We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and convenient B&B”
Review of Casa Frida B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Frida B&B
Reviewed 21 February 2012

This is one of the best B&Bs i have stayed in recent times, a very quiet place. Awesome house and the rooms are wonderful
The staff nice and friendly.
Breakfast is OK - OJ, coffee/tea and croissants + Fruits. Good to eat for a few days
Location is nice - a bit far from the core of the town, walkable or just a 30peso ride, but the views from the terrace are spectacular.
The rooms are wonderful, huge and comfortable

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThiaTravelvast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2012

This is an affordable and convenient place to stay however the innkeepers-owners are not on site so do not depend on assistance from them on things to see and do. Also,
you need to be in great shape to walk the hill from Centro each day. We stayed in the Matisse room and nearly froze to death as the temperatures dropped and there was NO HEAT in the room or in the dining room. Also, the breakfast is "continental" which is great but it's the same exact breakfast each and every day. I will say the coffee was delicious and the view from the terraza is spectacular.

Room Tip: The Matisse room was large with lots of windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hikergirl500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Casa Frida is an architectural gem--designed by congenial co-owner, Francois. (We missed meeting his wife, Anabella). Our Monet room, with tiled bathroom was perfect--a very comfortable place to crash after a day seeing San Miguel de Allende. Well, actually, I liked to first head up to the upper terraza for a comfy lounge chair to watch the sun set and fall asleep while viewing the panorama of this great Mexican town. What a knowledgeable and service-oriented staff! Luis is invaluable for helping you get around town or to the airport. Julieta makes a great breakfast--especially the fresh tropical fruit dish and great coffee. We liked being up and out of the downtown noise, even though that meant a hike downhill to most sites. But then, that's what you should do is walk through San Miguel de A. so you don't miss a thing! No big deal getting a cheap taxi ride back up to the B&B, which was always like returning to a garden home.. Absolutely unique!

Room Tip: The Monet room is up the stairs closest to the front door, but we never heard a peep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JerryS2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Casa Frida is an excellent choice to stay and enjoy San Miguel. The place is really nice, comfortable, clean, just lovely; with an amazing view of this wonderful city. Also the staff is always able to help you, they're the best. And the breakfast is delicious, very healthy and complete!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 150800Ana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2011

Excellent place to enjoy San Miguel. Nice, quiet, clean and comfortable rooms makes you feel like you are in home.
Staff is excellent Luis, Vane & Don Honorio will be always able to help you, very nice and friendly!!!
Good breakfast.
You need to be in a good shape if you walk downtown.

We loved it!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Niugui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2011

We had the privilege of staying at Casa Frida last spring. They truly made our vacation the best. Staff were friendly and helpful, our room - and the entire inn - was spotless and comfortable. Really beautiful. A short walk (took a bit of energy as there were steep hills) to downtown. If you don't feel like walking it's a 4 or 5 minute cab ride. Honestly, when we go back to San Miguel we will definitely stay at Casa Frida again. And, I will tell everyone who asks (or doesn't) to stay there as well. Really a perfect setting. A+

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraK1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2011

Calm and clean place ,comfortable rooms and nice interiors, about 10 min from downtown(walking) , cheap rates per night, thanks to Luis and Honorio !!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mramiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.5 mi away
Rosewood San Miguel de Allende
Rosewood San Miguel de Allende
#1 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
1,061 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hacienda El Santuario
Hacienda El Santuario
#3 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
296 reviews
6.9 mi away
Nirvana Restaurant Retreat
Nirvana Restaurant Retreat
#1 of 1 in El Santuario
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Imperio de Angeles
Imperio de Angeles
#32 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
226 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostel Alcatraz
Hostel Alcatraz
#12 of 91 in San Miguel de Allende
27 reviews
0.9 mi away
Real de Minas San Miguel de Allende
Real de Minas San Miguel de Alle...
#11 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Frida B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Frida B&B

Address: Callejon de Loreto 24, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range: £48 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Frida B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the beautiful city of San Miguel de Allende, Casa Frida B&B welcomes you. The colonial-style mansion with a touch of "Art Nouveau" has 1 suite and 4 rooms. At Casa Frida B&B you'll find a pleasant and laid back ambiance that invites imagination and fantasy; moments with Frida Kalho and the European masters Klimt, Matisse, Mucha, Toulouse-Lautrec and Van Gogh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Booking.com so you can book your Casa Frida B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing