We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The street dogs turned it down”
Review of El Palacio Chino - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
El Palacio Chino
Restaurant details
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The street dogs turned it down”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Absolutely a disaster in every way. Six of us ordered take out and returned to our house to enjoy chinese food. As each of us took a bite, we looked at each other, made the obligatory, "OMG THIS IS HORRIBLE" face and all decide to give our lunches to the street dogs, unfortunately, they would not eat it either. Better to go a block and a half up mesones to the two chinese guys who offer real chinese take-out.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Richard O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    7
    4
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san miguel de allende
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“excellent hot and sour soup and combination fried rice”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

I frequent this restaurant for their take out, consistantly good food and reasonable price, service is ok wish it could be better, one of the best chinese food in San Miguel.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bomberrazor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taos, New Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Inedible, a disgrace.”
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We ordered out on a rainy afernoon to the tune of 450 pesos and were appalled at the poor quality of the food. The brown rice was fried, for some reason, in rancid fat. The egg rolls also tasted somewhat rancid. The eggplant w garlic sauce was tolerable, but not spicy as expressly requested. The steamed pork dumplings were okay, but overcooked and we were afraid to add them to the evil-smelling broth. Chicken w vegetables was boring and greasy. Finally, we tossed the unfortunate fortune cookies, which were way below minimal standards. I am not a food snob, nor am I a regular contributor to Trip Advisor -- in fact, this is my first review. My sense of outrage prompts this report. By contrast, as a regular customer of the friendly folks at the large food cart on Mesones near the Plaza Civica, I can verify that there you will find tasty, fresh food for ONE-FIFTH the cost of this abomination of a "Chinese Palace". Oh, and I asked for a menu that never arrived, which saves me the trouble of wadding it up in dusgust and heaving it in the garbage with the brown rice and egg rolls.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PonziUnit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brownsville, TX
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Authentic Chinese Food in San Miguel”
Reviewed 7 January 2010

Recommended on the back of a brochure so we tried it out during out last stay in San Miguel and it became out go-to eatery. They advertise their place as the best chinese food in Mexico, I've have some pretty good bites in D.F. but I can honestly say best Chinese in San Miguel. Delivery takes awhile but huge servings that'll last you lunch and dinner. Some may call it pricey because it's not cheap but it's the quality.

Helpful?
Thank roaminginny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
326 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Good Chinese/Sezuan Food though a tad pricey”
Reviewed 23 April 2009

Good Chinese/Sezuan Food though a tad pricey. It's 'genuine' cooking, and not the 'mexican' version.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mrjustice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Palacio Chino also viewed

San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing