We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected Nice Surprice”
Review of Hotel Sautto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Sautto
Reviewed 16 April 2013

In my quest to feed myself and my family who are mainly seafood fans, we asked the valet parking attendant about a place to eat and he suggested the Italian Food restaurant at the hotel. The Risotto, the Salmon and the Carpacio are very good, it has a nice wine cellar and house like atmosphere.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeColoniale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2013

My wife and I dined at the Italian restaurant at Hotle Sautto as part of a large birthday party of 20 people. This was the first time at this restaurant and I felt the experience was worthy of a repeat visit and I'm sure it will be rated higher upon our return. Serving a large party is never the same as a smaller intimate one. Having said that I thought the pasta dishes were good although lacking in robust favors. The dishes definitely needed more garlic and oregano. The service was excellent. The bar drinks were more expensive than the should be. The courtyard is beautiful, but I would definitely mute the few harsh florescent lights in the center. On our next visit I will definitely order the fire-roasted pizza as the open air brick oven looked very appealing.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Balidude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

When I first stepped off an Estrella Blanca bus in front of the Angela Peralta theater back in 1974 the closest cheap hotel was the Sautto, so Juan carried my bags half a block and I arranged for a lengthy stay. While the town has suffered lamentable changes, alterations and architectural modifications at odds with San Miguel's Colonial history, this hotel has made two or three changes. The wonderful fireplaces had to be sealed off because of pollutants emitted, and last week every chimenea would have been ablaze. Note: it is wise to see the rooms available because they are situated differently, some being warmer than others. The rooms are lean and clean, no TV or Internet, but Starbuck's just around the corner. Television when you're visiting San Miguel? Another peculiar change: an independent restaurant with valet parking; and the hotel's spirit's shop with an unbelievable selection of wines and liquors.
The Sautto is an old family hotel located next to a small army post which, although virtually invisible, has a strong presence. The Instituto Nacional de Bellas Artes "El Nigromante" abuts the southern side of the army cuartel, while across the street from the hotel is the Angela Peralta Theater. Quite a nice neighborhood. The staff is helpful and friendly, and the grounds are spacious and beautifully adorned with an amazing variety of flowering plants, orange trees, cacti - it's a very nice place to relax.

Room Tip: How close do you want to be to your car? Is your room on a common walkway or more secluded? Does the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chucumite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Oh what a difference a day makes...goes the old song..BUT; oh what a difference 25 years makes ?????. well, not much; as far as the Sautto goes. Having visited here then and now, we can assure you that it is certainly the same old Sautto. We took a photo of the front of our room then and now.. # 22; and the fly screen still hung ski-whiff on one hinge as it did then in 1987 ! They may not have spent too much on the room maintenance, but they have still managed to maintain a lovely tranquil atmosphere in the gardens and bar areas and it is still cheap on San Miguel standards; {but not on general Mexican standards elsewhere.}
If they got rid of the outside chain wire fence [ giving it the look of a prison enclosure] and spent some time on the rooms, they would be a force to be reckoned with. But as it stands, it is a nice place to visit ..but stay somewhere else? [ like Queretero or Guanajuato- and bus it for the day, or take the Ayuntamiento tour from Guanajuato for $18 .. collect and drop off and visit 5 Towns and villages; incl. San Mig.}

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Badbones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2009

Houtel Sautto is a perfect location in SM. Except for the domed brick ceilings, the rooms are nothing special. They are a bit outdated, but clean. The courtyard is gorgeous and the staff nice.
There are many nicer rooms in SM, but for $35, you wont find a better deal. If you are looking for somewhere to park your bags and sleep, this is for you. If you want a charming room to hang out in, there are many options, but you will have to pay much more.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cindyjespinoza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2005

I loved the Sautto. Have stayed there a dozen times and still has all the charm that used to attract people to Mexico. If you want the Holiday Inn go elsewhere, please.

9  Thank 447royr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Crystal Beach, FL
17
Reviewed 9 January 2004

It was scary to think about what might be crawling around on the cold tile floor. Stains on the walls and tile galore. Did I mention to bring a heater if you choose to go in the wintertime? When I went, the rooms were at least 10 degrees colder than the outside temperature. There is no direct sunlight in any of the rooms whatsoever. The showers SUCK!
Toilets clog daily. You won't feel like your on a vacation. But...
Bella Italia, the restaurant at the hotel is superb! Five star rating in my eyes.. The best meal I had in Mexico!

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel la Estacion
Hotel la Estacion
#24 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
60 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Monteverde Best Inns
Hotel Monteverde Best Inns
#39 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
157 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Quetzal Hotel
Casa Quetzal Hotel
#27 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel - RV Park San Ramon
Hotel - RV Park San Ramon
#54 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
24 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Loteria
Hotel Casa Loteria
#59 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
68 reviews
1.1 mi away
Arcada San Miguel
Arcada San Miguel
#55 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sautto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sautto

Address: Privada Hernandez Macias No. 59, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 68 Hotels in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range: £27 - £30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sautto 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Sautto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing