We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Casa Away from Home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
“A Casa Away from Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2011

The property could not have been more enchanting...and comforting...and certainly added to my San Miguel experience. The Orient Express sensitivity to place was evident in the colonial buildings and landscape surrounding the Sierra Nevada.
Enjoyed outdoor showers....and late afternoons at poolside after a day of exploring San Miguel and its environs.

The hotel staff...from the front office...to the restaurant...down to housekeeping...truly attended to my every need...and it seemed their interest was genuine...not forced or required...in my well being and total enjoyment of San Miguel.

I look forward to returning to my ...casa away from home...the Sierra Nevada...on my next trip to San Miguel.

Room Tip: recommend the Casa Parma or Limon on Hospicio...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Gregory22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasadeSierraNevada, General Manager at Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada, responded to this review, 18 May 2011
Dear Gregory,
It was a real pleasure having you in your “casa” away home. Our priority is that every guest feels at home with the best service experience. Thank you very much for your complimentary comments. We will share them with the teams to keep them motivated.
We look forward to welcome you again in your “casa”.

Kind Regards,

The Casa de Sierra Nevada Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    447
    77
    24
    24
    6
See reviews for
91
309
23
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glarus, Switzerland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2011

We had a three night stay in this hotel and now found it an wonderful place. My daughters very much liked the garden of the hotel. It's so beautiful that she almost insist me on searching the origin the trees here. she asked all the time, and now I feel lucky she forgets it. The hotel is in very good condition also. The room we stayed is very comfortable.
In general, we're very much pleased. Of course, we recommend this hotel to you.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marysheehanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasadeSierraNevada, General Manager at Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada, responded to this review, 18 May 2011
Dear Marysheehanz,
Many Thanks for your kind comments! We feel honored to know you and your daughter really liked the hotel, specially the gardens and trees. Our gardens are part of the hotel charm and many trees have their own story. We look forward to welcome you again in the not too distant future!
Kind Regards,
The Casa de Sierra Nevada Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
476 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 410 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2011

The hotel is divided into two sections. Initially I was across the street. I liked the room a great deal. Was comfortable there. Was later upgraded, thanks to Mr. Pedro Rodriguez and had a chance to experience the main section of the property.

Both offer different experiences, but I did prefer the main building. It was the most attractive and exclusive feeling. My room was huge and well appointed. Everything functioned as it should and the service was perfect. Would come back to this hotel just for how they treated me. It was like having the entire hotel to yourself. San Miguel de Allende is worth a visit and staying here is a must.

Room Tip: go during low occupancy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasadeSierraNevada, General Manager at Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada, responded to this review, 11 May 2011
Dear Amennyc,
Thank you for choosing Casa de Sierra Nevada! We feel honored to know you really enjoyed your stay, and all San Miguel de Allende. We look forward to welcome you again in the future and ensure you another unique and special experience.
Kind Regards,
The Casa de Sierra Nevada Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2011

we both LOVED this hotel. And, that's not easy for both a mom and a teen. Unfortunately, our magnificent suite was next to the street, at street level, with MY bed next to the window. So, it was a bit noisier than perfect. However, the ambience, amenities, service and sheer beauty more than made up for it. The location was great, and attending the cooking school was one of the absolute highlights of our stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasadeSierraNevada, General Manager at Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada, responded to this review, 11 May 2011
Dear LorraBen,
Many Thanks for your complimentary comments. It was a real pleasure hosting you at Casa de Sierra Nevada. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay, the cooking class and the entire experience. We would love to welcome you again in the not too distant future!
Kind Regards,
The Casa de Sierra Nevada Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2011

As a family we had two rooms; both were ample, with terrace, everything worked to perfection. Breakfast at Casa del Parque was a delight. The pool serves only for a refreshing splash. All the staff, from the person making the reservations, valet parking, reception, waiters and the attendant at the "casa" where the rooms are located are not only courteous and well trained, but go out of their way to please the guests.

Definitely a place to stay again and again

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jrjr18805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasadeSierraNevada, General Manager at Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada, responded to this review, 2 May 2011
Dear Jrjr18805,
Thank you very much for your complimentary comments! We are delighted to hear you had a great experience during your stay in your "home away home". We will pass on your kind comments to our staff to keep them motivated. We would love to welcome you again in the near future!
Kind Regards,
The Casa de Sierra Nevada Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
357 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2011

We spent our 24 wedding anniversary at the hotel.
It is located in a beautiful small colonial town of San Miguel de Allende and well worth the visit. When we arrived I had reserved a Junior Suite but wanting to have a great experience we changed to a Colonial Suite and it was well worth the added expense with a view to die for!!
Breakfasts are amazing and at night you have great soft music in the bar. We actually befriended a wonderful couple of guitar players from Sacramento and they were kind enough to help me serenade my wife, unforgettable for sure.
We had a most amazing weekend of romance!!!!!!

Room Tip: any one of the colonial suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aphillips61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasadeSierraNevada, General Manager at Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada, responded to this review, 2 May 2011
Dear aphillips61,
Thanks for choosing Casa de Sierra Nevada! It was a real pleasure having you in the hotel. We are so glad to hear your wedding anniversary was a real memorable moment. Thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to welcome you again in the not too distant future!
Kind Regards,
The Casa de Sierra Nevada Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2011

My husband and I stayed here on our during our honeymoon. We travelled across Mexico for 5 weeks and spent 4 days at Sierra Nevada in San Miguel. The hotel was breath taking, our room was gorgeous and actually brought tears to my eyes when I first walked in. The food at the restaurants was amazing and the 80 minute massages were brilliant - we had two each in 4 days!!

The highlight though had to be the market tour and cooking class. The hotel normally had these 1 day per week, however, arranged for a special class for us as we weren't there on the designated day. The chef took us down to the local market, bought traditional mexican snacks fresh from the market (just as the locals do) and then we brought our ingredients back to the kitchen to cook up a mexican storm!!! The cooking class was great, it was hands on and in true mexican style, included tequila shots!!

Thank you Sierra Nevada for creating such a highlight on our honeymoon.

Alison & James - Sydney Australia

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sydney_Alison75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasadeSierraNevada, General Manager at Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada, responded to this review, 2 May 2011
Dear Alison & James,
We are delighted to hear you and your husband really enjoyed your stay at Casa de Sierra Nevada during your honeymoon! Our priority is to ensure your stay is memorable, and is a real pleasure to know that it was. We are so happy to know you loved the Laja Spa treatments and Sazón cooking class! We look forward to welcome you again soon!

Kind Regards,
The Casa de Sierra Nevada Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
#1 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
5.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hacienda El Santuario
Hacienda El Santuario
#3 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Matilda
Hotel Matilda
#13 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Morada Hotel
La Morada Hotel
#11 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Nena
Hotel Nena
#5 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mansion San Miguel
Mansion San Miguel
#10 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
5.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada

Property: Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada
Address: Calle Hospicio 35 | Centro, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
#1 Business Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
#3 Spa Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada is a mixture of 16th to 18th century Spanish colonial buildings, located one and one-half blocks from the cathedral and main city square of San Miguel de Allende. Its 37 rooms and suites are spread amongst six colonial mansions.Each casona, or mansion, which features five to seven guest rooms or suites, is unique. Many feature outdoor courtyards with fountains, small gardens and al fresco corridors. Guests do not have the feeling of being in a hotel at all. Rather, they are integrated into the town itself, making for a true cultural immersion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Sierra Nevada By Orient-Express Hotel San Miguel De Allende
Hotel Casa De Sierra Nevada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing