We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,196)
Filter reviews
1,196 results
Traveller rating
946
150
53
27
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
946
150
53
27
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop bar tapas luna rooftop beautiful hotel colonial room san miguel sunday brunch is main restaurant separate shower hotel guests la luna pool area is beautiful architecture watch the sunset rooms are spacious guacamole colonial town
Filter
Updating list...
270 - 275 of 1,196 reviews
Reviewed 14 December 2016

We expected it to be amazing, and it lived up to expectations. The hotel, the grounds and the art are amazing. The room was beautiful and luxurious. I had a big hot bath everyday. The staff were helpful and responded quickly and positively to all our enquiries and requests. Breakfasts were good, and the rooftop bar amazing. The “centro” is a short walk along picturesque streets. The cobbles are gnarly, suitable footwear is recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PipperDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RWSMA, General Manager at Rosewood San Miguel de Allende, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2016

Dear PipperDog,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay with us. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your time and we could reach your expectations. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you again in the near future.

Alfredo Renteria, Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2016 via mobile

This is my second visit to Rosewood in San Miguel. In my opinion, this is in the top 3 most beautiful hotels in Mexico. There are great haciendas/hotels in Merida and Southern Mexico but this location is the perfect blend between authenticity, chicness and outstanding service.

Great job!

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RWSMA, General Manager at Rosewood San Miguel de Allende, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2016

Dear David B,

We are very happy to read your review and delighted to see that we were able to leave a positive and lasting impression of your second stay. Hopefully it will not be the last one and we will be able to pamper you many more times in the future.

Alfredo Renteria, Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2016

The Rosewood San Miguel is a beautiful and very special hotel. The property is exceptional, and the professional and personal management delivers impeccable service. Our encounters with hotel staff at all levels was warm and ingratiating. They are a great team and eager to please.They represent Mexico and this hotel chain with pride and appreciation. We found the staff eager to meet the needs of its guests, and they do so with a smile and a sense of gratitude.

Our room -- a deluxe colonial King suite -- was spacious, quiet and, to our surprise, had a lovely view of the gardens and back of the hotel. The bedding and linens were among the most comfortable that we have ever slept in! Housekeeping was meticulous, and they accommodated our schedule of late morning and evening turn-down service. And the evening service always offered an unexpected surprise -- one evening we returned to a chocolate fondue!

We had daily breakfast at the hotel restaurant (1826), and two dinners. The food and service were great at each of these meals, as well as at our two visits to the rooftop Luna bar. The chef at 1826 came to our table the first evening to make certain that the dish preparation would fit our dietary restrictions. And this resulted in a magnificent meal. Our waiter for breakfast was exceptional --Daniel -- and we want to offer him a special thank you for taking such wonderful care of us. And a special thank you also to the charming and helpful Alexjandra. She was the first person we met upon checking in and between her personal guided tour of the property, excellent activity suggestions and engagine conversation, we felt welcome and appreciated for spending our holiday at the Rosewood.

The hotel facilities are outstanding, especially the gym. It is equipped with just about any equipment you could possibly want, and the facility is kept immaculately clean. The hotel, also, is a visual splendor with sculpture and artwork in every possible corner. Even during the four days of our stay, the artwork rotated, and there was some new sculpture to greet you in the corridors. It is a true pleasure to spend time here, so much so that you need to force yourself to get out and see this beautiful city.

I have only one disappointment. The Rosewood driver who took us from the hotel to the airport was not attentive to our requests to drive more slowly. We told him from the start of our trip that we were nervous in cars and would want him to drive slowly. We left extra time to get to the airport knowing our comfort level. Our young driver assured us that we had no need to worry, but enroute, even after our telling him 4 times that we needed to go more slowly and that he needed to be patient when stuck behind a slow moving vehicle, he continued to pass cars on winding one lane roads without adequate visibility. This is extremely disrespectful. While we are happy and relieved to say that we arrived at the airport safely, it was an extremely unpleasant and unnecessarily stressful trip. Certainly not the sweet end to what otherwise was a marvelous short holiday at the gorgeous Rosewood. And need I mention that this unpleasant ride cost twice that of the San Miguel car service we used for the drive from the airport to the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Pippiduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RWSMA, General Manager at Rosewood San Miguel de Allende, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2016

Dear Mr Pippiduck,

Thank you very much for taking the time to place a comment on trip advisor.

We are delighted to see that we were able to leave a positive and lasting impression on you during your stay with us. Our goal is to provide you with exceptional service and to ensure that each and every one of your stays with us is a most pleasant and memorable one.

We hope to welcome you back to Rosewood San Miguel de Allende in the not too distant future. In the meantime, if I may be of the slightest assistance to you in any way, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

We also are taking very serious your comment in regards the driver and rest assure that this situation is already correct it.

Kindest regards,

Alfredo Rentería
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2016

Great value. Excellent service and great interaction and friendly staff. English speaking staff. Clean facility. Must be back again and again but next time for pleasure. Keep up the great job done and good luck.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Rosewood Hotels & Resorts
Thank 518abdelfattahf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RWSMA, General Manager at Rosewood San Miguel de Allende, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2016

Dear 518abdelfattahf,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your time here and the service that we provided. Hopefully we can welcome you again in the near future for vacations and we will make sure to pamper you!

Alfredo Renteria, Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2016

So luxury boutique hotels are always hard to review. They're typically more upscale - nicer fittings and furniture, superior construction, better vistas, higher levels of service, etc. For that they charge what the market will stand.

The Rosewood restaurant offers lovely fittings and furniture. The service was about average for San Miguel restaurants - maybe not even that good. The waiter spilt my wife's drink on her and, though he apologized, he didn't even offer to replace it or go get some towels for her to wipe it off her leg and shoes.

The drinks are very pricey for SMdA - $190 and up for their signature drinks. We tried three or four different ones and they were all pretty much meh.

The appetizers we ordered were fine - the kalamari a bit weird as it was sweet. The pizzas were ok but about 1/3 the size of the better pizzas in SMdA for twice the price. The guacamole was good but came with some kind of crisps of which half were browned to the point of burnt.

I'm glad we went - just to see what it's about - but as with many places that cater to those who feel like they haven't lived it all unless they pay outrageous prices - the truth of the matter is much less impressive than the notion.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MarkfromtheIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RWSMA, General Manager at Rosewood San Miguel de Allende, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

Dear MarkfromtheIsland,

I would like to thank you for visiting our Hotel as well as for the gift of feedback on your comments. Please accept a sincere apology for that incident. It certainly was not an on brand experience or up to the level of what are typically proud to offer to your guest. Would also like to thank you for your time to write your comments, I appreciate the detail and candid feedback indeed. Rest assured, all feedback help us on the journey to a better guest experience and the road to improvement, its taken seriously and its share. We are on the business of making friends, we are on a continuous learning curve and training will be my top priority. I cannot change certain events, but I do hope you find my respond sincere and I hope you can give us another opportunity to welcome you to another Rosewood experience!

Best regards and happy holidays!

Alfredo Renteria
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews