We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm Welcome and Great Food”
Review of The Gors Bach Inn

The Gors Bach Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$21
Cuisines: Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Family Owned Freehouse serving homemade fresh food with a good selection of wines, beers and a large selection of malt whiskys. Groups, Children and dogs welcome
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Having had a very slow five hour journey on a busy Good Friday we booked in on the recommendation of our hosts from our local accommodation. We were not disappointed. We were a mixed aged group of 6 people with very different tastes, preferences and appetites. We had a range of meals and every one was well prepared and tasty. Portion sizes were generous. They even split a main course between the elderly members of our group and there was still enough for each of them. Having enjoyed it so much we booked for the following evening before we left and again the experience was great. The menu on the website was not the longest i have seen but the specials boards makes up for that and the staff go out of their way to try and accommodate any requests. We will be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Derby422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise J, Owner at The Gors Bach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review . Hopefully we will see you again when you visit North Wales.
Regards
John and Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 96 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2014

We arrived and had a table booked for Sunday lunch, we were waiting at the bar to be served next when a family arrived behind us, one of the bar staff then blanked us and ask if they had a table booked and then showed them to their table (I think they were locals). After being served she asked if we had been before, we said no. after being told where our table was we waited 30 minutes to be called to the carvery; some locals came in and set next to us the staff member came over and told them it will be 5 minutes. So seems like if you are local you get looked after, I don’t think we will visit again, we drive past this palace every weekend while travelling to Dinas Dinlle, think we will eat there bwyty lleu and blackboy in Caernarfon for example as we never experienced anything like this there.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank AH88877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise J, Owner at The Gors Bach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

We apologise if you felt you were not looked after and waited to long. We are a small family run buisness and endeavour to look after all our customs equally so they enjoy their experience at the Gors Bach. All our customs are important to us and we take all our reviews to heart negative and positive and always try to do better.
Regards
John and Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We turned up without booking (Mothering Sunday), and the place was packed. At first they were apologetic that they were unable to accommodate us, but they managed to squeeze us in with only a short wait. We have been looking for a decent Sunday roast for some time now, and are really pleased to have found one that exceeded our expectations. A lovely array of freshly prepared veg, including honeyed parsnips and spring greens, were accompanied by crispy, fluffy roast potatoes, and a choice of 3 meats to mention only our highlights. The portions were extremely good value for money, and the staff were friendly and efficient. The place feels like its in a transition, with a mis-match of decor and seating, but that certainly doesn't take anything away from the delicious food. Well worth a visit, but you're definitely advised to book if you're visiting on a Sunday. Huge thanks to the very nice, extremely busy woman for fitting us in.

Thank littlemsbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise J, Owner at The Gors Bach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Thank you for taking time to review the Gors Bach, we were glad that you waited a short while to allow us to find you a table. Where possible we will always try to accommodate everyone.
We look forward to having your custom again , once again thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Went for a family meal on a Saturday night. The food was excellent, the lamb shank was plentiful and was really nice. All three of us enjoyed our starter and the main meal.
Can I suggest to the owner that he makes sure the place is warm enough, this is the third time we have been and it has been really cold there. Tonight, although the heater was on on low heat it was not warm enough and another couple sitting by us moved to be closer to the heater. We left because it was not warm enough. You are loosing customers because the room is not comfortably warm for people to stay and also customers tell each otherr how good the food is but they also say how cold it is. I'm sure you would be much busier if the customers were warmer!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank IJones_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise J, Owner at The Gors Bach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

We apologise that we failed to keep you comfortably warm on Saturday night as we value your custom and want to give you every reason to come back to us. We are aware that there have been some warmth issues and have endeavoured this winter to ensure that are guests are warm and comfortable by adding additional heating. Our plan for the future is to have a large wood burning stove in the main room to add to our already comfortable snug area that has an open fire. We thank you for your comments and are always looking to improve the Gors Bach experience.
Louise and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I've eaten here twice and won't be back for a third. The first time was ok and the food was pretty good- I didn't notice the service so it must have been ok. The second time, a man I later found out to be the owner took my order. When he finally deigned to take the order, his manner was abrupt and I felt that I was doing him a favour. The food was fine, but I don't feel inclined to ever go back.

2  Thank swiftarf123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise J, Owner at The Gors Bach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Thank you for your comments we are sorry that you did not enjoy your experience at the Gors Bach on your last visit. We value our customers and hope that you will consider coming back to us in the future.
Louise and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Gors Bach Inn also viewed

 
Caernarfon, Gwynedd
Caernarfon, Gwynedd
 

Been to The Gors Bach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing