We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food, Fireplace, Friendly Staff, Fine Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I have stayed in four Orient Express hotels now, and I don't know how long this one has been owned by them. The rooms probably need a little more updating; the bedding was great and the bathroom worked, but the shower had weak water pressure and some corners of the property were a teeny bit tired. But overall, this is a fine Orient Express property and we had a great two days right in the heart of SMA but not on a crowded square. We walked everywhere, had great support from the staff who walked us to several private homes when we couldn't find them, and the food was very good. Would feel lucky to have the opportunity to stay here again. By the way, ask for Room 352, one of two behind the main dining area in a private ground floor patio. That is, unless you are asking for the Presidential Suite with its rooftop terrace overlooking the City!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L Frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (627)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 627 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2014

I can not say enough good things about this hotel. It was amazing. Everything about it- not one single complaint. The food, the service, the room, the views, everything. We stayed in building 44- they have several buildings around town- we went in the one down by the park but did not see any of the others but I would imagine they were just as pretty. We were very centrally located which was nice. Our room had a deck with a view of the city which was unbelievable. I highly recommend this hotel- we went and visited several other hotels in the area which were highly ranked - all were nice but none had the authentic feel of Mexico like Casa de Sierra Nevada. We will definitely be back!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kackylynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Each time we visit San Miguel, we always stop at the Blue Bar located in the Sierra Nevada Hotel. We love the atmosphere, decor and the comfortable couch seating. But the main reason we come is because of the friendliness, yet professionalism, of Jose Luis!!! He is efficient, friendly, and a superb mixologist! My husband, who especially liked a certain type of peanut snack that Jose always served us (complimentary) asked Jose about them. Jose explained that they were Japanese peanuts and told us where we could find them in the city. Unfortunately, despite great effort, we were unable to find them. Jose surprised us by taking the time to purchase the peanuts for us on his "off" time!!! This is just one example of how Jose goes above and beyond! Whenever you want to relax with a refreshing soft drink, glass of wine or cocktail, in an inviting atmosphere, stop by the Blue Bar and ask for Jose!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Teddy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Stayed there over Christmas and loved it.
+service was outstanding. Had an incident at the hotel and hotel manager was extremely professional, resourceful and understanding
+place is really beautiful and location perfect. Rooms are big, the junior suite was huge and really cute with our own jacuzzi. Really liked it

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Varinia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Seven days and a delightful experience. Extraordinary staff and excellent restaurant. We had a great suite which was very spacious and comfortable. Probably need to choose rooms carefully, as the hotel is spread out among a few buildings on a busy, narrow, street.
This hotel compares, on a small scale, with some of the Oberoi hotels we've stayed at in India.

Room Tip: Probably don't want to be on the street. Beware of the church bells in the early morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vermonttraveller2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Four nights in January gave us a restful location for city explorations, walks and dining at great places within walking distance. (wear solid walking shoes, streets are cobblestone)
Staff is so helpful and just delightful people. Pool is beautiful, breakfast is first class, we ate dinners out.

Room Tip: Main house rooms are quiet as a tomb and still close to dining room and concierge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dundons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

still a great hotel with good friendly helpful staff and fine food and drinks. room are bit dark but roof top patio gives super view of La parrochia. spa was closed most of the trip. the location near the jardin and the cathedral and good restaurants was terrific.

Room Tip: rooms on second floor of limon are great - large - and convient
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bak43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Matilda
Hotel Matilda
#17 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
359 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hacienda El Santuario
Hacienda El Santuario
#3 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
296 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
#2 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Nena
Hotel Nena
#4 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
235 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Schuck Boutique Hotel
Casa Schuck Boutique Hotel
#16 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
569 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Rosada Hotel
Casa Rosada Hotel
#5 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada

Address: Calle Hospicio 35 | Centro, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
#1 Business Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
#3 Spa Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range: £198 - £370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A heritage hotel in the Mexican heartlands, Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada evokes the charm of a bygone era. San Miguel is an adventure for the senses. Yet at the very center of this vibrant city lies a safe haven that’s at once connected to the locale and is its own private sanctuary. Swing open our ancient, wooden front doors and the fiesta outside gives way to a siesta-like calm. Water fountains and blooming flowerpots dot the cluster of heritage mansions that make up the hotel. A large pool, fringed with lush foliage and plants, provides the perfect place to cool off. 17th- and 18th-century buildings reveal inner courtyards, terraces and gardens. Here, history is woven into every stucco wall, tiled bath and curved ceiling, all balanced with modern luxuries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Sierra Nevada By Orient-Express Hotel San Miguel De Allende
Hotel Casa De Sierra Nevada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing