We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely charming” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa de la Noche

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa de la Noche
Certificate of Excellence
Redmond
Level Contributor
85 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Absolutely charming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

We loved staying at Casa de la Noche. It is very walkable to the Centro and such an interesting place to be in SMA. Ambience is great with fountains and artwork everywhere. Barbara and her staff are friendly and very helpful. Breakfasts were delicious with good variety, and the guests mix very easily and share information; we really enjoyed talking to others about their SMA experiences.
One cautionary note - we stayed in Madam's Suite which was lovely - however the bedroom is at the front of the building right on the street, so there was noise. Some of this was very charming (e.g. the vendor selling corn gruel) but mostly not (like motorcycles). I'd recommend packing some earplugs.
Rooms further back are much quieter I'm sure. And I still give this place 5 stars!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    435
    56
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
70
178
88
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Urbana, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

Our first trip to San Miguel was so enhanced by our stay at La Casa de la Noche. It is really more than just a B&B. The staff and Barbara are so interested in making your stay a special one. Our suite on the third floor was spacious, clean with a real Mexican flare. It is well located in walking distance to excellent restaurants and activities in the Centro part of town. The clientele is interesting and friendly as are so many of the visitors to San Miguel. Barbara (owner/Innkeeper) has art shows and poetry readings on property. There is always something going on. She will arrange for almost anything you want or need, she knows the town and people so well. A different Mexican breakfast is served, always with an array of fresh fruit. We had such a wonderful time and look forward to a return trip for sure in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 555cel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriola Island, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

This charming historic B and B is within easy walking distance to the main square in the city. The rooms are very comfortable and attractive facing a lovely courtyard and having access to the gardens and living area in the hotel. A healthy tasty breakfast is served each morning. I would happily return to this peaceful place.

Room Tip: We had La PALOMA which had a fridge,hotplate, sink, and sitting area. The king bed can be separated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hmkay1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

The entire team at Casa de la Noche made us feel like both royalty and treasured family members! Casa de la Noche is tucked into a quiet street just short walk from the center of San Miguel de Allende. My husband has difficulty walking and found the distance not a problem.
The breakfast changed daily and offered an array of delights from fresh fruit and the best granola I've had to Mexican scrambled eggs, beans, tortillas and fresh salsa. Tables surround a lovely fountain and garden area where you can have solitude as well as friendly conversation with other quests. Barbara arranged for an amazing massage for us and the staff always knew just where to direct us for dinner recommendations. They even arranged for a private birding tour at El Charco de Ingenio. Lots of new species to add to the list. Perfect from start to finish!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HoosiersAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Casa de la Noche was reccomended by a friend, and everything we experienced during our stay verified the wonderful reccomendations we had received. Owner/Innkeeper Barbara Poole has put together a wonderful staff that truly enhances the exceptional authenticity of her facility. From the folks at the desk and thru out the facility to the marvelous cook who prepared our great breakfasts, every amenity was carefully taken care of.
Location of Casa de la Noche is perfect - about ten minutes walk from the Jardin the center of many activities and fine restaurants and bake shops.
San. Miguel is the center of rich early Mexican history and when you return to the charm of Casa de la Noche at night you feel as tho you have stepped into a time warp to that period of time also.
Believe me, you will not want to leave, and your stay, no matter how long, will not be long enough.
We are looking forward to returning again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cwayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

This hotel is on a calm street but is only a short walk from the always interesting and lively center. That is the ambiance of this exquisite little hotel. You can choose to be serene or there is the freedom to be busy with others you connect with over a delicious Mexican style breakfast. The décor is tasteful and artistic. The soft music in the sitting room makes one happy to be in Mexico. The linens are highest quality, king size bed was dreamy and towels were abundant, great water. Our room allowed sunrise and sunset to be a part of every day. The proprietor and her staff were helpful and very interesting. All problems were solved and I am thankful for the kindness as my luggage was lost for most of my stay. It did not affect my beautiful time in this beautiful place in the world.

Room Tip: I had such a great room that I don't want to tell about it. It was very much a part of the stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

Oh, please don't deny yourself the wonderful experience of luxuriating in the beauty, comfort, serenity, and graciousness of Casa de la Noche. You will be immersed in a gorgeous environment of Mexican art and hospitality and well being. You will be lovingly cared for. You will be a located just a few blocks away from the center of town, but sheltered in a sanctuary of quiet. You will have the fun of living in a former brothel, now come clean, presided over by the fabulous, fun, glamorous Barbara Poole who transformed Madame Turca's old house of prostitution into a comfortably elegant, beauitfully-detailed, top-notch B&B that you'll easily call home. You will want to stay here again. And again. And again. In fact, you won't want to leave.

Room Tip: I only saw our room (well, it was a three bedroom, three bath suite), but I doubt there's a bad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 360StanleyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.5 mi away
Hacienda El Santuario
Hacienda El Santuario
#3 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
#1 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
5.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.4 mi away
Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada
Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada
#4 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Morada Hotel
La Morada Hotel
#11 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hacienda de Las Flores
Hacienda de Las Flores
#29 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Matilda
Hotel Matilda
#13 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de la Noche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de la Noche

Property: Casa de la Noche
Address: Calle Organos 19 | Centro Historico, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 135 B&Bs / Inns in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa de la Noche 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de la Noche is an historically significant "Hotel Boutique", located 4 level blocks from the Jardin on a tranquil side street. Fourteen impeccably clean and beautifully decorated rooms & suites with kitchenettes are named for the "working girls" who used to live here. Each room has its own personality. Ample common areas feature fountains, patios, fine art, purified water throughout and TV, shared kitchen for light cooking, an art/project room, wireless Internet and in-floor heating in the common areas. We have just opened a new Event and Conference Center and are ready to host Destination Weddings, corporate conferences and family reunions, as well as workshops and retreats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelsClick so you can book your Casa de la Noche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing