We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hacienda El Santuario
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Really no major issues here. Yes the hot water was not too good, but that was not a big deal to us. Very peaceful, great staff and room was fine and spacious, ceiling fan worked fine with no need of AC. Breakfast was a very basic continental, the coffee and fruit was good, the bread so-so and we skipped that after the 1st day. We are not big breakfast eaters anyway. Staff were all extremely pleasant and helpful, got us a transfer to Guanajuato for only 200 pesos more than a bus.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gdesmond61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

144 - 150 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

Authentic experience in this quaint Mexican town with attentive service. Terrific location, comfortable bed, and simple amenities. Breakfast was outstanding, from coffee to made to order menu items from a darling kitchen served by the hotel's gem, Abraham. Room safe did not function, though not especially necessary, and no alarm clock. Second floor room provided plenty of space, but wished for tile floor as found in first floor rooms, rather than carpet.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the courtyard have garden views and private sitting areas. The upgrade will greatly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SGuthrie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed on a suite, the room was good, there waa not air condition but It feels fresh.
The hotel dosen't have a parking lot but there is one two blocks from there and its 120 mexican pesos per night.
they offer free continental breakfast, ( bread, fruit, tea, coffee) I recommend to go outside the hotel there are many nice places to have breakfast around.
They have an incredible rooftop garden with many herbs and vegetables, they can give you the tour if you ask.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Syympa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Our first time visiting San Miguel, and it was hard to know how to choose a place, but after reading reviews, considering location and the boutique nature, we selected Hacienda El Santuario Centro-- we got SO LUCKY!! First, the attentiveness of the staff is only matched by being on a cruise. They are consistently looking for ways to make the stay enjoyable (providing maps and directions, suggestions for things to do, and offering water/drinks.) Abraham was particularly amazing serving breakfast, and he communicates well. Part of the fun of the experience is that the staff speaks limited English, but enough to communicate effectively-- it added to the ambience of visiting Mexico. We visited with a traveler who has been all over the world and to San Miguel multiple times, staying at different hotels each time, and this was her favorite hotel in San Miguel. Regarding cold showers mentioned by others, as much as I hate wasting water, if you let the water run a few mins it eventually warms up (our friends didn't experience this issue, it depends on where your room is located.) Our room was clean, comfortable and located in a perfect quite yet convenient place. Loved it.

Room Tip: rooms offer different things...room at top on left as you enter has more water pressure and faster h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rhea Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We reached San Miguel after al long and difficult drive with bad travel instructions. Our reception was friendly and helpful although we each struggled with the SpanishEnglish communications. Rooms were fine and location excellent. We were provided with an extra fan and a room heater which we did not need. Celling fan helped as the rooms had no cross ventilation. They had a lovely breakfast and great homemade bread. Posted recommendations for dinning and activities for the day. Not luxurious but comfortable. They were very helpful in moving 2 of us to a first floor location when altitude made going upstairs uncomfortable. Clean and quiet.

Room Tip: stay downstairs if altitude or stairs present a problem. Even on the courtyard it is quiet and delig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SLRPV2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We booked a room for 3 people. The reservations lady said "I never told her that" which I did. So the moment we arrived we found out that we had a very big room and we had to pay extra for the third person.
Supposedly it is a "pet friendly" hotel, your pet is also admitted at an extra cost!
The room was FREEZING!!! I am not exaggerating it was so cold that one day we had to leave our little puppy in the room for a couple of hours while we went on a tour, we left him with his pajama on and by the time we came back he was shivering (even though we left him the heater on)
Also, at night we took our doggy for a walk and the person at the reception did not even bother to tell us it was a bit risky to go to the park (2blocks from the hotel) once we were at the park the night watcher told us it was not really safe for us to be there.
The rooms are ok. Definitely not worth spending that much money on it.
Also, in the morning there was not hot water so the room was freakin' cold + not hot water? I called reception twice they said they were working on it. IT NEVER WORKED! So one day we had to shower with cold water and the next day we left without showering!!! How lovely, no?
San Miguel it is a beautiful town, but def not worth that money for accommodation. We went there coz my bf is European (we are locals) so we could show him our beautiful Mexico. But, it was rather disappointing!
We found pretty amazing restaurants at super accesible prices... that was beyond amazing! If you are in town dont forget to visit Sierra Nevada restaurant and a Restaurant with food from Yucatan that it is just around this corner from this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a bunch of extra blankets and heaters!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Wanderluster5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

This place was so good. We even thought about staying one extra day due to the hotel (and the town). Bed was comfy, linens/towels super. So quiet. Great furnishings, great to have a siesta after walking the streets all day, a nap before dinner. Good recommendations from the staff. Breakfast was good to get you going for the day, and LOVED their coffee. Ask for Abraham for his suggestions on what to do, where to eat, and where to have hot chocolate at night. They take pets, we appreciate this as we always travel with ours. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Any, was so quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KenandDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa Rosada Hotel
Casa Rosada Hotel
#5 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
212 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
#2 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
178 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Casa Primavera
Hotel Casa Primavera
#20 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nena
Hotel Nena
#3 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada
Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada
#6 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
620 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Matilda
Hotel Matilda
#16 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda El Santuario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda El Santuario

Address: Calle Terraplen 42, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range: £86 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hacienda El Santuario 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming hotel is distinguished by its architecture as seen in family homes of the past that characterize San Miguel de Allende. Located in the city center, Hacienda El Santuario maintains its original Mexican style, with a central patio, 33 rooms, terrace and multi-purpose room, among many other things. NO PETS ARE RECEIVED. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hacienda El Santuario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda El Santuario Centro Hotel San Miguel De Allende

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing