We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Belmond Beauty”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada
Certificate of Excellence
New York
1 review
“Belmond Beauty”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

A wonderful and fantastic stay at this incredible hotel in the middle of San Miguel. Sophisticated and warm with incredible service all around. Nellie Ramirez Adame and Gustavo R. stood out as the finest examples of quality.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 984Robert_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    464
    81
    29
    25
    8
See reviews for
100
321
24
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Recently we visited San Miguel de Allende for a wedding. We picked this hotel based on previous Trip Advisor comments and were not disappointed. The downtown location is perfect for exploring. The hotel itself is spread across several city blocks, but they are all very close. We were in the primary building (reception, restaurant, bar) with the pool and business center across the street. Our obvious tourist status was never hinted; we were treated as well known guests. We speak very little Spanish, and it was not a problem. The breakfast was great as we sampled a number of items over our three day stay, try the 'green' juice it is wonderful. We managed to use the pool one afternoon, and were server very promptly and courteously poolside, it was a beautiful couple of hours.
Our room, in the main building was very nice. It was well appointed with new items in spite of being very historic externally. Everything worked, was clean and free of mold. (It was humid outside.) Overall it was a beautiful stay that we wished we could have extended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4everSeekingSummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2014

i have stayed at your hotel few times, and its always been the best place to relax in a
first class setting. Thank you for providing such a beautiful hotel for visitors to experience San Miguel. The hospitality, accommodations, and people are all five star, world class. The staff….everyone was professional, always smiling, and helpful, especially Ricardo Jimenez Herrera (concierge), Jose (bartender), and Gustavo.
We would return in a minute if it was possible.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ahmad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This was my second trip to SMA this year, having been enchanted by the place in my earlier visit. At that time, I stayed at the Rosewood, although it was a toss-up between that and the Sierra Nevada. This time, I tried my other option and I'm glad I did. These are two very different hotels, both of which offer their advantages and disadvantages. But both are highly recommendable and worth a visit.

There were three things in particular that would have me returning to the Sierra Nevada--the warmth and hospitality of the staff, the charm of the hotel itself and its proximity to the very center of the town. Dining at the in-house restaurant, Andanza, was particularly memorable, and Jose Luis' market and cooking tour conducted at Sazon is something that I would recommend to anyone who visits SMA. The Sierra Nevada is very charming and for anyone looking to stay in something very reminiscent of a hacienda style of hotel, the BCSN will not disappoint.

I find just about everyone in SMA welcoming so the BCSN has no monopoly on the hospitality market. Still, everyone we met there were friendly and accommodating, which is always a nice thing to experience on holiday. The location, just a block and a half from the center of town, cannot be beat. And my room--large, spacious, done very much in colonial style and the best thing--a beautiful private terrace with a view of the Parroquia. I can't imagine anyone being disappointed with that room.

That brings up something that some visitors might have an issue with at the BCSN. The hotel is made up of a half-dozen casas, each centrally located and all charming in their own right. Still, being away from the Casa Principal (where I stayed) meant that to see anyone on the hotel staff, and to eat at their wonderful restaurant and bar, you would have to exit your casa and walk over to Principal. Two of the casas are right across the street so that isn't a major issue, but it nonetheless could be slightly inconvenient for any visitor. Also, with six casas, it is pretty hard to determine exactly what your room will look like before your arrival. The website offers a sense of what some rooms and baths look like, but you are pretty much left to guess what you might be getting, both in location and room. And if baths are important to you, check with the hotel to get a sense of what you might expect. While my room and the adjoining terrace were terrific, the bath itself was odd and dated, and something I would not have expected from a hotel of this quality. But as I don't spend too much of my time in the bath, this wasn't a major drawback...although it might be for some. So when you make your reservations, it might behoove you to check on the location of your casa, the room you may be getting and the bath as well--I'd ask for pictures if possible. Other than that, a great place to stay and I can't see the BCSN disappointing anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EvenlyOpinionated
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kastrup
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

On a business trip I went out of Mexico City to stay for a weekend. The hotel in lovely San Miguel de Allende is cosy, luxury, good food and high service dominated by welcoming smiling faces in one spot. Thank you and see you again to Angeles, Pablo and the rest of the great team that made my stay as relaxing as it could possibly be.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank larsfra1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I have to start by saying Ricardo and his team MADE this trip. I have never experienced such attentive and personal service in my years of hotel stays anywhere. Ricardo managed to help me avert disaster (as I fell ill) and still make the most of our short-time in San Miguel de Allende.

First off, the photos do not do this hotel justice - it is truly stunning with the most attentive staff that I have encountered anywhere in the world. If you are seeking a boutique-style hotel centrally located then this is the best choice by far as you are an easy 5-min walk to El Jardin, the galleries and many of the other attractions.

I was there in April on my first mother/daughter vacation. The hotel is definitely geared towards couples or families with well-behaved children. I had travelled over 35K miles (for both work & pleasure) that month and this was the final leg of my journey. I was obviously run down and as a result fell ill. Ricardo and his team arranged for me to visit the doctor, and after a few hours of being rehydrated etc, I felt so much better. Ricardo had arranged for the car to take us to the hospital (the hospital was pristine with a very professional staff) and pick us up. The next day everyone, and I mean EVERYONE, came by to see how I was feeling.

Once I was back on my feet Ricardo told us about all the best roof top restaurants, galleries, festivals and cooking classes to attend. He ensured that we made the most of the time we had left after losing a day to being ill. My mother and I found ourselves coming back to tell him about our days adventures and thank him.

This will forever be one of my most memorable trips simply because of the people and, of course, Ricardo!

Room Tip: Suites by the pool have a nice outdoor patio and the ones upstairs have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emilia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Our stay at Casa de Sierra Nevada was beyond amazing. It exceeded our expectations in every way possible. The food was to die for, the pool was a dream, the service was top-notch, and they had the cutest bar with great bartenders. My fiancé and I actually got engaged here--which was magical! We loved it so much, we might consider having a destination wedding here! Thank you, Casa de Sierra Nevada for an unforgettable vacation. We will be back!

Room Tip: Room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brystal K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
#1 of 69 in San Miguel de Allende
160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hacienda El Santuario
Hacienda El Santuario
#5 of 69 in San Miguel de Allende
259 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Matilda
Hotel Matilda
#13 of 69 in San Miguel de Allende
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Nena
Hotel Nena
#3 of 69 in San Miguel de Allende
213 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Rosada Hotel
Casa Rosada Hotel
#6 of 69 in San Miguel de Allende
188 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Schuck Boutique Hotel
Casa Schuck Boutique Hotel
#15 of 69 in San Miguel de Allende
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada

Property: Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada
Address: Calle Hospicio 35 | Centro, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
#1 Family Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
#1 Business Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
#2 Spa Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada is a mixture of 16th to 18th century Spanish colonial buildings, located one and one-half blocks from the cathedral and main city square of San Miguel de Allende. Its 37 rooms and suites are spread amongst six colonial mansions.Each casona, or mansion, which features five to seven guest rooms or suites, is unique. Many feature outdoor courtyards with fountains, small gardens and al fresco corridors. Guests do not have the feeling of being in a hotel at all. Rather, they are integrated into the town itself, making for a true cultural immersion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Sierra Nevada By Orient-Express Hotel San Miguel De Allende
Hotel Casa De Sierra Nevada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing