We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hmmmm, OK, I guess, sort of......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Bentley Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Hykeham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2007

Yeah, it's OK-ish, I suppose, although in summary I was hoping for a little more. Convenient to get to if you have a car, but forget if you're on public transport, as it's about 6 miles from the city centre. I travelled there with a colleague and we stayed three nights. Her room was apparently OK, but I had a disabled-friendly ground floor room (I'm not disabled). No problem as such, but the wheelchair-access shower meant that the bathroom floor was permanently wet. More seriously, the water in the room was simply never hot. I tried leaving the tap running for 15 minutes, and still the water was lukewarm, hardly adequate for shaving. I complained to the hotel twice, but there was no change.

Rooms are clean, and beds comfortable. A spider did run across my leg one evening while parked up and watching TV (rather restricted choice of channels), but that could happen anywhere; it might even have come in with me!

Evening meal in the hotel was ridiculously pricey, so I ate in the "Beeafeater-y" type place 2 minutes walk away, which was OK as far as it went. Breakfast was standard buffet fare, and hot food in particular was nothing to get too excited over.

In conclusion, OK as a base for a work trip but I wouldn't stay there out of choice, and will probably try somewhere else if I travel to Lincoln again.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (797)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Bentley Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

784 - 790 of 797 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2007

I booked with the Bentley direct, after getting a quote from Laterooms.com. The hotel knocked £25.00 off the on-line price.
Hotel is easily accessible from the A46 and has plenty of free parking. Lincoln is a short car ride away.

We had a standard room, which was surprisingly spacious. Well furnished and clean. Although situated very close to busy A46 we were not affected by traffic noise.

Good health spa with sizeable pool, steam room, sauna and gym. Towels and locker key are provided.

Didn't try the bar , looked pleasant, but smokey, this will change from July.

Nice dining room, where we had one evening meal and breakfast during our stay. Pretty good choice on table d'hote or the a la carte menu and buffet breakfast plentiful. Food was well presented and service was good.

On our last night the hotel hosted a wedding party and in the early hours we were woken by a drunk guest. I phoned reception but got no answer so had to confront the individual myself. Luckily I persuaded him to quieten down and get to his room, but it could have turned nasty. Whilst the hotel can't be responsible for a guest's drunkeness, they should have staff available to deal with this type of problem. I did complain when checking out and asked that my bill be reduced to compensate. The hotel offered a £30.00 reduction, which I felt was reasonable.

All the staff we met were pleasant courteous, efficient and helpful.

Overall I would highly recommend this hotel. We have stayed in higher rated hotels that have not been up to the Bentley's standards. A good choice for anyone visiting Lincoln

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank clintaughjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2007

we were let down big time by another hotel in Lincoln for what was supposed to be a very special birthday treat for myself and my husband. we were lucky enough to come across the bentley where the receptionist could not have been more understanding and helpful. we ended up in a lovely room with excellent, clean, modern facilities.

the breakfast staff were very polite and the breakfast itself was lovely.

we would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and in visiting it again.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank running365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2007

Stayed at the Bently on Business around the end of March 2007 and found it to be above average for a Westie.
It's just off a big roundabout, on a sort of trading estate, so there is always traffic noise,Room was big with a sitting area.Bathroom was quite nice but dimly lit.Tricky trying to shave in twilight.

Didn't try the dinner menu but Breakfast was fine.If you don't want to eat in the hotel there is a Beefeater type place right outside that did a huge mixed grill for £12.00.Further down market there is a McDonald's a few hundred yards away.

All the staff spoke English...Rare nowadays.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Steve486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Best Western Bentley hotel for a relaxing, get away from it all weekend in April 2006. We had lovely time, room was spacious and clean. Food in the restaurant delicious and prices reasonable. Breakfast good and plentiful.
The only reason for not giving this hotel an excellent rating was the noise of other guests in the reastaurant, a mature group being rather inconsiderate to other guests and behaving as they would probably fown on other younger people behaving. This though was not really any fault of the hotel or it's staff but did spoil what could have been a perfect weekend. I would definatley recommend this hotel and will be visiting again soon.

  • Stayed: April 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank cazanwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2006

Large pool and good sauna, steam room and jacuzzi made the hotel something special. I did not visit the gym. Staff friendly and helpful. Food well above average and whilst 'a la carte' was a bit pricey, the 'table d'hote' was resonably priced with a good selection which changed every day. Bedroom was very large. Only disadvantage for some would be that it was quite a way out of the city centre but for those with a car it is well positioned for getting out and about.

  • Stayed: March 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brunlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Northampton
15
Reviewed 22 February 2006

Very good and clean hotel. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The Leisure club facilities were great.
My only real critisism is the price in the restaurant for evening meals - in my opinion very expensive. It would be a good idea if they could provide bar meals in the evening maybe as an alternative.

  • Stayed: February 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Hykeham
4.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
5.4 mi away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#6 of 14 in Lincoln
1,799 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ibis Lincoln
Ibis Lincoln
#1 of 2 in North Hykeham
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Lincoln
Holiday Inn Lincoln
#9 of 14 in Lincoln
891 reviews
5.3 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#10 of 14 in Lincoln
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Bentley Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Bentley Hotel & Spa

Address: Newark Road | South Hykeham, South Hykeham, Lincoln LN6 9NH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln > South Hykeham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Hykeham
Price Range: £75 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Bentley Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bentley Hotel & Spa is privately owned and ideally located on the outskirts of Lincoln. It is the only hotel with a fully equipped gym, indoor swimming pool and brand new state of the art Spa. This is a prime location which is ideally located only 8 minutes from the A1 at Newark, and being on the end of the Lincoln by-pass we are only 5 minutes away from the city centre, perfect if you are visiting for business or coming to see Lincoln's beautiful and historic Cathedral and Castle with their extensive grounds. Other facilities in the Leisure Club include: Jacuzzi, Sauna & Steam Room. We also have a hydraulic hoist on the pool side for people who require help climbing in and out of the pool. The hotel is open to the public with the Martini Bar, Jewels Restaurant and the Spa. We offer Free Internet WiFi access for patrons in all bedrooms and conference suites. The Bentley Hotel has state of the art conference facilities catering for all types of events from 2 delegates up to 350 delegates in various sized suites all with Air Conditioning. The Hotel is licensed to hold Civil Ceremonies & Partnerships in three of our suites, all of which can hold up to 100 guests. We can also cater for all types of Wedding Receptions, Private Dinners and Charity Balls.Check out our special seasonal accommodation offers all through the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Bentley Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bentley Hotel And Leisure Club
Best Western South Hykeham
South Hykeham Best Western
Best Western Lincoln
Lincoln Best Western
Best Western Plus Bentley Hotel & Spa Lincoln/South Hykeham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing