We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hostess, great room, good value.”
Review of Casa de la Noche

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa de la Noche
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2010

I have been going to SMA for many years, have stayed in hotels, inns, rented a couple of houses for long stays. This place is my favorite of them all. Barbara is warm and welcoming, fun conversation, and a perfect hostess. She would make a bad place nice, but her rooms are just right. I would like to see her become a great success, although I know if the word gets out, I may have to make reservations months in advance.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew20850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (563)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

451 - 457 of 564 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2010

I stayed at Casa de la Noche for 4 nights, and loved the homey environment the owner, Barbara, has created. The house is well-appointed and decorated with local handicrafts, has a beautiful garden courtyard, with access from all the rooms, and provides a peaceful, cozy place to kick back when you're not out exploring the city. And, it's affordable! It's the kind of place you always wish to find in the mid-range price option, but hardly ever do. I prefer staying in guesthouses and B&Bs over hotels, and this is one of the best I've stayed. The included breakfast (always yummy) only adds to the feeling of home, being cared for, and makes a relaxing start to the day.

The only thing I would recommend is to consider booking a suite for a couple. The old bordello rooms are quite small, and my boyfriend and I found it difficult, at times, to sleep well on the double bed. It was also quite warm while we were there; if in the cooler months, it might be a different story.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cherynf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2010

I went to San Miguel for a week to studying at the Warren Hardy school. Casa de la Noche was an easy walking distance from the school and a walk or a hike from everywhere else in San Miguel. I stayed in Dolly's room - small but perfect for one person. It even had a gas fireplace, which heated up the room in minutes before bedtime. Barbara is a gracious host, and always had time to spend with guests. I also saw her other property - with larger accommodations - available for rent. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend any of Barbara's places. They are beautifully decorated, well-maintained and just far enough away from the center of town to offer an escape from the street life.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jardinpared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2010

We have gone to San Miguel de Allende for several weeks each winter for three years now. It's a great place to escape Chicago winters and one of the reasons we enjoy it so much is that we stay at Casa de la Noche. We've stayed in both the economical rooms and the suites which include small kitchens. In each case, accomodations were comfortable and charming. The layout of the building is such that you can choose between never seeing another guest or socializing with other visitors at the delicious breakfast and other gatherings. This year, the owner, Barbara Poole, acquired the building next door which added even more choice in accomodation and as well as a lovely garden and other public spaces. By the way, Barbara is one of the reasons that so many guests return. She has a natural gift for hospitality and goes out of her way to help her guests enjoy their stay in San Miguel. The rest of the staff is wonderful as well.

Colleen and Barry, Wilmette IL

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleen15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2010

My husband and I recently stayed at Casa De La Noche and thoroughly enjoyed it. The property was beautifully decorated, elegant and surprisingly peaceful for such a bustling town. The location is just 'off the beaten track' and an easy, few minute walk to the Jardin, shops and restaurants. The daily breakfast, served communally, was delicious with something different each day. The owner, Barbara was an absolute delight-full of useful information and lots of fun to chat with. We would both love to come stay again, and wholeheartedly recommend Casa De La Noche as a clean, comfortable and friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amilise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2010

Casa de la Noche is a small guesthouse (B&B), a 15-minute walk from the Jardín and all major San Miguel attractions. The house is beautifully built in the traditional local style, beautifully maintained and furnished. The owner, Barbara Poole, is a long-time San Miguel resident; she is a major reason to stay here. She is friendly, accommodating, and knows a lot about San Miguel. She has at least one other rental property in San Miguel that is also an excellent place to stay. She attracts repeat, long-term visitors as well as one-time visitors. Her houses seem to have a sense of community and friendship unusual for tourist lodging. I highly recommend Casa de la Noche or any other of Barbara's properties.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmsNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2010

Barbara is a wonderful hostess who will go the extra 100 miles if needed to make your stay comfy. I stayed for a week and would have happily stayed longer. The rooms are lovely with thoughtful touches like the electric blankets and heaters. Each room is decorated tastefully and the common areas are set up to make you feel like you're staying in a friends home complete with the use of refrigerator, coffee machine (always ready to go at the push of a button), tv with current dvd's for those nights when you just want to just chill out and relax. A wonderful breakfast is served daily with care from Jovita and Barbara and there's always interesting guests to chat with at the table. The location can't be beat, just a few minutes walk to the center and artisean markets. This B&B is a lovely little gem in San Miguel de Allende.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vphb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.5 mi away
Hacienda El Santuario
Hacienda El Santuario
#4 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
281 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Rosada Hotel
Casa Rosada Hotel
#5 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
209 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
#2 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villa Mirasol Hotel
Villa Mirasol Hotel
#8 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
295 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Primavera
Hotel Casa Primavera
#19 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
178 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hacienda de Las Flores
Hacienda de Las Flores
#31 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de la Noche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de la Noche

Address: Calle Organos 19 | Centro Historico, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range: £77 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa de la Noche 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de la Noche is an historically significant "Hotel Boutique", located 4 level blocks from the Jardin on a tranquil side street. Fourteen impeccably clean and beautifully decorated rooms & suites with kitchenettes are named for the "working girls" who used to live here. Each room has its own personality. Ample common areas feature fountains, patios, fine art, purified water throughout and TV, shared kitchen for light cooking, an art/project room, wireless Internet and in-floor heating in the common areas. We have just opened a new Event and Conference Center and are ready to host Destination Weddings, corporate conferences and family reunions, as well as workshops and retreats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Casa de la Noche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing