We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing to be one with nature (but be prepared)”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mapungubwe National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Leokwe Camp - Mapungubwe National Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2014

This camp was great for relaxing. The small chalets have everything we needed; a nice bed, a kitchen, water, electricity. But furthermore there is nothing.. like nothing to buy (food),no reception at the camp, no network or mobile signal, that's why I say, be prepared; take enough food, water, enough fuel in your vehicle and contact people you are not attainable on your phone! the reception is at the gate of the national park. Also there is nothing much to do at the camp itself, but there is a very nice pool which is everything you need when it's too hot outside! But it's in the middle of the National Park, so in the early morning or in the afternoon (when it's not too hot) you can drive to the beautiful view points or join some of the tours (heritage tours/safaris/etc.) the national park offer at the gate. This place is wonderful if you just want to relax and want to leave civilization for a few days. It is great when you wake up with sunrise and see wild animals (e.g. impala's and baboons walking around your apartment) and when you lay in your bed and hear elephants! Furthermore I don't think it is a good park to do safari, there are not that many animals to see. But I recommend this place to relax and enjoy nature and the beautiful landscape!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank ninaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2013

A small intimate bush camp experience in an incredible setting. There are a small number of self catering units, each separate from the other, arranged so that the deck has a view outwards to the ring of cliffs around the camp. The natural bush is left behind, and there are no fences to spoil the interaction. The units are very well provided, including a full kitchen and a braai area outside. Lots of night life, with both a genet and a civet moving around at night.

Be warned that there is no restaurant in the camp, and the restaurant in the park closed too early for supper, so bring your own food. The tucks hoop at the camp was not open. I have heard that the restaurant is ow open later, but it would still be a drive to get ther, and probably easier to make your own food. There is no shop to buy food, so you have to bring with you.

A minor gripe was that the DSTV did not work, but that helped with enjoying the natural setting.

The walk to the archeological site was awesome, and well worth it. Plan for a drive tot he Limpopo river to one of the most incredible vistas around. The landscape that the camp is set in is weathered sandstone, with incredible rock rotations. The vegetation adds character - definitely national park level.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

An outstanding find. We stayed here prior to crossing into Zimbabwe at Beitbridge The next day. The reception could not have been more helpful particularly since we'd contrived to lose all our paperwork for the holiday (including the paperwork we'd need to cross the border) at some point during the day. They let us phone our Car Hire company and generally made what was a pretty stressful situation more bearable.

The game park was great for a 2WD vehicle and we were able to self-guide around with no problems. The camp itself is totally open to the park and there are great heaps of elephant dung right next to the chalets although no sightings in camp for us. The chalets themselves are incredibly well appointed. Ours looked like Fred and Wilma's house. A real Flintstones experience but warm (it was winter) and secure. Beautiful views over a small valley in the morning.

Out and about in the park you can drive to a lookout and leave the car and see the meeting of three countries. An fabulous panoramic view. We also got to see a couple of chaps wading through the Limpopo from Zimbabwe into South Africa. Had we realised we'd be in for a five-hour wait filling in forms and battling with queues and institutionalised incompetence at Beitbridge we might have joined them. Although the Car Hire people, who were no doubt already alarmed at the state in which I returned the vehicle would have had a heart attack if I'd attempted to ford the Limpopo in it.

The outdoor showers (outdoor but attached to the individual chalets) proved surprisingly popular with my wife and kids.

A real oasis and worth visiting just for that view over the Limpopo.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jgm2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We had originally booked to stay at the Limpopo Forest camp but were advised that baboons were terrorising the tent occupants and having experienced the mess the baboons can make at our tent in Punda Maria we settled for Leokwe Camp.

We had stayed there before and had wanted to use the different camp to see more of the reserve but it wasn't to be. Not to worry, it gives a great reason to come back again.

The chalets are great, well equiped and have a good layout. They also offer some fine views into amazing rock formations. Some areas need a little TLC but they did not spoil our enjoyment of the place. It is sad that it is so quiet, perhaps they need to publicise the park more.

We had some great time on the 4x4 trail with a host of animals and birds to view. What I love about this park is that the animals are still curious of vehicles and unlike other parks, they are a little less likely to bolt as soon as a car arrives. It is also great that you are often the only vehicle for miles making it much easier to enjoy the real peace and quiet.

The treetop walkway had been damages as a result of the flooding earlier in the year but work was already underway to bring it back to its former glory.

The following is not a fault of the park but of Sanparks who did not notify its visitors that the bridge from Musina was down resulting in, what we expected to be the end of a long journey, being only the start of a long diversion.

You also have to be organised with all your provisions, including charcoal and firelighters as there is no where to buy any essentials within the park and it is a long way to the nearest shop.

The interpretation centre is a must, it is a magnificent piece of architecture, well laid out and very informative. So good to know that they employed local people to build the place instilling a real sense of ownership. It is a fascinating part of the country with a host of history that many of us are not aware of, making it even more important that as many people as possible visit the park and the surrounding area.

Add Mapungubwe to a future trip, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Balerno0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Leokwe Camp Mapungubwe
We stayed here for four nights as a family and had an absolutely wonderful time. It’s so quiet in the middle of the day that you can hear birds cracking open seeds with their bills. The accommodation is clean and spacious and well equipped – the standard cottages have two single beds and a sleeper couch. There‘s also a small dining table which we moved outside to eat close to the braai.
The camp didn’t appear to be full when we were there and the cottage units are all at a reasonable distance from each other that you don’t feel that you are surrounded – ours had a huge baobab tree just outside our front door and spectacular views of the encompassing rock walls. Family cottages have satellite TV but there was more than enough going on in the bush to keep us occupied
The kitchens are well equipped and have microwaves, toasters and a two ring hotplate, plus an outside braai (barbeque) area with a grid and skottel (hot plate). The only downside was that there wasn’t a shop that sold wood or charcoal in the park and with the bridge out on the Musina side, the nearest place to buy provisions is in Alldays – a round trip of 140kms! The website says that there are tuck s hops in several locations in the park – none had any stock (apart from boxes of firelighters) whatsoever and that at Leokwe itself was never open. Just make sure that you go fully prepared to self cater for your evening meal and don’t expect even basic commodities to be for sale. It was a minor gripe because the setting is lovely, the wildlife stunning and the relaxed atmosphere makes this a must visit National Park.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PookeyPretoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed for two nights in Leokwe camp with friends. The accommodation is very good and also the facilities. It is a magic place and well worth visiting. Our chalet was not serviced and it was clear that management did not manage the housekeeping well. We did complain but got no reaction from Norman the manager other than "I will investigate" which of course did not help us at all. There was another gentleman (I think his name was Cedric) who does not understand how to speak or interact with customers and needs to be trained. One early morning we found the security guard fast asleep.. It is actually a pity as a lot of money has been invested in this heritage site but the staff really need a good shake-up and training. I will rate cleanliness as very good only because it was clean when we arrived.

Room Tip: We stayed in chalets 10 and 11 which was quieter and furherest away from the entrance and the roads...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeoRenette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

This is a newer establishment in the fairly new Mapungubwe National Park. The bedroom room is spacious with a separate dining and kitchen area. A lovely covered patio sits out back. There is a separate outdoor shower. We stayed in #2 and had a friendly baobab tree out back. There is a carport in front which is trip if you are driving a pick-up/bakkie. A couch can accommodate a third person.

The park reception staff are friendly but do not know much about things to do and see. There are no tarred roads in the camp. Cedric is a good guide. Do not expect to see many animals - this is not really a place for game. Trail markings are poor.

Room Tip: Room 10 and 11 are near the rocks out back, so more private. Room 2 has your own friendly baobab tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kashgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mapungubwe National Park
17.2 mi away
Tuli Safari Lodge
Tuli Safari Lodge
#2 of 7 in Northern Tuli Game Reserve
132 reviews
15.6 mi away
Munati Lodge
Munati Lodge
#8 of 17 in Musina
13 reviews
0.0 mi away
Misty Mountains
Misty Mountains
#2 of 18 in Louis Trichardt
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leokwe Camp - Mapungubwe National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leokwe Camp - Mapungubwe National Park

Address: Mapungubwe National Park, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Mapungubwe National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Mapungubwe National Park
Hotel Class:2 star — Leokwe Camp - Mapungubwe National Park 2*

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing