We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ongoing THEFT is a big problem”
Review of Cabanas Biuzaa'

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cabanas Biuzaa'
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ongoing THEFT is a big problem”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

My wife, myself, son, and daughter in-law stayed here for 5 nights, us on a top floor suite with terrace and my son and daughter in-law below us on the ground floor. The location is fine, and we loved our suite. We all went out one evening for a few hours and upon our return, found out that our son's ground floor room and been robbed--all their best clothes, iphone, ipad, watches, sunglasses and jewellery. The front desk was helpful, we called the police, but they never bothered coming. The owner offered us free drinks, but said he couldn't do anything else. Talking with several different owners and managers of local restaurants, they told us this had happened 6 other times within the past year. SIX!. And what had the owner done--changed the locks. That isn't the problem though. Someone got in through a ground floor window (easy to do) or with a key because they were on staff. Each room should have a safe and the ground floor rooms should have decorative iron work on the outside of the windows, but the owner said it would be too much money. We liked Biuzza, but would never stay there again, nor recommend it until real safety measures are taken. Be warned.

Room Tip: Book a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lazuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    16
    1
    2
    6
See reviews for
5
22
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We had such a relaxed and happy stay at Cabanas Biuzaa. We upgraded to a suite with a terrace, which was incredible, with a sea view and a hammock to sleep away the hot midday hours. It's in a great location to access Mazunte and the unmissable mangrove conservation and turtle project at La Ventanilla, and lovely laid-back town Puerto Angel in the other direction.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kath A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Stayed here for a full week; clean, quiet, conveniently located, and the friendliest staff (Antonio and Susanna). When my belly was a bit funky one day, they made me fresh vegetable and chicken soup. I'd definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

This is the perfect place to just relax, take naps, walk to the beach, and then take another nap. They've done a great job creating a welcoming and tranquil ambiance. The landscaping is beautiful and we really liked the treehouse feel of our cabana. The staff is absolutely fantastic....helpful, friendly and extremely professional. It has a unique location for Zipolite, as it's just off the main strip...so I think this could be a pro or a con depending on what you're looking for. I enjoyed getting away from the beach and going back to our little cabana. The only real negative is that there is no communal space other than the small bar area. Unless you have one of the suites, you don't have much of an outside area to relax. I definitely had hammock envy every time I looked at the decks attached to the suites. So if you can afford a suite, I suggest that's the way to go. We would definitely stay here again, but next time in one of the suites.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiki-sandiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BCN
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Great place, great, knowledgeable, helpful staff , great music &drinks at the bar... everything is perfect about this place! If you can, pay a little extra and get on of the 2 rooms with balcony, at the top of the property, from where you have great views to the sea... WE got there the last ones and were stuck with the cabaña next to the bar which wasn't ideal bc we didn't have much intimacy and could hear all the conversations and probably, they could hear ours! however, the staff played great relaxing music at the bar and people were very laid back and nice, not to mention the price that is very affordable for the comfort you get! I'd definitely recommend, but try not to get the cabañas next to the bar.

Room Tip: Cabañas by the bar are noisy, get the ones at the top of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lalbeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We were looking for something not typical to your average resort hotel in Mexico and happen to stumble on this Cabanas Biuzaa. Simplicity at its finest and breath taking. This is definitely a place to be when you want to get away from it all and just be one with mother nature. The staff were great! Never had to ask twice for anything! Perfect escape from the everyday hustle 'n' bustle of the city life we life in day in and day out in Toronto. I'm definitely up for another visit in coming months!

Room Tip: Get a suite! It's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeremiah d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zipolite hotels
0.2 mi away
Posada Buena Vida
Posada Buena Vida
#3 of 5 in Zipolite
135 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Nude Zipolite
Hotel Nude Zipolite
#2 of 5 in Zipolite
193 reviews
0.6 mi away
El Alquimista Yoga & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lyoban Beach Hostel
Lyoban Beach Hostel
#12 of 15 in Zipolite
31 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Escondida
Villa Escondida
#6 of 18 in Zipolite
40 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Loma Linda: Bungalows, Yoga and Feldenkrais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabanas Biuzaa'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas Biuzaa'

Property: Cabanas Biuzaa'
Address: Col. Las Palmas s/n, Zipolite 70902, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Zipolite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Zipolite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cabanas Biuzaa' 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabañas Biuzaa' is a rest hotel that offers a redesigned concept of harmony to our guests. Our approach is to highlight the special details of life, as simple as a walk, and as unique as the range of colors in the sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cabanas Biuzaa' reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing