We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel but choose your room!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Bentley Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Hykeham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I have stayed at this hotel before and enjoyed the experience. It has a leisure club and the food in the restaurant is very good. However, I have had a room on the side of the hotel away from the road before. This time I got a room overlooking the road which is very busy and can be very noisy. If like me you are not the best sleeper in the world, make sure you ask for a room away from the road otherwise you may end up having a restless night like I did!

Room Tip: Ask for a room not overlooking the busy and noisy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Redeye38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bentley82, Owner at Best Western Plus Bentley Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. It's good to hear you are are a returning customer. If at any time you are allocated a room which you would prefer to change just ring reception and wherever possible it will be no problem to allocate a room on the side of the hotel.
However we seemed to satisfy all your needs and for that we thank you.
Best wishes
Carole Wootton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (828)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

523 - 529 of 828 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

Visited hotel in November in anticipation of organising a tour in 2015 for approx 60 people.
Met with Claire Sanders who was a very efficient Manager, having worked at this hotel for a number of years.A very clean & tidy hotel with air-conditioning throughout, which would be very welcome at the present time. Car parking is excellent with 120 spaces, location just off the A46 is superb for getting to Lincoln & Newark on Trent in the opposite direction. The Grand Restaurant had a superb Table d'hote Menu with very little need to go to the A la Carte one. Food was well excellent and in good quantities. The locals seem to appreciate it's value for money, as it was very busy on that night. The breakfast was equally as good & I have no hesitatioj in recommending it to the Touring party in 2015. I look forward to returning there next June

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graham r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bentley82, Owner at Best Western Plus Bentley Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for your kind report on The Bentley . I am so pleased you had a good stay and thought the food and amenities would be pleasing for your group in 2015 . I am sure Claire looked after you well and she will be delighted with your comments . I find it reassuring that you also took the time to convey your group thoughts on trip advisor . We look forward to welcoming you next year.
Many thanks
Carole Wootton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

we stayed here for one night prior to the Waddington airshow,when we checked in there was a wedding party so the hotel was very busy.the room was dated .we decided to eat at a nearby pub we didn't feel comfy in the hotel.the beds were very hard and the pillow were terrible.next morning the breakfast was very average and the dining room could do with a make over.we felt the hotel overpriced we have stayed in better budget hotels

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank yjn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bentley82, Owner at Best Western Plus Bentley Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for your review . I'm very sorry we did not meet with your expectations on your stay with us . It was a very busy time and we could not book you a table in the restaurant until later as everyone had booked their meals before arrival and we were full.
Your comments will certainly be discussed
Sincerely
Carole Wootton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

It was the weekend of the Waddington Air Show, and my partner and myself had booked in to the Bentley Hotel, as it is only a few miles from the airfield. We arrived at 315pm, after pushing through all the smokers crowded round the main Reception. We were told when I tried to book dinner for that evening that 8.30pm would be the earliest. declined this as we did not want to go to bed on a full stomach.
We went to our room on the first floor which was quite pleasant, and went for a walk out to the garden centre next door. We had a bar meal that evening and it was pleasant but busy. there were two functions going on in the hotel at the time, a wedding party and an anniversary party I believe.
We went back to our room at 1030pm and my partner noticed the lights in the bathroom were so dim you could not put makeup on or take it off with any success on getting in to bed we also noticed that the double bed had been made up with a single sheet, which meant it just laid on the top. When you move during the night it would tangle round you as you could not tuck it in. It was a hot evening so we took off the 13.5 tog quilt, and took the cover off it to put over us.the quilt was tatty and had obviously seen better days.
i asked to see the Duty Manager the next morning and explained my concerns. Claire was very pleasant and said she would see to the problems and apologised. We then went to breakfast and as we were early, there was only one other couple in there. It was self service and the fried part of the meal had been put out quite a time before and the bacon was very dry, the fried eggs were congealing and the poached eggs were like shiny orange golf balls. We had cereal and coffee.
As we were eating our meal the chef came out and scooped all the eggs on the servery into a tin, about 20 eggs and replaced them with new ones. What a waste.
The airshow was fantastic. We returned at 5pm and once through yet another bank of smokers at the entrance headed to the bar for a drink. there was a big wedding reception going on next door,
and the children were running back and forth through the bar playing hide and seek. then to cap it all a big group of wedding guests converged on the bar and took it over. It was time to leave and go back and hide in our room.
The bed had been done properly, and the lights in the bathroom had been changed, thank you Claire. Went out to dinner that evening to the Brewers Fare over the road. Reasonable.
Next morning, as we were later for breakfast the food was fresher as the restaurant was full.
We left at 10am,

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank freespiritashford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bentley82, Owner at Best Western Plus Bentley Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for your very thorough review . We have taken all your comments on board , especially your point on waste . I am pleased Claire dealt with any problems quickly.
I wish we could restrain other peoples children but I'm afraid we are not allowed to .the hotel was very very busy that weekend, unfortunately we cannot turn other business away because of the air show . I will be taking your comments up with the head chef regarding your disappointment in the breakfast on your first morning.
I am sorry we did not adhere to your required expectations and will do all we can in the future to amend the mistakes we obviously made .
I hope you can stay with us another time so that we can regain your confidence in us .
Sincerely Carole Wootton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

On arrival at the hotel we requested a rewards card upgrade, the young lady sorted our request straight away and within 15mins our room was ready. The room was very impressive and better than expected. We made use of the leisure facilities and felt relaxed after using the pool sauna, steam room and Jacuzzi. The hotel is within easy distance for visiting Lincoln, great day out. It is also worth visiting Hartshorne country park. We would definitely use this hotel again if we revisit the area in the future.

Room Tip: Request room away from main road (quieter)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Trish J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bentley82, Owner at Best Western Plus Bentley Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Your review was a very welcome report. It is always good to hear of customers having a relaxing time with us . You obviously used and enjoyed all our facilities . I hope you will find time to visit us again for another break and perhaps stay a little longer and also enjoy the treatments the therapists in our spa have to offer .
Thank you
Our very best wishes
Carole Wootton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Friendly welcome, room was comfortable and very clean,leisure facilities were very good, food and bar staff were generally good. Unfortunately the cheese cake we ordered was curdled! The corsage was unprofessional in the way he reprimanded one of the bar staff. Overall we had a very nice time.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bentley82, Manager at Best Western Plus Bentley Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you for your review on your stay with us . I am happy to learn that your overall experience with us was a happy one & hope you will find time to stay again very soon
Kind regards
Claire Sanders

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The staff were very welcoming ,the rooms were very clean and nicely decorated,the only complaint is the quilts are a bit heavy for the hot weather we had,even with the air condition on.Had two lovely meals in the restaurant ,the food was cooked perfectly,with plenty of choice.Thankyou very much for the lend of your wheelchair,it was a very much appreciated and helped get my mother around the area.

Room Tip: We had an executive room on the second floor very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gill t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bentley82, Manager at Best Western Plus Bentley Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you for your review on your stay with us. It is much appreciated by us all to read such good comments over your stay with us . It was a pleasure to lend you the wheel chair we are pleased it helped your mother get around with ease.
Chef will be delighted to hear that you loved the meals you had with us and we will look forward to welcoming you back very soon
Kindest regards
Claire Sanders

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Hykeham
4.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
1.6 mi away
Ibis Lincoln
Ibis Lincoln
#1 of 2 in North Hykeham
767 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#6 of 14 in Lincoln
1,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lincoln City Centre
6.9 mi away
Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel
5.3 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#10 of 14 in Lincoln
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Bentley Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Bentley Hotel & Spa

Address: Newark Road | South Hykeham, South Hykeham, Lincoln LN6 9NH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln > South Hykeham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Hykeham
Price Range: £62 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Bentley Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bentley Hotel & Spa is privately owned and ideally located on the outskirts of Lincoln. It is the only hotel with a fully equipped gym, indoor swimming pool and brand new state of the art Spa. This is a prime location which is ideally located only 8 minutes from the A1 at Newark, and being on the end of the Lincoln by-pass we are only 5 minutes away from the city centre, perfect if you are visiting for business or coming to see Lincoln's beautiful and historic Cathedral and Castle with their extensive grounds. Other facilities in the Leisure Club include: Jacuzzi, Sauna & Steam Room. We also have a hydraulic hoist on the pool side for people who require help climbing in and out of the pool. The hotel is open to the public with the Martini Bar, Jewels Restaurant and the Spa. We offer Free Internet WiFi access for patrons in all bedrooms and conference suites. The Bentley Hotel has state of the art conference facilities catering for all types of events from 2 delegates up to 350 delegates in various sized suites all with Air Conditioning. The Hotel is licensed to hold Civil Ceremonies & Partnerships in three of our suites, all of which can hold up to 100 guests. We can also cater for all types of Wedding Receptions, Private Dinners and Charity Balls.Check out our special seasonal accommodation offers all through the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Best Western Plus Bentley Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bentley Hotel And Leisure Club
Best Western South Hykeham
South Hykeham Best Western
Best Western Lincoln
Lincoln Best Western
Best Western Plus Bentley Hotel & Spa Lincoln/South Hykeham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing