We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's the thoughtful touches that make this B&B special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Croftside B & B Chichester
Ranked #2 of 3 Birdham B&B and Inns
Kent
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“It's the thoughtful touches that make this B&B special”
Reviewed 25 July 2010

From the moment Tom came out to the car to greet us as we arrived and to assist us with our luggage, I knew this place was going to be just fine. We had the Garden Suite - a pleasant sitting room area and twin bedroom - ideal for two old school chums away on a few days break and who might wish for a bit more space to spread out! The rooms were comfortable and very clean. Everything looked fresh and bright - attractive white linen on the beds, heated radiator in the bathroom. The breakfast was excellent - a range of cereals, fresh fruit (strawberries and melon), prunes, yoghurt, followed by a choice which included the Great British Breakfast, or smoked salmon and scrambled eggs. However, it was the little touches that made Croftside special. Much of the produce is locally sourced - Sue and Tom are advocates of 'Green Tourism' and, for example, their marmalade and jam came from a local centre helping people with learning disabilities. Other touches included a basket of novels and up to date magazines in the sitting room; the lotions, cotton wool buds and ear plugs in the bathroom - and of course, the friendly and helpful service that Sue and Tom offered throughout the stay. On our arrival that first evening, Tom even suggested and booked a pub restaurant for us to save our having to go out and search for our evening meal. Overall, a very pleasant place to stay and a good base for exploring Chichester and the surrounding areas.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valinkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    3
    1
    0
    4
See reviews for
5
20
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
kent
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2010

What a wonderful place to stay!! Sue greeted us at the door as we drew into the drive and soon had us settled in the Boathouse Suite, which is apart from the main house and suited us just fine as we had our own bit of space. The Suite is very spacious with all that you need plus a little patio area at the back for your own bit of quiet time! Breakfast is in the conservatory overlooking the peaceful garden with the other guests and it is a very relaxed affair, the breakfasts offered are just incredible one must try the Croftside egg, smoked salmon on toast with hollandaise sauce --mmmm yummy--that was me set up for the weekend!! Sue and Geoff are a a brilliant couple who are very helpful with all their local information, they are so friendly and make you feel totally at ease that you could almost be in your own home! We thank them for a wonderful 3 nights there and would def go back as well as recommend to friends and family--a real total chill out time that was much needed!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kentmaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2010

We have literally just arrived home from a relaxing short break and were lucky enough to book the Yacht room at Croftside. On arrival we were greeted by Sue with a big smile and shown straight to the lovely airy room which had enough space for two seats and a table. I LOVED the walk in wardrobe (Tom now has to build me one)! The bathroom was clean and it was a delight to find that the lovely scent in the bathroom was actually the soap made from essential oils! I had a lovely long bath in the bath salts provided - fabulous! It was a needed break and Sue & Geof are so lovely and friendly that they somehow found themsleves helping us out on the first morning with ideas for our wedding which had been causing us such stress, I have to add their input was so welcome and has really helped us to make some decisions! A lovely place to stay, wonderful hosts who make you feel at home and an fabulous breakfast to boot. You couldn't do better and I have stayed at hotels and B&B's around the world. Well worth the visit! Look forward to going back in the summer :) PS the plum jam at breaksfast is home made and out of this world! Thanks!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toulom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2010

We were visiting relatives in Chichester, and decided to try this B & B after reading the fantastic reviews. We stayed in one of the double rooms, which had all been beautifully decorated with a lovely style of individual decor. The breakfast was fantastic and served in relaxing conservatory overlooking the garden. Geoff and Sue are great hosts and we would happily recommend Croftside to friends.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LushLyons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2010

I had the misfortune of staying in this overpriced B&B. the bedroom was tiny with barely place to walk around the bed. the 'quirky' bathroom had a sloping celing , to take a shower you have to bend over, water pressure was terribly low. the 'home made soap' was a sliver that just would not foam. the bedroom was cold and i got a chest infection while staying for four nights. the only time i saw the owner was the day i was leaving to pay the remainder of the bill. not even once was i asked how the stay was etc and no help offered to me the night i arrived struggling with three bags of various sizes to an upstairs bedroom.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tabby88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croftside, Owner at Croftside B & B Chichester, responded to this review, 8 March 2010
As a Bed & Breakfast we endeavour to give all our guests a pleasurable stay.

When guests stay on a 'room only' basis - leave early in the morning and return late at night - interaction is not easy.

In these cases, for the comfort and daily 'welcome' of guests in winter, each night we close the curtains (or blinds), put on the lights and ensure the room is adequately heated ready for their arrival. It is a shame the guest did not inform us they required additional heating, as it is available on request.

Additional bedding is always in the rooms as standard.

The bathroom indeed does have a sloping ceiling, adding to its character, the handshower is designed to be used for hairwashing, after or during, a long soak in the full sized bath.

The homemade guests soaps prove so popular that guests frequently request to take some home.

All our bedrooms have high quality kingsize beds as standard, with ample (min 1.5m) additional clear space on three sides.

Fortunately most of our guests thoroughly enjoy their stay - many returning again and again.

They tell us 'how hospitable' we have been, given them 'the best breakfast in years' and compliment our rooms, our home and its design.

As the saying goes 'you can't please all of the people - all of the time' however hard you might try.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2009

Clean rooms, comfortable bed, great breakfast, friendly people, value for money. We will be going again.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LyntonLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2009

My husband and I had the great pleasure in staying here for 3 nights and I must say if far exceeded our expectations. It was modern, clean and although a bed and breakfast, very private. Geoff and Sue could not do enough to help and the breakfasts were superb. We had a wonderful time staying here and would advise anyone who may be considering a stay in Chichester, look no further, you won't find better......

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazza99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birdham
2.9 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
1.7 mi away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#2 of 8 in Chichester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Chichester Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Chichester Harbour Hotel
Chichester Harbour Hotel
#5 of 8 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Nags Head
The Nags Head
#8 of 8 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
4.8 mi away
Chichester Park Hotel
Chichester Park Hotel
#7 of 8 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Croftside B & B Chichester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Croftside B & B Chichester

Property: Croftside B & B Chichester
Address: Croftside Main Road, Birdham, Chichester PO20 7HS, England (Formerly Croftside Cottage B&B)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester > Birdham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Birdham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Croftside B & B Chichester 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Croftside bed and breakfast - offering relaxing holidays, short breaks and overnight stays in Birdham, nr Chichester, West Sussex. Croftside, 4* bed and breakfast accommodation, is ideally located to the nearby city of Chichester, the beaches of West Wittering and borders the protected area of Chichester Harbour, in the beautiful county of West Sussex England. Croftside bed & breakfast provides a high standard of accommodation and hospitality. Each one of our comfortable and relaxing guest rooms is tastefully furnished with king sized double beds (most rooms), complimentary refreshment trays & pamper products, TV, radio & free WIFI. We serve a truly delicious traditional English breakfast - eggs 'Croftside' or smoked salmon & scrambled eggs, together with a buffet selection of cereals, fruits & juices, tea, fresh coffee, toast & preserves. Veggies also well catered for! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Croftside B & B Chichester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croftside B & B Chichester Birdham, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing