We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to be in the middle of nowhere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Turismo rurale "Ai Vecchi Crateri"
Reviewed 16 October 2012

We discovered this little gem by driving around Mt Etna and looking for an accomodation. When we arrived at this nice Agriturismo, we almost instantaneously fell in love with it. It's a really calm, quiet and lovely place. And the dinner was one of the most delicious ones we have tasted in all of Sicily! It's only a pity there's little choice for vegetarians. The room was not too big but allowed for a comfortable stay. Furniture and the bathroom were in a good condition, and everything was clean and well-working. Very recommendable!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marco S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
There are newer reviews for Turismo rurale "Ai Vecchi Crateri"
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2012

Stopped for lunch during our etna excursion.. apart form the nice location the setting and atmosphere was really good. I am a vegan and the owner did his best by providing a superb pasta dish with pistachio and almonds.. it was heavenly! Thanks you!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drinaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

We travelled in 10 (a school party) from Zimbabwe. We stayed for 2 nights at this BB. Our Hosts, Michele and his father could not be more helpful. We were the only ones there and therefore enjoyed a peaceful and relaxing stay. The food at the restaurant is superb, very tasty and lots of it! This BB is the perfect spot for those wishing to explore Etna and a much cheaper option than the Taormina Hotels. The coast is 15 minutes away. We hope to return soonest! Grateful thanks for the hospitalty and kindness accorded to us. Don't look further for other accommodation options!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ctrinci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

We were lost in the mountain and had been driving for hours. It was a great relief to set camp here. The restaurant was really good too!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank toniolombardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Located at the end of a quiet lane high up Etna volcano, this retreat seemed very promising at first. On our first evening though we were confronted with a rather noisy kitchen airco. Our room faced the entrance and the parking lot. The latter wouldn't have caused much of a problem were it not for a bunch of partying people celebrating a wedding. So the whole late evening and night we 'enjoyed' even more noise. After our complaint they relocated us to another room in the back which was 'okay' but not really clean and with some broken down lamps (no discount or apology whatsoever...). Breakfast is very basic except for when there are groups staying... They had yoghurt and fruit juice, the next day when they were gone, we had none! Dinner is basic but good. The freshy grilled porcini mushrooms I can recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellys_Eyeland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Cristian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017
Thank Jack_SQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Alfio
7.8 mi away
Airone Wellness Hotel
Airone Wellness Hotel
#1 of 4 in Zafferana Etnea
872 reviews
6.6 mi away
Villa Neri Resort & Spa
Villa Neri Resort & Spa
#1 of 4 in Linguaglossa
407 reviews
4.8 mi away
Viola nel Parco
Viola nel Parco
#2 of 8 in Sant'Alfio
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Case Perrotta
Case Perrotta
#2 of 8 in Sant'Alfio
255 reviews
12.2 mi away
Rifugio Sapienza
Rifugio Sapienza
#1 of 7 in Nicolosi
519 reviews
3.5 mi away
Nake Residenza Artistica B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turismo rurale "Ai Vecchi Crateri"? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turismo rurale "Ai Vecchi Crateri"

Address: Via Rosella 4, 95016 Sant'Alfio, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Sant'Alfio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Sant'Alfio
Price Range: £48 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Turismo rurale "Ai Vecchi Crateri" 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The property is located within the Natural Park of Etna surrounded by a forest of four acres of hazelnuts and chestnuts. It is located at an altitude of 1050 m. above sea level, there is ample parking, a fully equipped playground, a bowling green and two dining rooms, one with 60 seats and one with 185 seats where you can enjoy typical Sicilian dishes based on mushrooms Etna and pistachios. In addition there are 9 rooms available to guests for a total of 24 beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Turismo rurale "Ai Vecchi Crateri" reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing