We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looove!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
El Alquimista Yoga & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Zipolite
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
1 review
“Looove!”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

This place is absolutely magical! I loved everything about it. Walking in, you are immediately absorbed by the mystical arrangement of discreet bungalows embedded in a jungle of palm trees and Bugambilias. The beach is idillic for both lounging and surfing. The staff feels like family and the food in the restaurant is fantastic.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Littlelilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    67
    14
    2
    1
See reviews for
24
164
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This place is a must dining stop while staying in this area. The food and service is as good as any top restaurant anywhere you may have traveled. Our host treated us to a great experience from beginning to end. My wife and I were treated to fresh and unique variations of salads and mains that were delicious.

It is not that easy to find (down a poorly marked dirt road near the north entrance to Zipolite) and has less than 10 tables, but make the effort to find El Alquimista and you won't regret it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dosTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

Fantastic cool place in Zipolite. Right on the beach means waking up to the sound of the waves. The restaurant is really good especially the killer desserts! Daniela and David at the reception are very friendly and helpful.
We booked to stay for 3 days but ended up staying for 5 days. The hotel was definitely the most relaxing place I've stayed in for a long long time. Can't wait to go back there

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank az72az
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

In my opinion, is the best place to stay and eat in Zipolite. The cabins are great and clean, the food is amazing, and they have a perfect taste in music. The people is very nice, and you can practice yoga every day. You just can't miss this place.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MarissaMinutti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Agree with Nuria M that Posada Mexico's food is worth a look if you seek variety but El-Alquimista's food is a notch or two better at both breakfast and dinner. It is well managed and service was observant and attentive when you needed some and absent when you didn't. David and Paola at reception were on the ball. Anda, who spoke several languages, did it all for the restaurant and knew all you cared to know. Antionio was a server of distinction with very good English language skills.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JimO2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Amazing spacious cabanas on the beach, friendly staff, relaxing pool and a restaurant serving some of the best food I have eaten whilst traveling threw Mexico. A strong recommendation for anyone traveling threw Zipolite.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlwinship
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We just spent a week at El Alquimista and it was the most relaxing experience. The rooms are clean and airy, the pool is perfect, the restaurant delicious and reasonably priced. Service all around is A+. We also took yoga classes and they were fantastic.
I just wish there were more umbrellas or shaded areas by the pool, but that didn't deter me from spending time by the pool, enjoy the ocean or the fantastic terrace.

Room Tip: Cabana 18 was fantastic, but you should also consider 11 and 10. If you prefer a smaller room 1 and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mauricio221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zipolite
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nude Zipolite
Hotel Nude Zipolite
#2 of 5 in Zipolite
193 reviews
0.3 mi away
Posada Buena Vida
Posada Buena Vida
#3 of 5 in Zipolite
136 reviews
1.8 mi away
ZOA Hotel
ZOA Hotel
#3 of 6 in Mazunte
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Bahia de la Luna
Bahia de la Luna
#1 of 7 in Puerto Angel
312 reviews
2.4 mi away
El copal
El copal
#4 of 6 in Mazunte
113 reviews
2.4 mi away
OceanoMar
OceanoMar
#2 of 6 in Mazunte
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Alquimista Yoga & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Alquimista Yoga & Spa

Property: El Alquimista Yoga & Spa
Address: Domicilio Conocido S/N | Fin de Playa, Zipolite 70904, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Zipolite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Zipolite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — El Alquimista Yoga & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel and restaurant in Zipolite, Mexico Located in the Oaxacan coast, on the Pacific, 5 minutes from Puerto Angel. Zipolite offers the ideal vacation for the single traveler. In the far north end of the beach, they are the restaurant and cabins The Alchemist. The restaurant has an excellent international food and breakfast, lunch and dinner under the stars in their prime location on the sea is served. The cabins are regarded as the best accommodation on the beach be located a few steps from the sea and finishes and top quality design. The pool is available to guests except for children under 15 years, as it is in the area of the spa and yoga center, making an environment of relaxation and tranquility is maintained. No alcoholic beverages are allowed in the pool area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your El Alquimista Yoga & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanas El Alquimista Hotel Oaxaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing