We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful place to stay!”
Two bedroom villa in lush garden 6 minutes to main square
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Two bedroom villa in lush garden 6 minutes to main square
Living and Dining room with fireplace Master bedroom with King Bed, fireplace and Garden View
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
Two bedroom villa in lush garden 6 minutes to main square
Living and Dining room with fireplace
Master bedroom with King Bed, fireplace and Garden View
Master bedroom headboard hand-made by Mexican artisans
Second bedroom with queen bed, fireplace
Villa kitchen is well equipped
Villa veranda, overlooking garden and fountain
Fountain in front of villa veranda
Courtyard with fountain welcomes guests
Front door entrance to street,
Our front door from street, you never know what you will find outside.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
San Miguel de Allende, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Leslie D
Medellin, Colombia
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to stay!”
Reviewed 2 December 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Amazing! What a beautiful place! Ruth is such an incredible host. Everything about the casita is beautifully appointed and I immediately fell in love with the decor of the entire home. Everything is very well stocked if you'd like to stay in for dinner or walk down the street to the many restaurants in the area. The location can't be beat. In the middle of centro but once through the main doors it's like being in your own oasis. The attention to detail from Ruth's team is great and everyone is so friendly, thank you to Kristopher and Rufina. Thank you Ruth for hosting us in your amazing home and sharing your wonderful stories! We hope to come back again soon! 100% recommend!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Dec 2017
So glad you enjoyed your time with us. All the best for 2018 and Happy Travels
Ruth and staff
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nomad5628...
1 review
“Quiet Oasis in the Heart of San Miguel”
Reviewed 3 April 2017 for a stay in February 2017

The lush garden setting of the Villa at Casa Mandu was the perfect place to return after a day of experiencing San Miguel's many charms. Each afternoon, we would enjoy a glass of wine on the comfortable verandah, listening to the sounds of the birds and the garden fountain.

The views from each room are stunning (my favourite was the blooming orange tree outside our bedroom window) and, from a practical standpoint the Villa is equipped with everything you will need for a very comfortable short or long stay.

The location is a short walk to many interesting neighborhoods and to all amenities. The delightful owner, Ruth went above and beyond with recommendations on everything from restaurants and cultural events to day trips.

We were so enamoured with the the magic of San Miguel and the Villa at Casa Mandu that will be returning there next year.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Apr 2017
Looks like our attention to detail and our guest's reaps the benefits of returning reservations.. Angela and Robert stayed two months in our villa and have booked to come back again next winter. When guests are happy, we are happy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen R
San Clemente, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My Home Away from Home”
Reviewed 23 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

The Casita at Casa Mandu is just a perfect place to stay.! I was there for one month and I felt like it became my home. The entire property is beautiful and charming and offers a calm atmosphere to come back to after a day of wandering in San Miguel. Ruth was more than helpful and offered a lot of advice in so many ways. She saved me the last day when my shuttle did not arrive on time and was able to get them to send another driver to get me to the airport on time. The Casita is just a 10 minute walk to the center of the town and if I needed a taxi at night I was able to easily get one at the nearest corner. Rufina, the maid, kept the casita sparkling clean and I truly enjoyed the comfortable bed with the clean white sheets and comforter. The patio area outside the casita is lovely place to sit and perhaps have a few friends over for a glass of wine. A big thank you to Ruth for providing such a lovely place to stay!!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Mar 2017
When guests are happy, we are happy. Really appreciate the kind words
Thanks
Ruth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spiketron...
Redwood City, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ruth, the landlady, is your best friend in Mexico!”
Reviewed 16 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Ruth at Casa Mandu in San Miguel de Allende is the best friend you could have in Mexico. We stayed at her lovely Villa in Early November '16 and although we I thought I had researched the best restaurants in town, her recommendation was better. She got us tickets to a fabulous concert, told us where to find the best shops in town, called out for pizza on a rainy night and generally saved us a lot of time and trouble. The villa itself has a lovely courtyard, is fully equipped and has daily maid service! The bed and pillows were comfy and there is a purified water tap in the kitchen.
The Villa is only 4 or 5 blocks from the central square in town, called the Jardin, so we could walk most everywhere without constantly having to flag down a taxi, which would have been necessary if Casa Mandu wasn't in such a prime location. And our whole vacation was soooo affordable compared to anything in Europe or the states. Say hi to Ruth for us!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Narrow sidewalks on the street
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Nov 2016
Thanks Brian, we really enjoyed having you and your party with us. Your review and kind words are much appreciated
Ruth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maapsie1
Kernersville, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worse Experience in 50 years of world wide travel.”
Reviewed 12 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

The WORST experience we have ever had in fifty years of traveling!!!!
We arrived mid-afternoon on Saturday to the lovely Casa Mandu. We had reserved the villa for three weeks of quiet, rest, and study. Husband was to stay a week, wife spending the three weeks in an intensive Spanish course that included hours of “homework.”
On Monday construction began on the next door house. Drilling, drilling, directly into the wall behind the master bed. Horrible. The noise filled the entire villa – the first week from 7:00 – 9 or 10:00 at night. We could not use the villa – sleep late, relax, study, have dinner. The whole place shook. We were told it would end in a couple of days and the “noise” would stop at 2:00 every day. We were paid $400 for the “inconvenience.” Then we were told it would not stop at 2:00 every day, and it continued. We began to look for another accommodation, calling friends, friends of friends, searching the internet, walking the streets. (No luck – it was Day of the Dead time!) Our owner said that if I stayed, she would refund a total of half the rent. If I left she would refund all of the rent. Husband’s entire vacation week was ruined. Construction noise, usually concentrated directly against our villa wall, continued on and off for two more weeks – starting at 7:00 in the morning. I stayed away as much as possible, but would arrive home late in the afternoon to more drilling.
The owner refused to honor her promise. She and the maid had been “monitoring” the situation and it “really wasn’t so bad.” (She was often away). She will probably deny making the offer.
Also to consider: the description says that the rooms open onto the porch “Mexican Style.” Be aware that this means there is no connection between the bedrooms and the kitchen/living area except along this porch, and one section of the porch that leads from bedrooms to living area is not covered. If it is raining or cold you are exposed moving from space to space. I like to study at random times so I tried to leave the porch light on at night so I could get back and forth without moving through the dark, but the lights were turned off automatically. We were also told it was safe to leave doors unlocked and windows open – that there was always someone there. Not True. And workmen appeared in front of our bedroom when we were trying to get dressed! There seemed to be constant maintenance. And watch out for scorpions!
A miserable and uncomfortable experience for these two world travelers. The only bad review we’ve ever left!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Nov 2016
After 8 years of being host at Casa Mandu this is the only negative review we have had. Unfortunately we had no control of construction noise on the neighboring property, and for the first week of these guests stay the noise of drilling was continual for four days, Tuesday to Friday. We gave them a $100 refund per day from their price paid of $125 per day. We also advised them to find other accommodation with no cancellation penalty, since there was nothing we could do about the construction noise.. We did offer a refund if the construction noise continued. For the following two weeks there was no loud noise at the construction site as they were painting and working on finishing touches. And now the boutique hotel construction next door is finished and they are opening this week. Please read our other reviews before writing off our property.
Ruth Hayward
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dhaltersc
Lake Toxaway, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Casa Mandu is the best!”
Reviewed 27 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Thanks to our hostess, Ruth, this was such a wonderful trip. I brought three friends who had never been to SMA before and the location was perfect for us all. It is close to the center of town, the Artisan's Market, and so many great restaurants. It was especially nice to have a level walk to the Jardin. Ruth assisted us so many times with finding places we wanted to see and found us a wonderful cook, who made a delicious dinner. Casa Mandu will be my home-away-from-home in SMA from now on. Thank you, Ruth!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: There is no way to choose only one thing.
Liked least: Nothing to post here.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casajulia...
Manzanillo
2 reviews
“Excellent accommodation with a very gracious host!”
Reviewed 17 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I had the pleasure of staying at Casa Mandu for one week this past July.
What a beautiful, well kept, quiet place. I would highly recommend this accommodation and it's location to everyone. Ruth, the hostess with the "mostess" was very helpful and spent time showing me the "lay of the land".
Really an extraordinary experience !

Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2016
Thanks so much for your great review. Hope you will be back again soon
Ruth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing