We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of La Casa de Liza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Casa de Liza
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel, amazing gardens, excellent staff. A few blocks away from the "plaza" but that's ok, because you don't have all the noise near you and you can have a good sleep. Pet friendly. Include breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kvillarreal11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    13
    4
    4
    8
See reviews for
17
30
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

We recently returned from six nights in this wonderful, in-town hideaway, which is a lot classier than most B&Bs and much more relaxed than a hotel. Walled gardens are beautiful and fragrant. Our room, Cielo, was large, comfortable and nicely decorated with Mexican folk art and contemporary sculpture. Breakfast on the patio (or indoors on chilly mornings) was delicious, especially the eggs with green tomatillo salsa. Beatrice, the multilingual manager, is charming, as well as a fine cook, and her staff is most welcoming. Like other guests we met who return every year, we expect to enjoy Casa de Liza again on our next visit to SMA.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MaineSailorDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
71 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

I liked everything about this hotel: its location is still in the Historic Center, in the less known part of the Historic Center, so you get a sense of the town and its tranquility. I liked our room, which was warm, cozy and full of books. The bed is comfortable and the pillows too. The bathroom was not very private but it was not a problem. Shower pressure is excellent. Breakfast is tasty and abundant. Beatrice, the owner, is very nice and straightforward. Staying here is like your rich aunt is out of town and left you the keys to her home!

Room Tip: Be clear about your needs with Beatrice, the owner, and she will accomodate you in her best room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antoine_K_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
95 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

I stayed 4 nights at La Casa de Liza and have only good things to report. Our room (Cielo) was ample and beautifully decorated and it included a lovely little terrace looking over a garden planted with a large Mexican orchid tree, a tall Poinsettia and many other flowers. The breakfasts are probably some of the best I've ever had in a B&B and are included in the reasonable price of the rooms, which vary from small to extra large, with a capacity for 5 or 6 people. The owner, Beatriz, is a wonderful Swiss woman who has lived in Mexico for over 20 years and speaks beautiful French, Spanish and English. She is also the cook and the hostess and she is very talented at both jobs. I very highly recommend this goregous B&B located about 7 minutes waking from dowtown San Miguel and nestled next to a little park in a very exclusive part of town.

Room Tip: You need to be aware that the rooms vary greatly in size, so make sure you get the right one for you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peregringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
101 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

One the second you enter to this hotel you realize that this no ordinary place. The hotel used to be a family house and they conditioned the house for guests. They surely did. I stayed here with my wife and a friend in one of the rooms they called Biblioteca (The Library). It was amazing, it was like staying in a XVIII century house.

The hotel is 4 blocks from the Zocalo and the street to get there is totally colonial and it look like a Paint all over the Street.

I really recommend this hotel due to their original decoration, the excellent service and great food.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Biblioteca room but each of the room is different, so any room is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juanvzla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We stayed at Casa de Liza a year ago to attend a friend's wedding in San Miguel and we had a wonderful stay (we even prolonged it an extra day). Beatrice made us feel as if we were staying with very close relatives.
At night the temperatures dropped quite a bit, but the heaters they put in our rooms were more than enough to deal with it.
We would definitely stay there again if we are back in San Miguel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Greta service. Beatriz, the manager is wonderful, pampering to your every need, including a delicious Mexican breakfast. The rooms are spacious, some of them are small houses complete with kitchen and patio. Staying at Casa de Liza gave us the real San Miguel experience!

Room Tip: If you are traveling with kids choose one that has a kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa Quetzal Hotel
Casa Quetzal Hotel
#25 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
251 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hacienda El Santuario
Hacienda El Santuario
#5 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
243 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa de la Noche
Casa de la Noche
#1 of 134 in San Miguel de Allende
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa del Parque Bed & Breakfast
Casa del Parque Bed & Breakfast
#32 of 134 in San Miguel de Allende
17 reviews
0.4 mi away
Acuarela Bed And Breakfast
Acuarela Bed And Breakfast
#7 of 134 in San Miguel de Allende
149 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa Mexicana San Miguel
Casa Mexicana San Miguel
#53 of 134 in San Miguel de Allende
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa de Liza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa de Liza

Property: La Casa de Liza
Address: Calle Bajada Del Chorro # 7 | Colonia Centro, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 134 B&Bs / Inns in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa de Liza 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Liza is an elegant enclave of luxurious and romantic accommodations situated on the paradise-like grounds of a restored colonial estate just three blocks from the center of town. We like to think of ourselves as "more than just a bed and breakfast" for many reasons. In the morning you're served your breakfast from our gourmet menu, when ever and where ever you would like, even in bed. All of our accommodations, which are in separate and private locations, always have fresh flowers, a welcome snack in your refrigerator, and nightly turn downs with chocolates on the pillows and your choice of down or hypo-allergenic pillows. In addition to the daily maid service each accommodation has a private telephone with computer port, cable television and clock radio. We also offer laundry service and secure parking on our premises with night watchmen. We have an acre of beautifully terraced and landscaped grounds, complete with parrots and an orchid filled greenhouse. One has the feeling of being in the country and yet we are only three blocks from the center of town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your La Casa de Liza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing