We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lives up to their claims”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Antigua Capilla Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We've all been to places that don't measure up to the pictures seen on line. Antigua Capilla is not that place; the pictures, as impressive as they are, don't do the place justice. Although built only five years ago, the entire property has the charm and feel of the old chapel that was originally on the property and is still in the center of the court yard. The rooms are gorgeous with beautiful architectural detail and excellent amenities such as free phone service to the States and Canada. There's a balcony and a roof top patio with stunning views over all of San Miguel and the sun sets. The breakfasts each day are something to look forward to. The service and cleanliness were impeccable.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (379)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 379 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2014

Antigua Capella cannot be outdone by any other B&B in San Miguel. We had really comfortable beds and pillows, lovely tile accents in the bathroom and art from Oaxaca around the room. (We had the Oaxaca room.) We, of course, loved the stone wall and candles in the shower!
Francisco was our host and was fantastic, helping us with all our needs.
The breakfast is fantastic. We dined in a large, beautiful dining room, open to the garden and open to the living room, all decorated with Mexican art, tile, pottery, sculpture! Just a feast for the senses!!
The WiFi reception was excellent.
As others have said the patio/garden/inner courtyard is totally beautiful. The Capella is very interesting.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnandKathyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

In our decades of worldwide travels, we have never written a review. Antigua Capilla was so remarkable, charming, and pleasurable in every way that we are motivated to write about it.

The B and B is jaw-droppingly gorgeous with incredible architectural details. The spotlessly clean rooms include a fireplace, Apple TV, and free phone calls to the US. The shower was one of the best we've ever experienced. There are many tastefully designed public areas as well as nooks and crannies to explore.

The food, all fresh and homemade, was delicious.

Antoineta and Francisco, the hosts and owners, went out of their way to be kind, generous, and helpful in every way. They are both genuine, knowledgeable and lovely people.

We felt so warmly embraced here, among such open hearts and artistic beauty. This will be our home whenever we return to San Miguel.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Fred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Breakfasts that will satisfy any "foodie". Fantastic craft beer Dos Aves that you definitely have to try.

Antonieta and Francisco were gracious hosts and very knowledgable with their recommendations. The rooftop patio provided panoramic views of the city that we enjoyed morning and evening. The rooms are impeccably decorated with artisans' art and craft.





Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Cynthia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Three couples visiting beautiful San Miguel de Allende for a 3 day mini vacation were greeted with such warmth and hospitality from the lovely owner Antonianeta that we never wanted to leave! Exquisite rooms, amazing breakfasts, gorgeous rooftop patio with stunning views,and tours arranged by our hosts---it couldn't have been any better!We are already planning on returning next year.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed about ten days this Christmas at the Antigua Capilla Bed and Breakfast and were delighted. This B and B offers the best of old and new: the residence is built around an old chapel and looks like a lovely old Mexican courtyard -style hacienda or parador. However, the building is actually new and so has all the modern comforts of an in-house water filtration system and modern plumbing. The atmosphere is very aesthetic in every detail. The owners, Francisco and Maria Antonieta have decorated with a wide variety of gorgeous folk art items from their collection. Each room has a unique theme. The beds are comfortable and have down comforters and fine mattresses and pillows . Breakfasts were generous and featured eggs a la mexicana, home made bread, jams and granola. Everything was spic and span. The place is pristine in every detail.
The roof top terrace, with comfy seating and lovely plants, is a wonderful place to kick back and read or enjoy a glass of wine while enjoying a territorial view and the masses of hummingbirds flitting about in the bougainvillea.
Francisco, our host, couldn't have been nicer in arranging day trips, suggesting places to eat and to shop. He is fun and patient in answering questions and solving all the numerous little problems and questions that inevitably come up in foreign travel.
In short, this is a great place to stay. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my trip to San Miguel and especially liked staying at Antiqua Capilla bed and breakfast. The room was very comfortable and the breakfast provided by the host, Antonieta was especially great. The experience was like being home only away from home. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darth2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.6 mi away
Hacienda El Santuario
Hacienda El Santuario
#3 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
301 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mansion San Miguel
Mansion San Miguel
#8 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
81 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
#2 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Matilda
Hotel Matilda
#12 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
361 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Nena
Hotel Nena
#4 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
243 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Mirasol Hotel
Villa Mirasol Hotel
#10 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antigua Capilla Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antigua Capilla Bed and Breakfast

Address: Callejon de Chepito 16 Int 1, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range: £163 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Antigua Capilla Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antigua Capilla Bed and Breakfast in San Miguel de Allende offers you world class hospitality, comfort and elegance. Offering fantastic city center outdoor terrace views, our conveniently located B&B is a short downhill walk to the historic town square. Antigua Capilla B&B offers delicious breakfasts and uniquely furnished rooms decorated with Mexican art and handicrafts which feature: Fireplace, Private bathroom, King bed, Flat screen cable TV, Radio with iPod docking station, Wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Antigua Capilla Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing