We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Giltraps Townhouse & Glamping
Ranked #1 of 2 Kinnitty B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

When we arrived the front door was open but there was nobody inside – a passer-by told us we had to go to the pub across the road to get service and that was not as welcoming as one would hope for. There was a peculiar smell on entry to the guest house – musty perhaps. Then the bedroom had no TV, no tea and coffee making facility, no glasses (or plastic cups), no soap, only one shampoo, the shower head spewed water upwards and over the shower unit drenching the towels and everything else and after all that we discovered there was no Wi-Fi (albeit that a previous review said it had)! Then to top it all there was construction work happening behind the property right outside our room where the work started early on Saturday morning with the noise of cement mixer and concrete cutters and the general noise of building activity. Spoke to the owners by phone afterwards and while apologies were offered they defended their side of the argument. While the staff were very pleasant at breakfast and the breakfast itself was good we will not be returning and definitely would not recommend.

Room Tip: Forget it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Richocon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john_clendennen, Owner at Giltraps Townhouse & Glamping, responded to this review, 5 November 2014
Thanks for the positive feedback regarding the staff and the breakfast. 

However, it is disappointing that this guest has chosen to remain anonymous on Booking.com despite leaving the exact same review on Tripadvisor. http://www.tripadvisor.ie/ShowUserReviews-g1515835-d776227-r224022185-Glendine_Venue_Guest_Accommodation-Kinnitty_County_Offaly.html

The Glendine has 5 Guest rooms so unfortunately it is simply not feasible to have someone waiting ALL DAY to check all of our guests in. Giltraps pub across the road is owned and operated by the same family and there is a sign on the front door advising guests to call to the pub if The Glendine is unattended, and we also provide a contact number. 

We are not sure what the 'peculiar smell' was, we had never smelled it before and have never smelled it since which leaves us a little baffled??

We purposely removed the Televisions from the rooms a number of years ago. Contrary to your allegations when we spoke on the phone, we do not advertise having TV's in our rooms. There are TV's at Giltraps Pub across the road where we happily show any programmes which guests wish to watch. 

We are currently working on a plan to introduce Tea & Coffee making facilities which will be available to guests for the duration of their stay. We have also taken note regarding no glasses / plastic cups and will be introducing them in all the rooms. 

We provide EVERY guest with 1 x Bar of Soap, 1 x Btl of Shampoo, 1 x Btl of Shower Gel & 1 Btl of Body Lotion. This would be an international standard in most Hotels, if you felt that you didn't have enough we would have happily provided more if the request had been made. 

The person in the previous review asked us if we had WIFI, and we provided the password. If you had done likewise we would have happily provided you with the password too!!

I acknowledge there was building works taking place during your stay, in which the builders had strict orders not to use any machinery before 10:00am each morning in order to allow our guests sleep in comfort. 

I distinctly remember you having your breakfast in the dining room while I was having breakfast at the next table with one of the builders. At no point did you mention anything to the staff that you were not happy with your stay, if you had we may have been able to resolve some of your issues.  You left the restaurant and must have returned to your room but as I exited the building via the front door I saw you departing in a taxi. At no point during your stay, did you make any reference to the standards of the accommodation not meeting your expectations. As far as we were concerned, you were another happy customer leaving The Glendine. 

Later that evening, you contacted me venting your frustration and disappointment, in particular with regards to the cost of the room rate (Euros 80.00 for TWO People) whilst also highlighting all of the points which you have mentioned in your review. After VAT and Commission to Booking.com et al, it would be impossible to make ends meet whilst maintaining our high rating on booking.com, if we were to charge any less for our room rates. 

When you asked me during our phone conversation, exact words being 'what are you going to give me, or I will leave a bed review on TripAdvisor', I realised that I was dealing with someone that was looking for a 'FREEBIE' rather than provide genuine feedback that would help with enhancing the experience of future guests at The Glendine. We are not overly proficient on Tripadvisor but out of a total of sixteen reviews you are the only person that has rated us a 'POOR'.

My overall feeling having spoken with our staff, read your review on both booking.com and Tripadvisor and spoken with you on the phone, is that you were really looking for Five Star Hotel Standards for the price of a Hostel. It's regretful that we did not meet your expectations but we are confident that we have a good clean product offering, friendly staff and provide reasonable value for money. This has been reflected by the majority of our Guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    21
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
41
46
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

we stayed here mid week unexpectedly. They couldn't do enough for us. The owners were so helpful and very nice. I would definetly recommend this BnB as it was extremely comfortable I slept very well.the facilities were excellent and clean. I would recommend this to anyone. I hope you all enjoy your stay. Denise co. Galway

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john_clendennen, Owner at Giltraps Townhouse & Glamping, responded to this review, 5 November 2014
Thanks Denise for the positive review, we look forward to welcoming you back to The Glendine some time soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed here while attending a wedding in the nearby Kinnitty Castle. The room was ideal, lovely and warm and clean and it had a very very comfortable bed, lots of hot water, overall the perfect B&B with WIFI. The breakfast was absolutely beautiful with proper free range eggs and fantastic local sausages and our host was extremely helpful. We got a minibus from Kinnitty Castle at the end of the night, took us direct to the door of the B&B and it only took 5 minutes. Well worth a visit if attending the Castle as the B&B is great value.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CivilFinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john_clendennen, Owner at Giltraps Townhouse & Glamping, responded to this review, 5 November 2014
Thanks CivilFinn for the review and we're glad you enjoyed your stay at The Glendine. Our Glamping site is almost ready to open so you'll have to come back and visit us some time soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

We incorporated Glendine guest house and the Giltraps pub in our wedding day with their wonderful hospitality and attention to detail made it a place to remember for not only ourselves but all our guests too. We will be definitely returning for many years to come. The guest house is both clean and tidy and ideally situated in the beautiful village of Kinnitty. The Irish breakfast is a must. A special thank you to John and his team for all your help and excellent impeccable service. The Guinness in the pub is the very best we have ever tasted! This is a real hidden fantastic gem of place.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kelliemichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john_clendennen, Owner at Giltraps Townhouse & Glamping, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Kellie & Michael,
Thank you for the wonderful review. It was a pleasure to look after you, your family and all your wedding guests during the summer.
We were delighted to work with you and your novel ideas to create a memorable wedding day. The London Bus used for transferring guests from Kinnitty Castle to Giltraps Pub was an attraction in itself and the wonderful sunshine was the icing on the cake!!
We look forward to welcoming you back soon and we'll have a couple of pints of the Black Stuff ready and waiting for you!!
All the best,
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballinasloe, Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Myself and my husband stayed in Glendine as we were invited to kinnity castle to a wedding afters and I have to say it was lovely. The owner was very pleasant and accommodating. The breakfast was delicious. You look out your window and the view of the mountains was amazing.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Niamh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john_clendennen, Owner at Giltraps Townhouse & Glamping, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Niamh,
Thank you for the review.
We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Glendine and we look forward to welcoming you back some time in the future.
Many thanks,
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

I booked into Birr for a few days' break, and discovered that there was nowhere to hire a bike. The local bike shop said they'd try to organise something and I got a call from John from Glendine. He rented me a bike for the duration of my stay and even arranged a pick up from the hotel. Very impressed!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john_clendennen, Owner at Giltraps Townhouse & Glamping, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
We're delighted to hear that you were happy with the Bike Hire service at The Glendine. This is a new initiative that we've recently introduced and is part of a larger project which will consist of a 'glamping' facility which will include Mongolian Yurts and Log Cabins. The Slieve Bloom Mountains are an ideal setting for a relaxed day of cycling with the odd uphill challenge!! Bikes are available for hire all year round and include all of the necessary safety equipment. We also offer discounts for groups and long-term hire.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Glendine in the future.
All the best,
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Dear John and family thank you very very much for the most amazing wedding that ourselves or guests have ever seen or been to .
From the moment we contacted you in relation to our wedding it was a pleasure all the way to deal with you and the fact that even your team contributed to the ideas .

The fact that your staff were family even if they were not related helped make them so eager friendly and professional and great to chat too about the local area .

With so many from overseas coming and staying for 3 days with you in your yurts hotel and cabin i was worried about them getting bored around town .

You were amazing at sending the guest horse trecking in the mountains fishing out on bikes and on history tours of kinnity and birr .

As for your accomadation fantastic cosy clean and the kids loved collecting the eggs from the your chickens i did not tell them that Mucky the pig would be replacing the sausages and rashers they ate .

The wedding was fantastic your idea of getting the pipers to play us down infront of the horses and carriage the bands hog roast dj the lot fantastic .

Thank you very much

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neilcash55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john_clendennen, Owner at Giltraps Townhouse & Glamping, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Neil & Rebecca,
Thank you for the wonderful review.
It was a pleasure to work with you both during the summer to ensure an enjoyable day for you and all your guests that attended your wedding. As it was our first full Wedding Reception at Giltraps Pub, we were a little anxious but overall it was a fantastic day.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Kinnitty some time soon and we wish you both many years of happiness together.
All the best,
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinnitty
7.6 mi away
County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
9.6 mi away
Roundwood House
Roundwood House
#1 of 1 in Mountrath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
15.3 mi away
Tullamore Court Hotel
Tullamore Court Hotel
#2 of 3 in Tullamore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
The Maltings
The Maltings
#2 of 3 in Birr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
15.5 mi away
Bridge House Hotel, Spa and Leisure Club
12.4 mi away
Ballyfin Demesne
Ballyfin Demesne
#1 of 1 in Ballyfin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giltraps Townhouse & Glamping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giltraps Townhouse & Glamping

Property: Giltraps Townhouse & Glamping
Address: Kinnitty Village, Kinnitty, Ireland (Formerly Giltraps Guesthouse & Glamping)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Offaly > Kinnitty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kinnitty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Giltraps Townhouse & Glamping is located in the charming village of Kinnitty in County Offaly, at the foothills of the Slieve Bloom Mountains. This purpose-built guest accommodation provides all of the modern practical amenities that any guest would require for an independent and comfortable stay. Giltraps Guesthouse & Glamping located in the heart of Kinnitty village. This novel purpose-built guest accommodation marries the traditional with nature and the deluxe ensuite bedrooms in the main house are complemented by luxurious glamping in the form of Six Log Cabins and a Mongolian yurt set amongst the magnificently manicured landscaped gardens. The glamping site also includes a dedicated farm area, consisting of pigs, chickens and ducks, providing an important contribution to breakfast for guests each morning. Giltraps Townhouse and Glamping acccommodation, formerly known as The Glendine B&B hotel Kinnitty, Ireland is adjacent to the award winning Giltraps Pub in the centre of picturesque Kinnitty village green & provides all of the modern practical amenities that any guest would require for an independent and comfortable stay, including electricity in both the Log Cabins and Mongolian Yurt. It's the ideal location to use as a base to explore the local countryside or attend a wedding at the nearby Kinnitty Castle (one kilometre) and is in close walking distance of most bed and breakfasts in the village. Glamping or boutique camping is an up and coming trend in Ireland as people want to experience nature at its finest. The glamping site in Kinnitty is extremely popular with visitors and is definitely something you should experience for yourself. When it comes to Glamping or glamorous camping, Giltraps Townhouse & Glamping accommodation has it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Giltraps Townhouse & Glamping reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing