We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for? - This is worth more”
Review of Welbeck Cottage

Welbeck Cottage
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Hykeham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Welbeck Cottage
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for? - This is worth more”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I have just spent 2 nights at Wellbeck cottage( and will return next week) - a more welcoming reception I could not have wished for, I would pay extra for that kind of reception and attention shown to me throughout my stay.

The first morning I asked if my breakfast could be ready for 7, bang on 7 my breakfast was served and what a treat, orange juice, cafetiere coffee and a fullllll English, a choice of cereals and fruit were available but the English was enough for me and I consider myself a big eater.

The second day my job was postponed for a week so I had to cancel the third night I had booked this was no problem - many places could have got a bit uppity at this point but not Margret she said not a problem, you are a real star........

I stayed in the twin room very quiet, excellent wifi, and restful nights sleep all that you need when staying away from home. Its only a small B and B so you get the personal treatment.

I have stayed in many B and B's over the years and this would have to rank in my top three

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SK3LLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    13
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
19
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnard Castle, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I am currently posting this first part of my review whilst lounging on my bed at Welbeck cottage. I have just had a lovely shower after a long drive, having packed all our worldly possessions into a van, ready to move into our new home, in Lincolnshire
Our room is lovely, with restful decor, and every facility you could ever need. Other half is also lounging whilst watching the football on the TV. Looking forward to a good night's sleep, with an early start, made better with what I expect will be a smashing breakfast. Will post part two soon once my move is completed. I think I already know that part two is going to be good! Hope by the time I get to post part two Fern is feeling a little better, with her poor ear...bless..

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illmitz, Austria
1 review
Reviewed 14 September 2013

This summer we stayed at different places all over England. Welbeck cottage was definitely the best one. After a warm welcome Margaret showed us our lovely room. The breakfast was excellent too. We enjoyed our stay there and espacially Margarets and her husbands company. Its a nice quiet place close to Lincoln. We definitely recommend everyone to stay there. Thank you for two great days. Cheers Lisa and Lukas from Austria

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lukas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We were delighted to be offered our stay here cos the graduation cermonies were on and it was very difficult to get a b&b for just one night as i rang approx 20 before i got a lovely welcome yes from margaret. We were very stuck as i had our flights booked and it was a funeral for my aunt and we were very eager to just get our heads down on a pillow for the night as our flight was a late one to the east midlands. Margaret's husband was very good to wait up til 1.30 a.m. Thanks alot to him. Very appreciated BY US TWO.Very nice couple and margaret very chatty. The breakfast was 1st class especially the lovely orange juice and the fruit and yogurt and home made jam and tomatoes. The fry was 100% also. The double bed was very comfortable, the only complaint we would have was the shower door was leaking, not shutting properly and the shower was slow just a light spray. Will be back again.

Room Tip: up stairs was very quiet and the area was well located for quietness
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patricia d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Stayed at this B & B for 2nights, was warmly welcomed by the owners Margaret, Philip and very friendly Fern the dog. Rooms were fully equipped and clean bedding. Breakfast was excellent and a wide selection to choose from, very good poached eggs! Margaret was very informative about the local area, just a couple of miles outside Lincoln city. Would stay at this B & B again, thank you.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

My Wife and I were visiting Lincoln for the first time. Found Welbeck Cottage on the web and were not disappointed. Very friendly hosts, Margret was a mine of useful local information. Room was clean, comfortable and well maintained, breakfast was excellent with a great choice of food, only problem was not having the stomach size for all that was offered!
Nice quiet location with off road parking about 15 minutes drive from Lincoln centre.
If we visit Lincoln again we will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Hosts really friendly including Fern the Springer spaniel lovely homely atmosphere in a rural location, internet access really good and essential for business guests, good value would certainly return when in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glassy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Hykeham
2.3 mi away
Ibis Lincoln
Ibis Lincoln
#1 of 2 in North Hykeham
725 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Bentley Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Eagles Guest House
Eagles Guest House
#1 of 3 in North Hykeham
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Loudor
The Loudor
#2 of 3 in North Hykeham
139 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Gables Guest House
The Gables Guest House
#3 of 3 in North Hykeham
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welbeck Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welbeck Cottage

Property: Welbeck Cottage
Address: 19 Meadow Lane, South Hykeham, Lincoln LN6 9PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln > South Hykeham
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in South Hykeham
Hotel Class:4 star — Welbeck Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welbeck Cottage is a small family run B&B, in a quiet Village location on the outskirts of the historic City of Lincoln. We are a handy base for visiting Lincoln, Newark and many more local attractions. We have secure parking for vintage cars or motorbikes.And for walkers we are on the route of the Danelaw way. We welcome well behaved dogs and children. We are open all year except Christmas week, so come and try our comfy beds and extensive breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Welbeck Cottage Lincoln/South Hykeham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing