We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Management need to be improved”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mapungubwe National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Leokwe Camp - Mapungubwe National Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed for two nights in Leokwe camp with friends. The accommodation is very good and also the facilities. It is a magic place and well worth visiting. Our chalet was not serviced and it was clear that management did not manage the housekeeping well. We did complain but got no reaction from Norman the manager other than "I will investigate" which of course did not help us at all. There was another gentleman (I think his name was Cedric) who does not understand how to speak or interact with customers and needs to be trained. One early morning we found the security guard fast asleep.. It is actually a pity as a lot of money has been invested in this heritage site but the staff really need a good shake-up and training. I will rate cleanliness as very good only because it was clean when we arrived.

Room Tip: We stayed in chalets 10 and 11 which was quieter and furherest away from the entrance and the roads...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeoRenette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
There are newer reviews for Leokwe Camp - Mapungubwe National Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2013

This is a newer establishment in the fairly new Mapungubwe National Park. The bedroom room is spacious with a separate dining and kitchen area. A lovely covered patio sits out back. There is a separate outdoor shower. We stayed in #2 and had a friendly baobab tree out back. There is a carport in front which is trip if you are driving a pick-up/bakkie. A couch can accommodate a third person.

The park reception staff are friendly but do not know much about things to do and see. There are no tarred roads in the camp. Cedric is a good guide. Do not expect to see many animals - this is not really a place for game. Trail markings are poor.

Room Tip: Room 10 and 11 are near the rocks out back, so more private. Room 2 has your own friendly baobab tr...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kashgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

This was our first visit to Mapungubwe NP, we stayed 4 nights in Leokwe Camp over the long weekend. The camp is perfectly situated in a beautiful valley surrounded by beautiful sandstone cliffs, is very quiet and secluded which definitely gives one the feeling of peace & tranquility away from the madding crowds.

The chalets are really lovely, well equipped and nicely laid out with views over the bush & surrounding rocky outcrops. We loved the bathroom with it's "open air" outdoor shower. The pool area is lovely & has facilities for braaing / picnicing, there is a tuck shop advertised on the board but we did not see that opened during our stay which is a pity.

The park itself is really beautiful with the most amazing scenery which for us as first time visitors was a pleasant surprise & not what we expected. The roads are well maintained, even though here & there, there are still small sections affected by the recent devastating floods. The Treetop Walk is beautiful, however the last 50m & the hide itself is still closed due to the flood damage. The Maloutswa Bird Hide in the Western section was also all but wiped out & is still under water. Hopefully these are restored shortly as they are beautifully placed.

We saw a lot of game in various parts of the park, the Khongoni & Kanniedood 4 x 4 routes are well worth doing if you have the right vehicle & they wind through big plains where the animals are easily found.

We did the whole of the Tshughulu 4 x 4 Eco Route, again the scenery is really stunning. The route is well worth doing (definitely with the right vehicle with low range or at the very least diff lock) & in our opinion could even be charged for as per the Kruger 4 x 4 routes as this certainly rivals those for scenery & adventure! There are parts shown on the park map that are not accessible at all & have not been used for some time, some of the direction signage is missing so the route not clear (thank goodness for Tracks4Africa navigation) & we had to do a few tight u-turns at certain points, but what you can do is excellent.

The Interpretive Centre is great & the museum is very interesting. We did not eat at the restaurant but it looks very nice. The little shop was nt open on arrival mid morning, but had been opened by the time we had been through the museum. It has a small selection of curios & collectables. My husband did the Mapungubwe Hill tour with Cedric which he said was well worthwhile & very informative. Having done that he found the museum even more fascinating having heard the background beforehand.

Overall this was a terrific experience, the park is a well kept secret & a real gem and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rozzie1Joburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

The Leokwe Camp at Mapungubwe in the Limpopo Province of South Africa is close to the border with Zimbabwe, waaay up north. The Camp comprises of luxury rondavels which are well appointed with a kitchenette so self catering is a possibility. The kitchenette also sports a microwave oven and a fridge.

The luxury rondavels are located behind a shielding range of hills, giving the impression of severance from the hustle and bustle of the world; the place is extremely quiet and peaceful. a braai (barbecue) facility is available on the porch of the unit which allows for a relaxing restful time out back and from this point one is able to view small game and wildlife moving about the base and sides of the hills. The beds are very comfortable and the unit sports an open air shower with hot and cold water.

A short walk away at a raised observation deck lies a swimming pool filled with warm natural spring water. Restaurant facilities, should one wish to use this is a 20 minute drive to the main reception and Interpretation Centre of the park.

Recommended.

Room Tip: Any rondavel is sure to please as they are all well maintained, with virtually equal views.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doc-Dee-Zee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

I travelled to Leokwe on December, It was my first time and i enjoyed every moment.The accomodation was wow, more that i expected.Very nice for spending quality time with family.Leokwe made my December holidays memorable.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank precious l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Leokwe camp has several lovely thatched cottages. We rented a familycottage with a large terrace (with a great view), kitchen, living room, two bedrooms and two bathrooms (with the shower outside). The kitchen was very well equiped. On the terrace was a large barbeque so it was easy to cook your own meal. One morning I woke up early and saw girafffes and zebra's walking in our 'back garden'. Leokwe camp is not gated and we found elephant droppings near our door.....

Some roads are only accessable with a 4x4. So we joined an afternoon drive with a ranger and saw lots of animals: elephants, giraffes, zebra's and so on. The museum is also very interesting.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karinabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Our family of three stayed here for two nights in the beginning of August 2012. This Leokwe rest camp of Sanpark consists of a few houses in the middle of the park, with no fence and no facilities except for the small but beautiful swimming pool.
Our two-bedroom, two-bathroom house was new and very comfortable, more like a private lodge with outside shower and all. The veranda is beautiful and overlooking a pretty valley in the park. A civet on one night and two genets on the other night paraded in front of the veranda.
The park itself is small and you shouldn’t expect to see many animals. Since cattle wander around the park, we don’t think that there are any predators. But the landscape with its red sandstone formation is special and the view onto the confluence of the Limpopo and Shashe Rivers and the three countries (Botswana, Zimbabwe and South Africa) is breathtaking. We visited the Park’s Interpretive Center about the “The Lost City” but found it rather disappointing.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waterbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Leokwe Camp - Mapungubwe National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leokwe Camp - Mapungubwe National Park

Address: Mapungubwe National Park, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Mapungubwe National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Mapungubwe National Park
Hotel Class:2 star — Leokwe Camp - Mapungubwe National Park 2*

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing