We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Benchmark in San Miguel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rosewood San Miguel de Allende

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rosewood San Miguel de Allende
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“New Benchmark in San Miguel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

First off, let me clarify why I rated The Rosewood San Miguel as "Very Good", instead of "Excellent". I believe the hotel is second to none in San Miguel in terms of facilites, service and style, but I feel it's a bit out of the San Miguel price range (which is way under The Rosewood's Printed Fee). So, as far as value goes, you can get better value in San Miguel, but not a better hotel.

Most reviews already mention the amazing rooms and facilites, so I'll write about something different topics:

Food & Beverages: I wouldn't suggest to have all your meals at The Rosewood, but if you do, I think you would not be disappointed. Personally, I rather stay for breakfast and then go out and try something else for lunch and dinner. The Rosewood's breakfast will get anyone out of bed. Afterwards, it's great to go out and try different places for lunch and dinner.

Events: I've attended 3 large events at the Rosewood (2 Weedings and 1 Corporate Retreat), and they were all a success. I believe discounted rate are available for large groups and the hotel can set up your group with they're own meals and activities. Which is great way to manage costs if you or your company are footing the bill. Standards are kept high, no mater the group size and the staff is courteous and accommodating to everyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlonsoFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosewoodSanMiguel, Director General at Rosewood San Miguel de Allende, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear Mr. AlonsoFB,

Before anything else, let me thank you for you honest, avery useful, opinion of us.

Being considered by you as the new benchmark is an honor beacuse the city in fact has several firts class hotels and restaurants, so thank you!

Your kind words regarding the Food & Beverages and the events and catering just make us want to continue improving our service.

We really hope to see you soon again,

Alfredo Rentería

Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    664
    105
    39
    14
    7
See reviews for
203
321
21
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
76 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

This was our first experience at a Rosewood hotel and we now get it. It's expensive but well worth it. We had an oversized room on the third floor, with a patio, a seating area, a king bed, a large desk and very nice bathroom with two sinks, ample counter space, big tub and separate shower, and a toilet in a separate room. The grounds are beautifully landscaped, and have walkways for easy strolling; the grounds cover about 18 acres in all. We ate and drank in all the possible places, including spending two late afternoons watching the sunset from the rooftop bar.
Every employee we encountered was eager to please, especially the wine steward Elias Chavez and concierge Ana Gabriela Saad.We wish we could remember more names of individual servers because most of them were great.
Our rate included transport by SUV from the Leon/Guanajuato airport, and then back to Guanajuato, which worked very well and is a good, safe way to travel in Mexico. The drivers were friendly and competent. If there is a downside to the Rosewood it's that you don't want to leave the grounds to explore one of the most popular visitor destinations in Mexico. .

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldtraveler47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosewoodSanMiguel, Director General at Rosewood San Miguel de Allende, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear oldtravel,

Thank you very much for spending some time in order to give us this opinion.

We are trully happy to know that you had a good time around this beautiful hotel and this gorgeus city. I will make sure to let everyone know about your expirience, specially to Elías and Ana Gaby!

We look forward to see you soon again.

Kind regards,

Alfredo Rentería,

Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamstown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
84 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Seldom do I write a review before departure, but there is so much to compliment here and the risk of a future disappointment so slight, that I don’t want my enthusiasm to be diminished over time.

The physical facilities here are gorgeous and tasteful in every way. The common areas and passageways are thoughtfully decorated to match a traditional colonial era Mexican style updated with contemporary art and sculpture that fits in perfectly. The openings from the subdued colors of the walkways onto the well-maintained gardens and their burst of color are a visual delight.

We booked a king colonial room, which was exactly what we needed as we did expect to spend some time there to keep up on work and also just to relax. It is perfect for both. This hotel is one of several now recognizing that a work surface should be designed for two people, not one. There is a work area with a spacious desk and two chairs, a sitting area with a couch, chair, and coffee table in front of a gas fireplace, and the bed is spacious and extremely comfortable. The bathroom is huge and tastefully decorated as well. We have a large balcony with a beautiful view. We were disappointed when we arrived and found that there was a nice table and chairs on the balcony, but no alcove seat or chaise, as we had been led to expect that when we reserved, and my wife likes to sit outdoors to read. Within minutes, one was brought to the room and set up for us. Great service.

We booked the hotel’s private car airport pick-up service, and I recommend it. The cost was reasonable, the car clean and comfortable. It is a fairly long ride from the airport. We were provided with bottled water, a neck pillow, a print-out of the weekly newsletter from the hotel, and offered music from an MP3 player specifically mixed for guests. This is the kind of “small stuff” that makes a difference. Our driver Juan was terrific and provided us with some history and highlights as we drove into town.

Without exception, every person on the property has been helpful and friendly, and there is clearly a culture of making the guests feel welcome and appreciated. Check-in was easy and pleasant. We were provided with a tour of the property and an explanation of the features of the room. There was a complimentary pair of Coronas in an ice bucket waiting for us. When we returned in the evening, the ice in the bucket had been refilled. More ‘small stuff’ that gets noticed. We received helpful (and patient!) advice from Abigail at the concierge desk – some of which was by email before we arrived and from others in the reception area. When she was busy with other guests, other staff offered to help us. No one ever says, “that’s not my job.” And that’s a big deal in the service business.

We had tapas the first night on the rooftop terrace. The view is spectacular, and the food was very good. The staff is friendly and, again, makes you feel like they’re happy you’re there.

Oh, and the location. It’s perfect in terms of views and in terms of an easy walk to the town center and the sites beyond. And very quiet.

This place immediately “feels like home” (actually, better than home!) for our few days in SMA.

We have had the good fortune to stay in some excellent properties around this world, many more expensive than this. Rosewood San Miguel is clearly in the top tier.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hamilton6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosewoodSanMiguel, Director General at Rosewood San Miguel de Allende, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear Hamilton6,

I have read your opinion and you have reminded me why I am in this business: To make people happy!

Thank you very much for your kind words and for letting us know your expirience. Personally, I agree with you, the staff that works in this hotel is, undoubtedly, the most friendly and professional staff i have ever worked with. If you add the city as the canvas, the hotel as the place and the food and beverage as the paint we think we did a good job.

We really look forward to having you again really soon.

Kind regards,

Alfredo Rentería

Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
millburn
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

the hotel was superb- great lobby outstanding breakfasts/brunches magnificent room with view of La parrochia. beautiful balcony overlooking san miguel. the staff was wonderful and suite/ food terriffic. pool was beautiful and fitness/ spas wer outstanding.

Room Tip: la parrochia room/suite was great with fantastic views and deluxe quality. only small proble the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bak43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

We didn't stay here but did go up to the roof for a cocktail around sunset. It was a stunning view and very nice but be prepared to pay through the nose for your drink and any appetizers. We just had a drink and then ate some delicious tacos from a street food stall.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pintofish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosewoodSanMiguel, Gerente at Rosewood San Miguel de Allende, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Pintofish,

Before anything else is said, allow me to thank for taking some minutes to tell us how you experience went.

We are very happy you enjoyed the view from the terrace. I personally think that is one of the most beautifuls rooftop terrace restaurants in the world. Regarding the prices, we are happy to say that we have some competitive prices with other restaurants in the city and we will certainly keep doing this. We are commited with the quality on every product we offer to our guests and visitors.

Kind regards,

Alfredo Rentería

Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stunning place. From the Luna roof top bar you get the best view of town. The service is excellent, Margaritas generous and they have a delisiously authentic tapas menu: try the octopus/bravas. Plenty of heat lamps and blankets for the winter evenings.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank JENSEN007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shanghai, SF
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

It is stunning. The property is built new but in classic Hacienda style - beautiful gardens, the restaurants have innovative cuisine with fresh local ingredients - we enjoyed New Year's day brunch with fresh hand-crafted taco stations. The service is excellent. The room is nicely furnished with its own terrace and fire place. Friendly staff and perfect location in a quiet area but minutes walk to town square.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelady88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.3 mi away
Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada
Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada
#4 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
#2 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
5.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hacienda El Santuario
Hacienda El Santuario
#3 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Matilda
Hotel Matilda
#13 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.4 mi away
Real de Minas San Miguel de Allende
Real de Minas San Miguel de Alle...
#12 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
3.5 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Nena
Hotel Nena
#5 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosewood San Miguel de Allende? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood San Miguel de Allende

Property: Rosewood San Miguel de Allende
Address: Calle Nemesio Diez 11, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
#2 Business Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
#4 Family Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rosewood San Miguel de Allende 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Rosewood San Miguel de Allende reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosewood San Miguel De Allende Hotel San Miguel De Allende

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing