We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage in a peaceful location”
other travellers have booked this property
from the quiet road
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
from the quiet road
The lounge the lounge with wood burning stove and far reaching views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
from the quiet road
The lounge
the lounge with wood burning stove and far reaching views
the dining area in the kitchen
The kitchen
The welcome hamper
the double with far reaching views
The double bedroom
The twin bedroom
The garden
The garden
Them famous suprise view from the village
The moors within walking distance of the cottage.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Gillamoor, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Mcwork
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lovely cottage in a peaceful location”
Reviewed 25 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The cottage was well presented, very clean and had all the necessary essentials and more. The lovely welcome basket was a nice touch on arrival. The cottage is perfectly located to explore the North York Moors and its pretty villages along with the great coast. Gillamoor is a very peaceful village with a good pub serving delicious food.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan R
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An Ideal Getaway”
Reviewed 10 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

There's nothing to complain about here. The cottage is ideal for our needs and we are made to feel very welcome every time we stay. Very good walks right on the doorstep and its not that far from either the coast or wonderful historic towns and buildings. I can highly recommend this cottage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donnalw
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Home away from home ”
Reviewed 5 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Well what can I say, this cottage is fabulous! Extremely homely with every little detail thought of. Lots of little touches to give it that homely feel. High quality furnishings, linen etc which was much appreciated. Fab welcome basket on arrival which was great after a six hour journey. Lovely little garden off the kitchen. The cottage is extremely cosy.

Location wise it's perfect, 8 miles (15-20 mins) to Helmsley and the same Pickering where you can get the steam train to Whitby. There is a lovely little pub around the corner but you hear zero noise! We wanted to stay somewhere near amenities but somewhere that was also quiet, the cottage fitted the brief perfectly.

The owners are wonderful. Extremely helpful with lots of hints and tips to share.

We will be returning one winter as I can imagine it is just so cosy. Thank you both for a wonderful, relaxing stay. We hope to see you soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skoda-Vic...
Boston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Valentine's Getaway”
Reviewed 22 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We stayed at The Cottage Gillamoor, between the 13th and 17th February for a valentines get away. Included in the rental price was a hamper including prosecco and a handmade chocolate heart which was lovely.
The owners had gone to great care to make the cottage warm and welcoming, including towel swans on the double bed! They even popped in on us during the first night to make sure we had everything we needed.
The village of Gillamoor itself was small but lovely, included in the bookcase of the cottage was a laminated map of a walk around the top of the village which we took one morning, for splendid views (although a little foggy!)
The cottage had absolutely everything needed for a home-away-from-home break, with a well appointed kitchen, a nice collection of reading material and games and TV. Would highly recommend and would like to stay again given the opportunity

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan R
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed 14 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Our third visit to the cottage and it just gets better with each visit. Its a small very well appointed cottage which provides everything you would want for your stay. The hosts are very helpful and if theres anything you want, they will do what they can to provide it. All in all a grat place to spend a holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin G
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mr”
Reviewed 23 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We stayed at the cottage for a few days over New Year and had an excellent time.
The cottage was so clean and furnishings great, plus the welcome pack with wine and chocolates was greatly appreciated.
We've stayed in a few cottages throughout the UK and would highly recommend staying here to anyone.
Looking forward to our next visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma H
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A real home from home, highly recommended”
Reviewed 12 October 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We only stayed here for 2 nights, but from the moment we walked through the door we felt so at home, and wished we could have stayed longer. We very much hope to return one day and have already recommended The Cottage to family and friends. We were so pleased to meet the lovely owners who take such a pride in their beautiful cottage, which is finished to a very high standard and very well equipped. The location is beautiful, the views beyond the Church breathtaking. And the pub, just a few steps from the front door, is friendly, welcoming and serves delicious locally sourced food. Would recommend breakfast there! Communication when booking was also excellent and very efficient.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing