We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deposit not returned”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Croftside B & B Chichester
Ranked #2 of 3 Birdham B&B and Inns
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Deposit not returned”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

As others have noted, there is a terrible booking policy. Not only is the deposit non-refundable and non-transferrable (this is clearly stated but they MEAN it), but even when cancelled 6 weeks in advance and one room has since been re-booked there is still no refund. In addition, a £20 'administration' charge was made. Of the £115 paid only £25 was refunded as a 'goodwill' gesture.
This is an outrageous and highly unusual policy and needs to be publicised more.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank king47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croftside, Owner at Croftside B & B Chichester, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Sadly this is only half the story; in good faith we have held this booking (Claytons & Yachtroom - 3 guests in the same party) since 6th February 2013. At the time of booking we do advise guests to have adequate travel insurance in the case of cancellation through illness etc. Unfortunately it would seem although the guest has had to cancel through illness, we can only assume they have no relevant travel insurance.
We have managed to re-book one of the rooms (unfortunately not both as a combined unit as booked), and have only charged the guest our 'loss' less a modest admin charge. Our contract was to hold the rooms for them which we did for around 5months; it may have been we could have lost other longer bookings in that time - we will never know, but we contract to hold the rooms as booked for that guest(s) for the time chosen, and they agree to our terms. By their own admission the guest is very busy and doesn't always read their emails properly - however, we always advise our terms verbally at the time of booking, they are on the website prior to guests booking and re-iterate them in our confirmation emails, along with our advice re travel insurance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    3
    1
    0
    4
See reviews for
5
23
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We selected this B&B from internet search, knowing roughly where we wanted to stay. An excellent choice! Is it was very comfortable; we were made to feel very welcome; the breakfast was delicious - all in all very good value. Thank you.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We have visited Croftside many times now and are still very satisfied with it. We have slept in all the rooms and tried all the beds. The mattresses are perfect as are the breakfasts! Both Geof and Sue work very hard to accommodate their guests and nothing is too much trouble. They are also very knowledgeable about the area and can recommend many things to do and see. We look forward to our next return.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LyntonLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croftside, Owner at Croftside B & B Chichester, responded to this review, 4 January 2013
Thank you so much for yet another glowing report on Croftside; it's always a pleasure to see you again, more like old friends now rather than guest and 'patron'. Hope you enjoy your trip to Portugal, and look forward to seeing you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

My mum and I were very pleased with our choice to stay at croftside, we were visiting the area for a family wedding. the room was beautiful, light airy with modern furnishings, we were made to feel very welcome and had our own keys so we could come and go as we pleased. The location is very close to Chicester town centre and also a short drive from west witterings beach. There was a very handy information pack in the room which we found very useful. The breakfast selection was fantastic and cooked to perfection each morning, I would definitely recommend this lovely b&b. Thank you :)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blonde925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croftside, Owner at Croftside B & B Chichester, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
Thank you so much, we are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you again sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburton, Devon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Very annoyed with this b&b.
We booked in advance and paid the deposit 50%.
Unfortunately the show we are supposed to be attending has been postponed due to the weather.
So i contacted them and tried to cancel my booking.
Apparently the deposit is non refundable which is a pity.
However i then tried to move the date until the end of August to coincide with the new festival date.
I was told that although i could do this, the deposit i had already paid was also non-transferrable which is a rip-off.
The place might be wonderful but their policies suck.
Avoid.
Needless to say, we've now booked elsewhere.

Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank PhilDartmoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croftside, Owner at Croftside B & B Chichester, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Sometimes all is not as it may at first appear ….. our terms are clearly stated on our website and throughout the booking process. In spite of this we did make an effort to help, especially as the guest was an exhibitor at the postponed Festival, but he chose not to accept our suggestion which would almost certainly have minimised his loss.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We chose to stay at this establishment again over the New Year, as we have used it before and always found it to be excellent value for money. We have worked our way around all the bedrooms and were in the Boathouse this time. Having read a previous review I was surprised to see that the guest was disturbed by road noise. I have never found this to be a problem in the bedrooms and only ever heard an ambulance/fire engine go past. The Boathouse is so tucked away you can't hear anything (it's soundproofed), the guest must have had amazing ears! Geof and Sue provide a lovely selection for breakfast and the cooked option is to die for. The place is always spotless and the owners take pride in this business.

I was also surprised at the complaint about the towels, we have never found them hard and with regards to the tea bags, over New Year I had handfuls provided for my use at no extra charge.
We love the homely feel of the place and will be returning again in a few weeks to attend a family birthday party locally.
We would highly recommend this property and will continue to stay there whilst visiting our family and friends in the area.

Room Tip: The Boathouse is completely private, you can come and go as you please without feeling you are distu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LyntonLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croftside, Owner at Croftside B & B Chichester, responded to this review, 5 February 2012
Thank you Lynton lady for your comments. It's always nice when a repeat guest takes the trouble to write a new review. Looking forward to seeing you next weekend, ahead of your family Birthday Party. Will make sure the Boathouse is warm and cosy for your arrival!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
croydon
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

We stayed for one night (thankfully) and booked at the last minute, in fact the night before. I booked the boat house suite in the garden which I thought would be a good option as the house is on a very main busy road and we don’t like road noise. I looked on their website and it said the room was £75.00 but when I called the owner he said it would be £85.00. I said about the website but he would not negotiate so I agreed on £85. I asked about breakfast and he said it was from 7 to 9 which I thought was very early for a Sunday so I asked how much it would be without breakfast and he said £80, even though they charge £7.50 each for breakfast. He also told me we could not check in until after 4pm and check out was 10.30.
I was not impressed with the conversation I had with the owner on the phone but against my better judgement decided to except his conditions.
We were shown to the boat house suite!! A small converted garage in the garden. The bedroom consisted of a double bed and just enough room to walk down each side if you walk sideways. The road noise was horendous. The towels were great if you like to exfoliate when trying to dry yourself. There were 2 tea bags. How mean is that? We had a cup of tea on arrival and then could not have another one in the morning!!
We went to breakfast which I must admit was very nice. At least they got that right! But the lady owner was walking around with bare feet. Not particularly appropriate. I choose this place based on the good reviews on Trip Advisor but I would never stay here again or recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellertheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croftside, Owner at Croftside B & B Chichester, responded to this review, 17 January 2012
It was hard to find this booking in my records, as the Boathouse was fully booked throughout September 2011, with no single night Saturday stays. The only single Saturday night stay was on the 22nd October 2011.

The popular Boathouse Suite, is a bespoke garden building (not a converted garage), originally commissioned as a sound proofed recording studio. It has since been adapted to provide flexible guest accommodation. With an overall size of 28’ x 11’ the B&B suite comprises a Bedroom with KS Bed, Lounge with 3 seater sofa, table, chairs, flat screen TV/DVD and guest fridge; a Shower Room and outside, a small secluded patio area.

The Boathouse is available for much of the year, but between April and October there is a 2 night minimum stay for B&B or 3 nights Self Catering. The published website B&B price in October 2011 was £80 per night, based on a 2 night stay. During this season, on the very rare occasions a single Saturday night is available and subsequently offered for sale, we do charge a small £5 supplement.

Property details and information are on our website, including Breakfast and Check In/Out times. When guests call to book by phone check in/out times are always advised; you do acknowledge you asked these questions prior to making the booking.

We are eco-friendly, and our towels are nearly always air rather than tumbled dried.

It is misleading for you to say we only give two teabags. We provide a selection of teas and coffees for guests; if you had enjoyed your favourite on arrival, as always, we would have been very happy to provide more of that variety on request. As you may recall, we always encourage guests to tell us if there is anything we can do to make their stay more enjoyable and comfortable.

Like most establishments our pricing structure varies according to type and season; the Breakfast price you quote is for Self Catering guests.

Croftside prides itself on a ‘home from home’ ambiance combined with a high standard of guest hospitality, so if my lack of footwear caused you offence, for this, I am sorry.

We were rather shocked to read your January 2012 review, as you gave no indication that you were unhappy whilst staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birdham
4.8 mi away
Chichester Park Hotel
Chichester Park Hotel
#6 of 8 in Chichester
571 reviews
1.7 mi away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#2 of 8 in Chichester
852 reviews
3.8 mi away
Travelodge Chichester Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Church Lodge Bed and Breakfast
3.1 mi away
The Boathouse Bosham
The Boathouse Bosham
#1 of 6 in Bosham
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Croftside B & B Chichester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Croftside B & B Chichester

Property: Croftside B & B Chichester
Address: Croftside Main Road, Birdham, Chichester PO20 7HS, England (Formerly Croftside Cottage B&B)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester > Birdham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Birdham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Croftside B & B Chichester 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Croftside bed and breakfast - offering relaxing holidays, short breaks and overnight stays in Birdham, nr Chichester, West Sussex. Croftside, 4* bed and breakfast accommodation, is ideally located to the nearby city of Chichester, the beaches of West Wittering and borders the protected area of Chichester Harbour, in the beautiful county of West Sussex England. Croftside bed & breakfast provides a high standard of accommodation and hospitality. Each one of our comfortable and relaxing guest rooms is tastefully furnished with king sized double beds (most rooms), complimentary refreshment trays & pamper products, TV, radio & free WIFI. We serve a truly delicious traditional English breakfast - eggs 'Croftside' or smoked salmon & scrambled eggs, together with a buffet selection of cereals, fruits & juices, tea, fresh coffee, toast & preserves. Veggies also well catered for! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Croftside B & B Chichester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croftside B & B Chichester Birdham, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing