We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean spacious rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mision San Miguel de Allende
Reviewed 22 February 2009

We stayed here wih a tour group. The rooms and grounds are nicely kept and pretty. The pool was empty for repair, but it was too cold for swimming anyway.
The shower was fabulous - plenty of hot water and great water pressure. Bath and Body brand products for the bath.
Cabs to the centro area are 25 pesos each for up to 4 people, and the bus stops right out front, 5 pesos each.
We didn't like the location of our first room, and they changed us right away.
BEWARE - the breakfast buffet was 140 pesos per person, not a good value at all! No price was posted, and shame on me for not asking ahead of time!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sioux4noff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

44 - 50 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2008

This hotel was a complete fraud. We had first booked one room for the long weekend of the Mexican Independence holiday and a few days later another one for our daughter. Upon arrival at the hotel shortly after 2 p.m., we were told we had no reservation, they didn't even had our name registered. As an excuse they told us they were no longer working with American travelagencies. They told us they had only one room available for one night and not the two booked and that perhaps there would be two rooms for us after 5 p.m. if the people didn't show up. They even told us that other clients from Orbitz didn't have a room even though they were in their system.

We didn't accept and asked for a complete refund which we got.

Additionally, the hotel looked pretty much run down, even the garden as the lawn hadn't been watered. Rooms are not far from one of the two main streets, so it must be very noisy at night, and it is too far from the city center, or let's say, it is 6 blocks, but very long ones and it is all down hill so getting back can be very tyring and there are no restaurants close at hand. San Miguel de Allende is such a nice town, with great places to be, and as this hotel is close to the highway, you get no impression of all of that.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Service
3  Thank miwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2008

This hotel is decent enough. However the description of the hotel raised our expectations unnecessarily ultimately leading to disappointment. First, the official description of the hotel states that it's just 6 blocks away from the center of the town. We have walked 6 blocks in New York, Chicago, San Francisco, etc. It only takes 10 minutes to walk 6 blocks in any of those. I don't know how they counted 6 blocks but this hotel is actually on the edge of town. It would take about 25 minutes to walk to the center of town. The highway leading to Queretaro, etc. is only a quarter of a mile away from the hotel! Having said that, you can catch a bus to the center of town right outside the hotel. Taxis to the center of town can also easily be flagged at all hours of the day and they're cheap.

A 3-star hotel should have a coffee machine in the room -- this hotel doesn't. They have room service but the service is patchy -- hot chocolate and coffee should be delivered in a small thermos so that the beverage is hot -- here they come in cups or a steel pot -- they're cold by the time they're delivered.

The lower-level staff (waiters/waitresses, maids, etc.) are helpful and friendly but usually only speak spanish. The mid-level staff, with some exceptions, are mostly incompetent and have an attitude. For example, the hotel has a miniature golf course. My son wanted to play golf so we went to the front desk to ask for clubs. We were told to return in one hour as someone had already checked out the clubs. However, no one was at the golf course. We communicated that fact to the lady at the desk but instead of saying "Let me find out why the clubs are checked out but there's nobody at the course" she glibly asked us to return after one hour. She was not interested in helping us out at all.

Another example: Our room was prepaid through one of the travel websites. While checking out we were presented a bill for our stay. We tried to communicate the fact that we were prepaid to the front desk but to no success. We asked to speak to someone who can understand english, but for some reason they did not act upon our request. Finally, we wrote down that our room was prepaid. Only then they understood. Competent staff should know which guests have prepaid their rooms (shouldn't the billing system pick this up?).

Third example: While checking in on a day when the hotel was mostly empty we asked for a room with a nice view and we were told that yes our room has a nice view. When we went to the room, it had a view -- of the garbage area behind the hotel's restaurant! They changed our room but not without asking nicely. Now, if the hotel is full and you happen to be the last person to check in, it's understandable that you'll be the one to end up with the least desirable room. But why do this when the hotel is empty? And the impunity with which they said "Yes, you're getting a nice view" !!!

There are many, many other good hotel choices in San Miguel de Allende -- avoid this one unless you have no choice.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank KellysHero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017
1  Thank maarenas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: que no esté tan cerca de la pileta, por la bulla
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank jaostol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Vi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia R, General Manager at Mision San Miguel de Allende, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank stardedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia R, General Manager at Mision San Miguel de Allende, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
1.1 mi away
Real de Minas San Miguel de Allende
Real de Minas San Miguel de Alle...
#11 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
1,001 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Primavera
Hotel Casa Primavera
#19 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
183 reviews
6.9 mi away
Grand Las Nubes by Inmense
Grand Las Nubes by Inmense
#12 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Arcada San Miguel
Arcada San Miguel
#55 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
33 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Monteverde Best Inns
Hotel Monteverde Best Inns
#40 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
167 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel la Estacion
Hotel la Estacion
#27 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mision San Miguel de Allende? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mision San Miguel de Allende

Address: Salida Real a Queretaro 1 | Colonia Centro, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Refugio del Molino)
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 68 Hotels in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range: £43 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mision San Miguel de Allende 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mision San Miguel de Allende , Guanajuato, Mexico , modern colonial construction in a space filled with gardens where you can enjoy a beautiful pool naturally heated through solar heaters in addition to its rich and varied international cuisine . Hotel Mision San Miguel de Allende will find accommodation in our first 60 colonial rooms and fully equipped suites. Also, if traveling in a group or want to make your events and conventions we have facilities for up to 300 people. Our Hotel in San Miguel Allende family thinks so we amenities as a restaurant , bar , mini golf, heated pool and game room . Hotel Mision San Miguel de Allende is one of the best locations to 15 minutes from the center with ample parking . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mision San Miguel de Allende reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing