We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of both worlds: luxury in the wilderness!”
Review of San Isidro Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Copper Canyon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
San Isidro Lodge
Reviewed 31 December 2010

I arrived at the San Isidro Lodge by accident, and it turned out to be the best experience of my Copper Canyon trip. Tito, Mario and their family (who built their cabins themselves) were warm and welcoming, and took care of everything. Without being pushy or intrusive they made sure I experienced the best of their land with a beautiful sunset hike, outdoor fire and a trip down the canyon into Urique. The bed was exceptionally comfortable, the food, coffee and margaritas were delicious, the cabins were gorgeously decorated and the shower was great. I felt lucky to stumble on a place where I could appreciate all the pleasures of the isolated landscape, camping-style, while still having an extremely comfortable room to retreat to. I would do the whole trip over just to stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ams_in_df
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2010

The San Isidro Lodge (also known as the Porochi Inn) is a charming inn run as part of a high country ranch in the Copper Canyon area. It is best suited for people who want to be out of an urban environment and who prefer nature to shopping opportunities. The rooms are surprisingly comfortable, the food was good and the people were great. They provide services such as pick-up from the train, birding and walking tours. Their relations with the Tarahumara are strong, providing insight into this culture.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Retired_60ish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2010

Don't stay here if you want all mod cons i.e. TV, AC, internet etc, but make do without these, & you will enjoy the hospitality of a lovely Mestizo/Raramuri family and their efforts to give you a really special stay. Mario picked us up from the Chepe train at Bahuichivo and drove us the 45 minute journey through Cerocahui village and on another 20 minutes to the complete isolation of San Isidro (lucky they include all meals and drinks) We were treated to a homemade lunch after which Mario showed us the Cerro de Gallegos lookout at the rim of the Urique Canyon. Then the rain stopped us sitting around the campfire he made, but we got the effect. Supper was lovely, but don't expect nightlife.

The Cabins are very peaceful, no TV or internet & bring a torch if you want to read. They are beautifully decorated with murals by a local artist & we had a roaring log fire. We particularly enjoyed the fresh popcorn brought to us by Mario's young nephew. You will hear the howl of the Kyotes. Not necessarily a place to stay for a week, but a night to remember.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hillygirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2009

I wish Tres Amigos had put us in town at The Mission hotel. The weather was very bad and we were not able to do anything the day we arrived and were in the middle of nowhere. No TV, no phone, no internet. The next day we were supposed to go again to see the canyon but our driver said it was still very overcast so he took us to town for a ½ hour tour left us there and went to get gas. He took us to the train station 3 hours earlier and we met people there that had gone to the canyon that morning and had no problem seeing it. Somehow almost all other tourists were brought to the station an hour before the train came which was as late as the day before. But our driver insisted he did not have a way to know when the train will come. They had a stove only in the reception area. My 83 year old mother was in her room and they did not start her stove. I am not sure it even works. The breakfast was nice and so it was the margaritas, the soup for lunch was also good but the rest of the meals were not too good. This was a very beautiful but isolated place. We were taken to a supposedly taraumara family home, but it was just a very poor house with no Indian traditions to show us. The family was nice but not helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Starviagera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2009

When we arrived at the station in Bahuichivo, there was no one to meet us so someone else very kindly gave us a lift. On our arrival we weren't expected, although 3 Amigos had booked us in. At night it was freezing in spite of the wood burning stove in our cabin. Never the less, we enjoyed our stay and Mario and his family looked after us pretty well. They took us to the Canyon edge showed us around including a visit to the the village of Cerocahui. They fed us very well and were very hospitable hosts. We spent the evening sitting round their log fire knocking back the tequilas.

Our cabin was basic but comfortable and decorated with colourful murals. My God though it was freezing when we woke up! As with all the places we visited in Copper Canyon, it was quiet - but give San Isidro Lodge a try if you can. I'm sure you will have a most enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spineynorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2008

We stayed one night in a cozy adobe cabin at the San Ysidro lodge. This is small but impressive family-run operation, they work hard to offer a very good experience for their guests: pick up and drop off at the train station, terrific meals in a lovely dining room, tours of the nearby Urique Canyon, and interaction with local Tarahumara people.

However, be forewarned their services are pricey - you will pay $120 per night for 2 people which includes meals, if you want to be taken to the nearby Urique canyon be prepared to pay dearly. We did not have enough time to go down into the canyon, so our hosts drove us to the closeby rim and let us out for a walk. This cost us $30 each person.

That said, I would recommend this place if you plan to visit the Urique canyon area.

Stayed: December 2007
1  Thank green_stripes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2008

This was a fantastic place to stay and I really enjoyed my time here. Everyone involved was friendly and helpful and the views of the canyon are spectacular. (although it takes a while to get to them)

I think that the tours are not that expensive if compared to a place such as Creel that charge a similar amount for tours that are not nearly as good.

It was well worth the time spent there and was the highlight of the Copper Canyon. Be prepared for a couple of early nights though as this is not the place for late night drinking.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluearmyMexicoCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copper Canyon hotels
41.2 mi away
Hotel Posada Del Cobre
6.8 mi away
Hotel Mansion Tarahumara
41.9 mi away
Hotel Cabanas Claro de Luna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
41.8 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Dona Crucita
#11 of 14 in Creel
3 reviews
41.2 mi away
Quinta Mision Hotel
Quinta Mision Hotel
#2 of 12 in Creel
174 reviews
41.5 mi away
Margarita's Plaza Mexicana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Isidro Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Isidro Lodge

Address: Cerocahui, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Chihuahua > Copper Canyon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Copper Canyon
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
San Isidro Lodge Mexico/Copper Canyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing