We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for a romantic escape ”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of San Isidro Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Copper Canyon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
San Isidro Lodge
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
108 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Perfect for a romantic escape ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is isolated in the woods, near Cerocahui and very calm. Rooms are pretty.
The owner is very nice, he'll get you at the train station in Bahuichivo if you need, he also offers tours to the barrancas de Urique. Last but not least, the hotel has a typical Mexican spa, with a ceremony.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ben_RC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    7
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taupo
Level Contributor
255 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

We loved staying here despite the state of the roads in the area. I am certainly glad it was not my car on those roads.There were huge electrical storms and we had no power the whole time we were there, just the one night unfortunately. Mario and family provided a wonderful meal and we sat and drunk margaritas by candel light and were serenaded by our guide. If you are happy to go somewhere different and rustic then do yourself a favour.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaupoSheryll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

This cabanas cant really compete with a luxury hotel with a great view, fine meals and all the services, but they still charge a similar price. It is a nice location if you want to escape from everything, but there is not really much to do, so don't book one week! The owners are kind, but not what I'd call touristic guides. We took a walk to the waterfall and in three hours of walking our guide didnt say one single word... Fine, but you cant charge the same as a proper guide.
What we liked: The cabanas are very beautiful, the food is good and they actually make the best margaritas in Mexico!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luna_infierma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Briceland, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

Our three night stay at San Isidro was the highlight of a fabulous journey through the mountains and canyons of the Sierra Tarahumara (aka Copper Canyon). The cabanas are each unique and very comfortable, with local artist murals adorning the walls and wood stoves, lit by staff while you dine in the lodge, to keep us warm at night. Mario, the host for the family venture, met us at the train station, arranged and accompanied us on a trip to Urique on the canyon floor, and took us to visit the local school. The food was excellent, the local countryside beautiful and the sunsets awesome.

Room Tip: When I returned, I will ask for the meditation cabin. It is further away from the lodge and has no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol7744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missoula, Montana, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

Cottages in the woods, please take advantage of the sweat lodge ceremony.

Great trail running and hiking hills. Great food (included).

Mario met us at the train station. His English is great and he is friendly and helpful.

A guided hike to the canyon bottom was awesome, but be prepared -- it's 18 miles and costs 1500 pesos. Mario met us with beers and burritos at the end. Delicious.

There were some electricity and water issues while were there, but hey, it's rural Mexico. Mario figured out a workaround and overall we had a fantastic time.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2010

I arrived at the San Isidro Lodge by accident, and it turned out to be the best experience of my Copper Canyon trip. Tito, Mario and their family (who built their cabins themselves) were warm and welcoming, and took care of everything. Without being pushy or intrusive they made sure I experienced the best of their land with a beautiful sunset hike, outdoor fire and a trip down the canyon into Urique. The bed was exceptionally comfortable, the food, coffee and margaritas were delicious, the cabins were gorgeously decorated and the shower was great. I felt lucky to stumble on a place where I could appreciate all the pleasures of the isolated landscape, camping-style, while still having an extremely comfortable room to retreat to. I would do the whole trip over just to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ams_in_df
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canmore, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2010

The San Isidro Lodge (also known as the Porochi Inn) is a charming inn run as part of a high country ranch in the Copper Canyon area. It is best suited for people who want to be out of an urban environment and who prefer nature to shopping opportunities. The rooms are surprisingly comfortable, the food was good and the people were great. They provide services such as pick-up from the train, birding and walking tours. Their relations with the Tarahumara are strong, providing insight into this culture.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Retired_60ish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Copper Canyon
4.6 mi away
Hotel Paraiso del Oso
Hotel Paraiso del Oso
#2 of 2 in Cerocahui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mision
Hotel Mision
#1 of 2 in Cerocahui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
20.8 mi away
Posada Barrancas Mirador
Posada Barrancas Mirador
#3 of 19 in Copper Canyon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Hotel Divisadero Barrancas
Hotel Divisadero Barrancas
#1 of 1 in Divisadero
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cerocahui Wilderness Lodge
Cerocahui Wilderness Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cerocahui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
41.2 mi away
Hotel Posada Del Cobre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Isidro Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Isidro Lodge

Property: San Isidro Lodge
Address: Cerocahui, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Chihuahua > Copper Canyon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Copper Canyon
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
San Isidro Lodge Mexico/Copper Canyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing