with location. Half way up a Portuguese mountain, overlooking lakes and amidst breathtaking countryside, wonderful mountain walks, lots of climbing, 4x4 driving, horse riding, canoeing and other adventure sports .. and in a village which has changed much less than most in the past 150 years and is still a village commune.

Then the owner and his sister, Carlos and Ana, couldn't be more helpful and are such interesting people.

Now to the really most important thing. The toilets. Cleaned seemingly every hour .. modern block .. immaculate condition. So good you could eat your dinner off the floor they're that clean.

Not that there is any need to do that as this tiny village has two restaurants .. one of which gives 20% off the bill to people from the campsite. They serve great food including goat .. my wife enjoyed goat on the first night but refused to eat it again having come across some beautiful kid goats when walking round the village. Fortunately the menu has lots of options.

Obviously the site is a great centre for countryside and village life .. activities galore or just the right place to sit and read a Saramago novel ... but you can also and easily use it as a base for seeing Braga ... about 40 minutes away.

Some facts: Cabins, wooden tents (bit like a dog kennel to look at but they're roomy and comfortable), erected tents plus lots of places to camp too. Gets a bit busier at the weekend when locals escape from nearby towns (and am told gets a bit busy too in the height of the school holidays).

Journey up from the main road is 3 miles of fairly narrow roads. But the view once you get there is so well worth it.

All these 5 star reviews are not wrong. Well they may be under stated that's all!

Room Tip: Whilst the site overall has great views a couple of the cabins have terraces with truly sensational...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jensenfrome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aachen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

We had a great time in Ermida! The campsite is in the middle of nature. For example a wonderful waterfall is only a 3 km walk away. The toilets are cleaned several times a day so they are really clean. The owners are very friendly and give you all information you need.
We definitely will come back!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Regina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaves, Portugal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

My family and I decided on a more outdoorsy holiday, and we couldn't have chosen a better place to stay in. It's situated in a charming and unique village and we never ran out of things to see or do in the 5 days we were there thanks to the advice of the excellent people in charge there, Carlos and Ana Margarida.

They went out of their way to make sure our stay was the best it could be and it sure was. They were helpful, reliable, open and fantastic to talk to.


We stayed both in the tenda índia and the cabin and I have only good things to say about both. Very comfortable, spacious and well-kept, just like the bathrooms and the overall camping site. The camping park also offers a wide range of activities like jeep rides, canoeing, bike rides which take you to these unknown and unspoiled beautiful little spots of the Gerês natural park.

I fully recommend staying here and I simply can't wait to be back.

Room Tip: Tenda Índia is a charming place to stay in (with really comfortable mattresses too!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VanessaVogensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We were only thinking in staying 1/2 nights.
But the great campsite, hosts (their kindness and tips) and surroundings got us to stay there the whole time.
We will surely go back.

PS: Don't miss out on the kayaks and hosts tips.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dinis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This is a perfect campsite, beautifully located in the middle of a natural paradise and with wonderful owners, who make you feel so welcome and relaxed throughout your stay. The facilities are all super clean and our dog absolutely loved the site as well! Brother and sister, Carlos and Ana, both speak good English and were so helpful to us, advising us on where to go and taking us kayaking! The even drove us to their vet so we could get our dog her tape worm treatment before travelling back to the UK. We tried a few other campsites in the park but this is far and away the best and in the best location, so don't bother going anyway else!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Salvo, Portugal
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2014

When arriving in Ermida Geres Camping, you will see a small camping site, with excelent conditions, service and well equipped.

The owners are very friendly, professional and helpful.

We stayed in a Bivaque for two people and it was amazing, the conditions were excellent with electricity and heating, the mattresses were very good, the rented sleeping bags and blankets were clean and in excellent condition.

The surrounding are amazing and near the camping you have one restaurant with great food.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susana_Cardigos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geres
0.0 mi away
Aguas do Geres - Hotel, Termas & Spa
0.0 mi away
Nomad Planet
Nomad Planet
#1 of 1 in Fiaes do Rio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostel Geres
Hostel Geres
#1 of 19 in Geres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lisboa Camping & Bungalows
Lisboa Camping & Bungalows
#311 of 434 in Lisbon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.0 mi away
Parque Biologico de Vinhais
0.0 mi away
Orbitur Canidelo
Orbitur Canidelo
#1 of 1 in Canidelo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ermida Geres Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ermida Geres Camping

Property: Ermida Geres Camping
Address: Lugar da Ermida 295 | Vilar da Veiga, Geres 4845-999, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Braga District > Geres
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Geres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing