We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best family vacation!”
other travellers have booked this property
Front view of vacation home and pool deck
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front view of vacation home and pool deck
Pool area at night Living room and kitchen area, open concept with glass doors out to terrace.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Front view of vacation home and pool deck
Pool area at night
Living room and kitchen area, open concept with glass doors out to terrace.
Private terrace, perfect for breakfast, coffee, and monkey watching!
bedroom #1
bedroom #2 (additional twin bed not pictured)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Esterillos Oeste, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
donnaches...
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best family vacation!”
Reviewed 13 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Surf Costa was the perfect family vacation spot. We were three generations - ages 68 to 8 - and it was wonderful for all. The house was rustic but a haven in the jungle with a beautiful pool. There were two very comfortable bedrooms and a loft which quickly became the grandsons “man cave”. Brian, our guide, seemed like a member of our family. The boys idolized him as he taught them to surf, showed them how to feed the monkeys that visited our deck and feed the bananas growing in the yard to the iguanas. The nearby beach was georgeous and practically our own private oasis. Brian led us on amazing tours and to delicious places to eat. We are looking forward to going back. Thank you, Brian, for such wonderful memories.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Feb 2018
We are so happy you enjoyed it Donna. We can't wait to have you back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kyle a
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Way to See Costa Rica Hand Down 5 Stars!!!”
Reviewed 4 December 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Surf Costa was a fantastic trip! We went down with 7 guys all around 25 years old for a surf trip and we left wanting to go back for more. We experienced world class fishing, surfing, ATV tours and great food. Sean, Bryan, and Ariel were great hosts and got us whatever we needed at a moments notice. There is a real family vibe to this place and I highly recommend to anyone looking to try out Costa Rica.

Also the breakfast is 10/10 definitely get the breakfast package.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshNGiord...
Oceanport, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If you want to go to Costa Rica - THIS is the way to do it”
Reviewed 23 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Not only was the house at Surf Costa perfect, but so was our entire experience! The home was clean, cozy, private and beautiful!.

BUT - Surf Costa isn't just a place to stay; what you're getting is the full Costa Rica experience. Sean was great at reading our group and knowing exactly what type of activities we'd enjoy, so feel free to go down there without a plan (in fact, i recommend it!). He not only chauffeured us to different locations and excursions, but would often stop and point out different wildlife, pick up breakfast and juice at local spots and take us to places we didn't even know existed in Costa. If you want to really experience Costa Rica, Surf Costa is exactly what you're looking for!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack K
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Locals know best”
Reviewed 20 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Wow, if you are going to do Costa Rica any way, this is the way to do it. Our host/personal driver/ surf teacher/ Sean showed us true Costa Rica in its purest form. Our private little oasis was perfect along with our own pool. This place is truly paradise and with Sean being a local for the last 12 years, we were able to get the full experience out of our stay. We were able to go on so many adventures like white water rafting, surfing, ATV excursions, zoos, zip lining and more. Sean is a great guy and host and i promise that you wont find someone offering the same service as him in Costa Rica. Truly the best and most fun vacation i have ever been on and its all thanks to Sean and the beautiful country of Costa Rica.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather R
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Thank you SurfCosta!”
Reviewed 2 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Word of mouth sent us to SurfCosta & I'm so grateful for that. Ariele met us at the airport door which was very helpful &stopped on the way to the compound to pick up some groceries. She was there each day to adventure with us - many options available. Her food recommendations were on point every time! I loved having the "locals experience" & not being surrounded by the typical travel tourist scene. The property is gorgeous & spacious with an outdoor shower, huge pool deck, awesome pool & outdoor spot to cook and eat. The buildings are spread out so you never feel like you're on top of other people staying there. There's tons of wildlife right outside. It was very helpful to not have to drive around in a different country or try to maneuver with our very little Spanish speaking abilities - however it was an option if we wanted to. The two beaches that are a minute away are beautiful &not crowded. I'd recommend SurfCosta to anyone looking for adventure in a chilled out environment. I also love that we were able to learn about the country while hanging out and eat fruit from the trees! I'll definitely be staying there again the next trip we plan to Costa Rica. Thank you SurfCosta family for such a beautiful experience -- you guys rock!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Surfcosta has it all”
Reviewed 31 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I recently had my bachelor party at Surfcosta and spent 5 nights with all of my best friends and close family. Bryan, Sean and Ariel made sure we never skipped a beat of fun and relaxation.

The hotel is very comfortable and was easily able to sleep all 15 of us. I believe the hotel can sleep up to nearly 30 though. The rooms were the perfect temperature - which is something hard to achieve given the 90 degree heat in the middle of the jungle!

Bryan, Sean and Ariel have all the local knowledge and were able to set us up with a ton of activities - sport fishing, surfing, booze cruise, ATVing, zip lining, crocodile tours and night life.

If you are looking for a well-rounded trip (sports and other recreational activities, awesome food, and a good night life experience), you must book with Surfcosta!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkerHil...
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“These guys will find you the best of whatever you're looking for...”
Reviewed 29 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
2
people found this review helpful

As part of a long destination bachelor party, myself and 14 other of my mates came down to SurfCosta by recommendation of a friend. Brian, Sean, and Ariel helped us find everything we were looking for and then some. For surfing, they got us to the best waves with stellar boards. For fishing, they hooked us up with a captain they knew and the boys had a killer offshore outing (2 blue marlin and 4 sailfish). For general exploring, they got us linked up with great ATV tours, party boats, nightclubs, and zip lining.

To top it all off, every day they took us to the most insane restaurants. Places we safely never would have found without the local knowledge. This is an amazing spot that's a little off the radar with some of the best hosts a crew could ask for.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing