We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go hungry”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rosewood San Miguel de Allende
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 March 2014

While we didn't stay at this lovely hotel, we decided to go for breakfast. The setting is gorgeous. I'm told the view from the roof is exceptional. But the food was nothing exceptional. Half a mini tomato with one piece of asparagus for garnish, we had a few Benedict-type dishes which were cooked properly but for $20US they should know how to properly make a hollandaise. My omelet was good but served with plain bread and instead of bread and butter I got two very spicy sauces. Not the best.

Stayed: March 2014
2  Thank Tmprinting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosewoodSanMiguel, Director General at Rosewood San Miguel de Allende, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear Mr. Tmprinting,
Thank you very much for letting us know how your breakfast experience went! Undoubtedly, these kinds of opinions are the ones that help us get better.

We are constantly giving training to all our staff, including our cooks and chefs. I will personally see that these dishes are included in our training and the next time you join us for breakfast, the dishes will be just as you expect them to be. All our team will always be at your service, in case you don’t like something or that you prefer other type of ingredients on your dish, let me assure you that it will be done immediately.

Hope to see you soon

Kind regards,

Alfredo Rentería

Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,020)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

429 - 435 of 1,020 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2014

Incredible - we hesitated at the higher price but you definitely get what you pay for. this hotel is amazing. the architecture makes you feel like you have gone back in time but the abundant ammonites remind you that you have everything you need. Service is over the top and is not typical of other hotels in Mexico. Standard rooms would be considered top-end anywhere else. Grounds are immaculate and HUGE! We chose this hotel because it was pet friendly and our two little dogs would still be there if we would let them.

If you want to treat yourself (and your pets) try this hotel. Amazing place.

Room Tip: Alllll good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank keith k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

The Hotel is a new construction , but very successfully copying spanish type colonial style. Extensive grounds with wonderful pool area. Our room was characterized by much Wood- floors, ceiling in part, doors. It was really big and very comfortable. Same is true for bed and linen. It has a Sofa and a desk. The bathroom has only one sink, but separate shower, toilet and tube.
Overall the room provides a very cozy feeling. Breakfast was very good. As coffee was a bit weak, we asked for Cappucino, that had an extra Charge. The y have a very talented Chef, Victor Palma, who gives mexican cooking classes and is quite charismatic.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tucano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

The Rosewood Hotel in San Miguel de Allende is a wonderful vacation home, with beautiful rooms overlooking charming patios, a well-appointed spa, excellent restaurants, and most of all: the most friendly and helpful staff I've ever encountered.
An example of the highest service: we arrived at 8 am after a private ride from the Leon airport. Waiting for us--the best coffee with fresh cream and cookies. But since rooms are available at 3 pm, the concierge escorted us to a private residence associated with the hotel which served us as a hospitality suite until we could check into our room. There we enjoyed a fresh linens for a nap, a balcony for some sunshine. Another example: a recommendation to sign up for the Sazon Cooking School, with a call to them when our schedule delayed us and a taxi waiting to whisk us there in record time. And another: excellent massages in the spa, followed by time in the sauna. And finally, a tap on our door to suggest we fully close the door for our security.
We loved the Rosewood so much, we ate every dinner in the striking Luna Rooftop Tapas Bar, and every breakfast in the ground floor (and beautifully decorated) 1826 Restaurant.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MontfordMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Well worth touring. Lovely architecture and decorating. Great rooms. Truly a masterpiece of architecture and design. But it is expensive. Staff were pretty good but concierge staff had problems keeping promises, such as, " we will bring you ice", or "we will bring you an English map", or "we will check and let you know". However, the BIG annoyance: A 10% Service Charge tacked on to a $400 a night room. I will say no more about it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbl1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

The rooms are beautiful, but the air conditioning never worked. I called the concierge several times and they could not do anything about it. I reserved a car to take me around and it took more than 40 minutes to arrive!!!
The food in the restaurant is great!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank MLL72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosewoodSanMiguel, Director General at Rosewood San Miguel de Allende, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear Ms. MLL72,

Before anything else is said, allow me to thank for taking some minutes out of your agenda to let us know how your stay went.

I am very sorry because of the mistakes we made with you during your stay. This is definitely not the service we are known for. I am positive that if you give us another chance we will meet the expectations that a hotel like Rosewood generates.

Hope to see you soon

Kind regards,

Alfredo Rentería

Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Knowing the reputation of Rosewood, we decided to stay here and it was fantastic.

Upon landing in Leon, we were greeted by our driver, Luis who happened to have been born in SMA which gave us a nice live preview of what was to come. We arrived at the hotel to be greeted by staff, our room was ready and unexpectedly spacious which was a plus.

The hotel is located in easy walking distance from everything, be prepared to walk. When all the guides say SMA is a walking city, it really is.

We ate at the restaurant as well as the rooftop bar (Luna), being a chef, I appreciated all the fresh ingredients used. We much more preferred the food up at Luna over the restaurant as we were looking for more local food and the restaurant was more Euro. The view from Luna, second to none especially at night.

We had room service one day for lunch and as everything, timely and effortless.

Pool area was fantastic and never overly crowded and lobby was even a great place in the mornings for a cup of coffee mapping out the day.

Im not one for using the concierge service much when I visit different cites but I did this time around and it was so efficient. All the concierges especially Abigail, were amazing and very professional.

What people need to realize that especially if you're coming from a major city, SMA and Mexico in general is much more relaxed so you need to SLOW DOWN. Servers will never come to you with a check unless you ask for it as they respect your time and space.

One thing I would recommend is that they should consider coffee makers in the rooms as there were a few mornings we woke early and had to go down to the lobby for coffee.

Room Tip: Any room would be a good choice as you really don't spend too much time inside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Takashi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosewoodSanMiguel, Director General at Rosewood San Miguel de Allende, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Takashi O,

Before anything else is said, allow me to thank for taking some minutes out of your agenda to let us know how your experience at Rosewood went.

I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will definitely recognize Luis and Abigail for leaving a good impression on you.

Hopefully, we will be able to have once again and don’t worry, for that stay we will definitely have the coffee makers on the rooms.

Kind regards,
Alfredo Rentería
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.4 mi away
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
#2 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
177 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hacienda El Santuario
Hacienda El Santuario
#4 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
281 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada
Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada
#6 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Matilda
Hotel Matilda
#16 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
350 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nena
Hotel Nena
#3 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
221 reviews
0.4 mi away
Real de Minas San Miguel de Allende
Real de Minas San Miguel de Alle...
#12 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosewood San Miguel de Allende? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood San Miguel de Allende

Address: Calle Nemesio Diez 11, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
#1 Spa Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
#2 Business Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
#4 Family Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range: £237 - £757 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rosewood San Miguel de Allende 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Rosewood San Miguel de Allende reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosewood San Miguel De Allende Hotel San Miguel De Allende

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing