We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kinnitty Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kinnitty
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We had a great time at Kinnitty Castle. Our room was beautiful; two queen beds under a canopy, beautiful antique furnishings and a gigantic bathroom!
They seemed pretty busy when we arrived. We tried to grab something to eat in the library pub room, but after ten minutes with no service we gave up and went to our room to order room service. Room service also took a long time, but we got the cheese platter and loved it.
Dinner at the castle was superb! Save room for dessert, the ice creams are so rich and creamy.
We took a house ride in the morning, I would highly recommend it. The handlers were friendly and informative, the horses were gentle and the views were like a postcard.
I would highly recommend the castle to anyone who will be in the area.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kinnittymanagement, Manager at Kinnitty Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Sara M,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent trip at the Castle. We are delighted that you enjoyed your guestroom, all the rooms at the Castle are completely unique and a great talking point.

We apologize for any delay that you experienced in terms of service as we pride ourselves on this, glad that you enjoyed the food.

We offer lots of onsite activities at the Castle, which we are delighted that you got to sample the horse riding

We do hope to welcome you to the Castle again in the future.

Kind regards,
The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (813)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

454 - 460 of 813 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

I attended a wedding party (buffet) recently in the hotel, it was my first visit, and the avenue to the hotel gave me a great feeling about the welcome. There were lovely little lamps lining the driveway, which is through a forest. The castle is a real castle and has the feel of going back in time. I passed through an authentic courtyard into the dining hall. It was a beautiful summer evening. The food was top class and the surroundings along with great music made for the most memorable wedding I have attended in years. Staff were great, looking after every detail and the bar was hidden in an alcove. The focus was on the bridal party and enjoying ourselves in appropriate lighting. One word of warning - if midges are attracted to you: bring repellent as this hotel is set in a forest and midges love trees!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mollybawn190754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kinnittymanagement, Manager at Kinnitty Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Mollybawn 190754,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Castle for a recent Wedding and that you were impressed from the moment you drove up the driveway. We pride ourselves on the level of service and quality of food that we offer and deliver to all guests who attend a Wedding at the Castle and will pass on your kind comments to all members of staff.

We do hope you will come back and visit the Castle in the future.

Kind regards,
The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Ok, if you are looking for a modern room and bath up to spa standards then forget it. These rooms and many furnishings are huge, maybe drafty, with some authentic furniture. Again no modern bath and shower, but it functions and again the experience of the castle as it was and not a modern replica is important to remember. If anything is not working (hot water) then ask. They really try to make the experience great. This is a wedding destination so it benefits from great gourmet dining by candle and grounds for hikeing. Do not miss Kinnitty Forest, Crosses and Stones along with buildings and ruins are just perfect.
Get good maps of trails. Good instructions. Easy to go astray and miss a turn. All meals were perfect. Try to reserve a half day for exploring.

Room Tip: Try to upgrade to a large and authentic room worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry and Bev W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kinnittymanagement, Manager at Kinnitty Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Larry and Bev W,

Thank you for your review, we value all comments that are left by guests and we are delighted that you got to enjoy the attractions that Kinnitty has to offer, the area is steeped in History.

Kinnitty Castle Hotel prides itself on its food and service, we are recent winners of the Best Hotel restaurant in Offaly, with our Slí Dala Restaurant, we are glad that you got to experience this when you stayed here.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to the Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Spent three nights here as part of a wedding party, and loved the place.

There were considerable delays upon checking in as our room was not ready but I took the opportunity to go clay pigeon shooting and my fiancée hit the library bar with the girls; both of us were well looked after, really set us up for the weekend. Staff are friendly and there's a very relaxed atmosphere. Food was incredible, and I'd go back for that alone.

Old style, chilled music playing throughout, smashing food and the best nights' sleep I've had in ages.... can't recommend it enough. Special mention for Conor in the Library bar, consummate professional and still has the craic, we'll be back!!

Room Tip: We stayed in Ard na Erin, shower is a little temperamental but overall it's comfy and very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kieron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kinnittymanagement, Manager at Kinnitty Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Kieron W,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your recent stay at the Castle, we are delighted that you enjoyed your three nights with us for a wedding and that you got to enjoy one of the activities that we offer at the Hotel, Clay Pigeon Shooting. We will pass on your kind comments to all the staff.

We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again in the future.

Kind regards,
The Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Can't say enough good thing. Arrived early 1130am they let us in our room took 1 hr nap then went horseback riding at the castle Fantastic! Had the champagne that was in our room went downstairs and had a great dinner. couple drinks in library bar (bartender very entertaining) then went exploring castle.... some places maybe we went supposed to go but it was cool. only problem we could find was... dust. Other than that. AWESOME.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattnLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kinnittymanagement, Manager at Kinnitty Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear MattnLinda,

Thank you for choosing Kinnitty Castle Hotel for your stay, I am glad that you enjoyed the range of activities and services we have to offer. General Housekeeping is an issue that pops up from time-to-time given the age and layout of the Castle but we have a great team that do their best to keep on top of this. I hope that you will return to Kinnitty Castle Hotel in the future and I sincerely thank you for your review

Warmest Regards

Cavan Dunne
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

stayed here for our anniversary in Oct 2013
never got around to reviewing
the one thing I said when we got to our room was oh its a real castle it was exciting very different to other hotels that claim to be a castle but the claim is based on a castle down the road.
I cant comment on our room because Im not sure whether it was the way it was for period decor or there was some things they just weren't fixing we had one of the original rooms, we took a walk around and the newer side of the hotel was a lot nicer brighter cleaner looking but our room was fine (its a castle) food was lovely,staff were nice, we didn't have time for anything other than dinner drinks little walk bed and breakfast,,,take a walk around the hotel its different,

The hotel when we were there was extremely quiet as in they had guests but everything was just subdued even at dinner people didn't talk unless whispering then we wanted to have a few drinks after dinner but the bar room has very little seating area and again very quiet think we went to bed before 11 just so we could chat normally then we we heard coughing very clearly from a room down the hall so soundproofing is needed.....

I would stay again if it was a similar experience I was looking for.
Function room is amazing it was set up for a wedding when we seen it well worth a look if that era is something you are looking for

Room Tip: in main original building rooms are a lot older(obviously) therefore come with an unkempt feel if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loupa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kinnittymanagement, Manager at Kinnitty Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear Laupa1

thank you for taking the time to review Kinnitty Castle Hotel, we take our reviews very seriously and try where possible to improve on the standards of accommodation, food & services based on this critique. The Hotel was probably going through a quite season while you were here, this would have an impact on ambiance and over all atmosphere. I was happy to read that you enjoyed most parts of your stay with us and we would welcome you back to the Castle in the future.

Warmest Regards

Cavan Dunne
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Four of us stayed here for one night recently. The experience was very good. There was a lot of history and many interesting artifacts. . The food was excellent and the staff pleasant and helpful. The overall feel of the place was authentic and the setting is beautiful. Our room was large and definitely not your average hotel room. My only big issue with this place was the beds not being particularly comfortable. Would stay again

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monty031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kinnittymanagement, Manager at Kinnitty Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear monty031,

Thank you for your review of Kinnitty Castle Hotel, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We take on board all our customer comments and take all feedback into consideration as this is used to improve on our standard of customer service and all our offerings going forward.

Warmest Regards
Cavan Dunne
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinnitty
8.7 mi away
County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
14.6 mi away
Bridge House Hotel, Spa and Leisure Club
14.4 mi away
Tullamore Court Hotel
Tullamore Court Hotel
#2 of 3 in Tullamore
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Roundwood House
Roundwood House
#1 of 1 in Mountrath
233 reviews
24.3 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,986 reviews
9 mi away
The Maltings
The Maltings
#2 of 3 in Birr
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinnitty Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinnitty Castle Hotel

Address: Kinnitty, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Offaly > Kinnitty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kinnitty
Price Range: £175 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kinnitty Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kinnitty Castle, is close to the picturesque village of Kinnitty, Co. Offaly set beautifully against a backdrop of the Slieve Bloom Mountains. The Castle has a long and turbulent history. Dating originally from 1209, Kinnitty was destroyed and rebuilt not once but twice and yet it retains character and oozes charm. Kinnity is in a great location only 90 minutes from Dublin and is a great stop off point for journeys west or southwards. It is an exceptional place for lovers of good food and the great outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Kinnitty Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Kinnitty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing