We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our home in the Umbrian hills”
Review of Tenuta di Murlo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Giovanni del Pantano
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tenuta di Murlo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our home in the Umbrian hills”
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We stayed in San Savino for a week in July with my brother and his family and the experience was terrific. The views and the villa were so captivating and comfortable that we didn't want to leave. Carlotta and her team are wonderful hosts and we were able to easily use Murlo as a base to explore local Umbrian towns. We look forward to returning to Murlo and Umbria in the very near future. We ate ate the golf course a few times with wonderful service and very good food.

A perfect setting for a great holiday week!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willbrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    2
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
26
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
de pinte
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We stayed for a week in the villa Torre and enjoyed every minute. We are regular Tuscany and Umbria visitors and have resided in beautiful villas before, but Torre is by far the champion. The house is located on the top of a hill and provides you with one the most scenic views of Umbria (from sitting in your arm chair, glass of wine nearby, or - even better - from within the infinity swimming pool). The villa is harmoniously decorated with a great eye for detail and provides ample space for a family of 6 adults (assuming 2 adults do not mind sleeping in bunk beds). You truly feel at home from the moment of your arrival. A trump card is the great blend of having both your private house and the service you typically experience in a hotel. Carlotta and the team are truly going all the way to meet your requests: we asked to organize for a parapente experience near Gubbio, and so it happened, we asked on Thursday for a chef to prepare dinner on Friday, and so it happened (by the way, the chef made us a delicious meal, an experience we can highly recommend). Torre is also well located to visit many of the attractive villages and cities in Umbria: Assisi, Gubbio, Lake Trasimeno, Perugia, Montone can be reached in less than 30 minutes. In conclusion, staying at
Torre is nothing less than fabulous: have breakfast at sunrise, make a pleasant walk on the estate (to the nearby castle, to Carlotta's house, to...), refresh in the swimming pool, read a thrilling book with in the background grasshopper music, refresh again in the swimming pool, enjoy the Umbrian cuisine (by the way, if you don't feel like cooking, the Caldaro restaurant can be reached by foot (25 minutes) and serves excellent food and wine), spend a couple of hours in a romantic Umbrian village (don't forget the gelato) and return to Torre to enjoy the moon rising over the hills and finally end up taking a rain shower and fall asleep in a heavenly bed. One week of Torre and our batteries are fully loaded. An experience to be repeated!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caesar24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsingborg, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2011

Perfect service every day
All room nice and tastefully decorated
Location at the countryside around 1 hour from Montefalco, Montepulciano and Montalcino
All aminities we needed was at the house and the beatiful garden
House, garden and swimmingpool was best, the road to the house was not that good

Stefan from Sweden

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2011

I have been in the Murlo estate for a long week end last  May together with 8 friends. The accommodation and the service was superb,this place is wonderful and peaceful!
An exceptional balance among wilderness, privacy and luxury, we will come back each year! In addition the food and the service of the Caldaro restaurant located in the estate golf course, which by itself deserve a visit in Murlo, was exceptional.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank efmv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2011

What a fantastic location foprour daughter wedding. The panoramic views were breathtaking. Champagne on the lawn was unforgetable. We had the most delicious wedding feast in the golf restaurant. The staff were superb, friendly and courtous!! We would highly recommend the Murlo Estate for a wedding and we can't wait to return next year!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QuinnFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2011

7 couples from Sweden with a lot of experiences of travelling all over the world stayed at Murlo Estate for the first time. Playing golf in Italy gives a lot of expectations of good golf of course but also warm atmosphear, good food and wines. We got it all.
In a beautiful area, with a relaxed relation between the very service minded staff like Anca, Monica, Nemal and of course Carlotta we got a strong feeling of privacy underlined by the fantastic living in Villa Subtilia.
Go there!
You will be happy.
Lars Bengtsson and Gruppo Svedese

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank antognolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgefield
1 review
Reviewed 10 September 2010

This was the second time we stayed at the Villa San Savino, the first time was in 2008. Coming back after 2 years was wonderful and it did not seem like we had been away for that long. The house is charming, well-appointed and equipped, and the view from the deck over the valley is breathtaking. At one stage we were 6 adults and 4 children and all were happy to make short excursions or to while away the time by the pool.
During the second week we used the golf course several times and my brother-in-law who is a fanatic said it was one of the best he had played on.
The staff were efficent & friendly and the owner of the villa could not have been more informative and friendly. We look forward to another visit!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nstnexus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Giovanni del Pantano
9.0 mi away
Castello di Monterone
Castello di Monterone
#1 of 65 in Perugia
833 reviews
8.7 mi away
Relais Dell'Olmo
Relais Dell'Olmo
#2 of 65 in Perugia
706 reviews
10.5 mi away
Agriturismo Il Melograno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Ripa Relais
Ripa Relais
#6 of 110 in Perugia
453 reviews
3.3 mi away
Castello Valenzino
Castello Valenzino
#11 of 25 in Umbertide
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenuta di Murlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenuta di Murlo

Property: Tenuta di Murlo
Address: Str. San Giovanni Del Pantano | Loc. Antognolla, 06133 San Giovanni del Pantano, Perugia, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Perugia > San Giovanni del Pantano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in San Giovanni del Pantano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At just 2 minutes from the Antognolla Golf course and at 20 minutes from Perugia, the Murlo Estate is one of the most exclusive private country estates in Italy, owned by the same family for generations. Renowned for its thousands of hectares of immaculate woods and olive groves, and for its superb valleys, lakes and rivers, it is the perfect place for a relaxing and private holiday, offering impressive levels of comfort and elegance. The Estate offers a wide selection of possibilities for its guests: five luxury villas with private pools, three charming apartments with shared pools and two romantic cottages with shared pool all elegantly furnished and offering superior levels of comfort and a wide range of activities and high quality services, like a five star hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tenuta Di Murlo San Giovanni Del Pantano, Umbria, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing