We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not again”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Point du Jour

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Merville-Franceville-Plage
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Point du Jour
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

As other contributors have said a total nightmare to get your caravan on the pitch without a motor mover I wouldn't have been able to get my caravan on. In the morning when I came to leave to catch my ferry it was a very tight squeeze to get off the pitch (another visitor's car parked on pitch opposite) and then to get out of the site. Unless you have a very small caravan I would avoid!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crispywales2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seasonova, Propriétaire at Le Point du Jour, responded to this review, 20 January 2015
We understand your disappointment. Certainly someone of our pitches are not easily accessible.
To avoid this inconvenience, it is important during the reservation to communicate to us the size of your equipment and your wishes so that we can satisfy you at best
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    8
    12
    10
    5
See reviews for
25
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

On arrival and moving onto our pitch, which would have been inaccessible without the use of a 'mover', we had three French teenagers in the pitch behind us camping in tents, playing loud music from their car stereo! The pitches are, it must be said, a reasonable size, with fresh water available on pitch. The trouble is, kids play in the road between the pitches, ride bikes the wrong way round a one way system and are generally unruly!! Gladly we are only here for a one night stay before our ferry tomorrow morning! This is definitely NOT a quiet site, it is definitely NOT a site for peace and tranquility, it is a Butlins site without the redcoats!! Caravan Club take note! This has got to be the worst site you are associated with!! Send an inspector!! We will not be coming back!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeffrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Merville-Franceville-Plage hotels

Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We should of arrived at this site 8 days before we eventually did, due to unforeseen circumstances we had to cancelled our original booking, that we had paid for and was assured the camping and caravan club would not be charged for the cancellation (to date we have not had a refund) and was charged for night we did stay. That is my ONE big moan!!!!!!!!!! charged twice.
We arrived at this site late at night from the ferry port. It was extremely busy and we had not booked, the young man was very helpful and found us a small pitch with a large van, but it was all they had and we were very grateful. The site is a one way system and the exit is very difficult. On our return journey we stayed here again as it was already booked, for us to catch the early ferry. We found a better pitch a short walk from the beach, showers were adequate and spent a nice afternoon, but a nightmare trying to get out for the early ferry the next morning, the exit needs redesigning. Would we stay again???? if I get reimbursed????

Room Tip: Get there as early as you can, and pitch near the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
Helpful?
2 Thank Terrie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

After a great experience on this site last year we (a couple in 6.5m motorhome with a rescue dog) returned for another fortnight in late June / early July. As before, the site and its facilities were always kept clean and the family-owners couldn't have been more friendly and obliging. With direct access to one of the best beaches in Europe (dogs allowed untill approx 5th July) and a flat short walk to a lovely small town with good shops and a freindly/affordable vet it was the best experience we have ever had in France.

Room Tip: The ONLY moans we heard were from a few fellow Brits who turned up in largish car/caravan rigs witho...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnandRosie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed for a fortnight at the end of June 2013 and have booked again for three weeks this year. The site staff were very helpful and friendly, everything was clean, we loved the nearby seaside town (a 10 min flat walk away) and the adjacent beach (dogs allowed until 5th July).
I would say that the majority of pitches are more suitable for motor homes (ours is 7m long) than cars with large caravans. My wife and I are in our early sixties and we travel with our rescue dog – who enjoyed the place as much as we did.

Room Tip: If staying for more than a short stopover with a car and largish caravan book early and request a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnandRosie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Stayed here for a week on a tour of France. Well located for exploring Normandy. Great access to a nice beach. Showers good and clean despite the site being very busy. Only downside was the pitch size. Have a 6 berth tourer and reasonably fit so managed to get van into tight space. If you are unable to manhandle your own van don't stay here as you will really struggle to get onto and off the pitch. Pitch measured about 16 foot wide by 22 foot deep. With awning up our pitch was full up. Just managed to squeeze car across the front - our neighbours wernt so lucky and had to park their car in public car park at entrance gate. Would I stay again? Yes simply for location and beach access. First thing we did when we got home was cost up a motor mover!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed on this site for a little over a week, and whilst the site was clean and the staff were friendly, I cant help but be a little disappointed. Our pitch was small, (we have a 4 berth caravan and awning, and struggled for space,) difficult to get into, and had a man-hole cover across the front, meaning it was difficult to get our car onto the Pitch.

That said, it was 100 metres from the beach. It is in a good position for most tourist attractions, and there is a roadside cafe nearby that has the most amazing Moule-Frites for eight Euros!

I cannot grumble about the facilities, the toilets were clean, kept in good condition, the showers were always warm and the pool was refreshing, if a little small. The staff were friendly, but the gym machines were broken. If I have to grumble about anything, we were "told off" for our dogs barking (on a pitch next to a holiday home with a cat!) we were told that we couldn't buy bread from the shop as we hadn't "reserved" it, yet there were quite a few sticks later in the day when I went to get a drink. Oh yes, that day, in 35 degree heat, there was no access to water, cold drinks etc. The pool is a little on the small side, and there is no one watching it (lifeguard) as far as I could see.

I enjoyed my Holiday on this site, but I wont be coming back here.

Room Tip: Ask for a bigger pitch! There were camper vans on massive pitches, whilst caravans struggled on tiny...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NurseAbbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Merville-Franceville-Plage
2.7 mi away
Hotel les bains de Cabourg
3.5 mi away
Le Grand Hotel Cabourg - MGallery Collection
0.7 mi away
Hotel Le Vauban
Hotel Le Vauban
#1 of 3 in Merville-Franceville-Plage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Chez Marion
Hotel Restaurant Chez Marion
#3 of 3 in Merville-Franceville-Plage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel La Mare O Poissons
3.2 mi away
Hotel du Golf
Hotel du Golf
#5 of 14 in Cabourg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Point du Jour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Point du Jour

Property: Le Point du Jour
Address: Route de Cabourg, 14810 Merville-Franceville-Plage, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Merville-Franceville-Plage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Merville-Franceville-Plage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Point du Jour 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Le Point Du Jour France/Normandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing