We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A First Rate Boutique Hotel”
Review of Casa Misha

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Miguel de Allende
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Misha
Certificate of Excellence
Martha's Vineyard, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A First Rate Boutique Hotel”
Reviewed 31 March 2011

I just returned from spending ten days at Casa Misha in San Miguel de Allende. From the moment, I walked through the front doors of this incredible boutique hotel, I was transformed into a place of beauty and tranquility. The terrific owners, Richard and Edward made me feel special and very much at home. Their staff is amazing. Magda, the concierge, helped me with scheduling a guided tour of Guanajuato, as well as restaurant choices, locating specific artisans, and directions to wherever I needed to go.
Her warmth, humor, and efficiency enriched the quality of my stay. The breakfasts are delicious; the poached eggs, and fresh squeezed juices, superb. The architectural attention to detail is exquisite, and the service is spectacular. Staying at Casa Misha made my trip to San Miguel a trip of a lifetime. I've stayed at some Relaix and Chateaux hotels over the years, and Casa Misha is one of the most lovely places I have ever stayed. Its central location makes walking to restaurants and touring easy. As a woman traveling alone, Casa Misha was a superb choice for me. Anyone desiring a first rate hotel won't be disappointed. I recommend it highly.

Room Tip: All the rooms are superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janicerobin21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    3
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
29
137
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2011

Together with a friend I spent two nights in Casa Misha beginning of November 2010. It was simply wonderful. Starting with the excepcionally friendly treatment from the very first moment through the wonderful breakfast in our private and peaceful garden until our wunderfully decorated room with a huge jacuzzi.
Yes, it is not cheap. But worth every dime without doubt.
I will definitely come back.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank up-and-away01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Kensington
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2011

Casa Misha is located near the centre but in a quiet street and revolves around a courtyard.I found it a little old fashioned and most of the ground floor rooms apart from one facing the courtyard directly were quite dark,small and too cluttered - you felt you were in a museum.
We were unfortunate to choose a garden room on ground floor which was narrow dark ( in light and furniture) and claustrophobic.Our garden terrace and the expansive roof terrace with stunning views over city could not be used from early evening as temperature plummeted at this time of year.In hindsight I am sure we would have had a totally different experience if we had been on first floor where the rooms have far more light and less claustrophobic . However the service was exceptional

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank petesaund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2011

Casa Misha is a wonderful small hotel, each of the 7 bedrooms is different and elegantly decorated. The hospitality and service are impecable, every one goes out of their way to make you feel at home. My teenage kids were so at ease, they didn´t want to go out!!! We truly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bepelstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2011

I was not ready to leave idyllic Casa Misha and the wonderful, warm, generous owners and staff who made my stay there so memorable.

After going on the Trip Advisor website everyday for several weeks, I chose Casa Misha for several reasons. I had never been to San Miguel de Allende and the reviews for Casa Misha were outstanding; the Casa Misha website guest room photos and descriptions, the services offered, the location, and of course my correspondence and conversations with Magda, who promptly answered and addressed all my questions and concerns, scheduled airport transportation, tours, spa dates, and assisted me every step of the way with grace and humor. My stay at Casa Misha far exceeded my expectations.

From the moment I walked through the doors of Casa Misha I knew that I found the perfect place for my vacation of rest, relaxation and rejuvenation. I was at once transformed and transported to this magical world of elegance, luxury and warmth.
I had a reservation for The Spa room, but upon arrival the owners Richard and Ed offered to put me in the Parroquia guest room so that I would not be disturbed by some neighborhood construction that had just started the day before I arrived and that they thought that since I was traveling alone that the Parroquia guest room, which offers privacy if desired and is also in close proximity to staff and guests, may be a better option for me. The views were breathtaking and unlike many of the courtyard-style accommodations, my terrace and balcony did not look into or across from another of the rooms. Instead I had a view of the spectacular Parroquia cathedral and the historic downtown center of San Miguel.

Casa Misha afforded me the option of an oasis of tranquility when I sought my own company as well as the option of spending time with guests and even the owners as well as Susie and Elsa, the wonderful dogs that live on the premises.

Service at Casa Misha is excellent - a full breakfast served in the dining room, on your personal terrace or any of the other terraces offering magnificent views is lovely and served promptly. The staff are friendly and accommodating. If you do not want to go out for dinner, they provide several menus from local restaurants and bring dinner to you.

Before I even returned my husband knew it had been a successful respite from my stressful life when I decided to extend my stay.

When it was time for me to depart it was difficult to say goodbye to the owners and staff who were so hospitable, professional, knowledgeable and personable.

Casa Misha was like a luxurious home away from home - each day or night that I would leave or return - I was met with a friendly, welcoming smile and greeting.

Muchas Gracias Casa Misha!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CMBGSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2011

I am an avid user of Tripadvisor and was extremely impressed by the reviews this place has, 62 reviews and ALL of them gave rated it as Excellent. I have never seen a place rated like this so I assumed it was an incredible place. I am a very picky traveler and have stayed in the best hotels in the world, I am also a foodie and read that food here was spectacular.

The place was deserted when we got there, we never saw anyone else. The room (Terraza) was ordinary and by no means great, nothing like a five star hotel. It appears to be just a house where they decided to rent rooms, they have no infrastucture. We got there at 6 00 pm, decided to go for a walk and then come back for dinner, which was to be the most important part of our visit as we had read so many rave reviews about their food. So we told the guy at the desk that we would come back for dinner in a couple of hours, he replies that this weekend the restaurant is closed as the chef is on vacation! "Didn't Magda told you when you called to reserve?" he asked. No, she did not! And we would not have gone there had we known!

We had breakfast and it was quite mediocre. This place is not terrible but it is definitely not worth the price. I love luxury hotels and I do not mind paying even over one thousand dollars a night but I expect a lot in return. We payed over US$500 for something that was maybe worth US$150. What most surprises me are all the great reviews, I can only thing that they are somehow manipulating them? Maybe they had all their friends and family write those reviews and they are fake?? I cannot find any other explanation. The person at the desk told me that the hotel is for sale, so I guess the owners don't care anymore, I never saw them there. The uniforms of the staff were falling apart.

I would definitely not go back, go someplace else!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank RafaelMexicoCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, España
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2011

We are just back from 2 weeks in Mexico and rate our 5 day stay at Casa MIsha in San Miguel as the highlight of the trip. Casa MIsha is a beautiful oasis of style, friendliness and warmth just blocks from the jardin in SMdA. The suites are simply wonderful. They are inviting, spacious, private, extremely comfortable have great views, fantastic gas fireplaces and they are beautifully decorated with the best of the old and new worlds. Comfortable yet luxurious at the same time. Richard and Edward are wonderful hosts and the staff, Juan, Darwin Manolo and Magda couldn't do enough to make us feel at home. We loved it. A fantastic place to stay when visiting one of my favourite places in the world

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TOBVCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
#2 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hacienda El Santuario
Hacienda El Santuario
#5 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada
Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada
#4 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Nena
Hotel Nena
#3 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
5.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Matilda
Hotel Matilda
#13 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Schuck Boutique Hotel
Casa Schuck Boutique Hotel
#15 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Misha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Misha

Property: Casa Misha
Address: Chiquitos #15 | Centro, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
#5 Family Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Misha, a true gem hidden behind unassuming doors, is a boutique hotel providing luxury accommodations and impeccable service. Located on quaint Callejon de Chiquitos, just two blocks from the Jardin, this 20 room estate features 7 elegantly decorated guest rooms each with their own distinct style. With facilities generally reserved exclusively for guests and our focus on exceptional personalized service, we strive to provide a unique and memorable experience. Casa Misha - Hospitality Redefined ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Misha Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing