We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Relaxing Oasis” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Casa de Liza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Casa de Liza
seattle
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Relaxing Oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2009

We recently spent a week at Casa Liza and stayed in the Library Room. It was beautifully decorated and packed with art and books. The grounds too are absolutely charming, and impeccably maintained. The gourmet breakfasts (made to order) were absolutely delicious, and staff was very helpful and accommodating. I hope to return to SMA, and if we do we will definitely return to Casa Liza as well.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kkhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    11
    4
    4
    7
See reviews for
15
27
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2009

Our breath was taken away when we stepped in Casa de Liza. It is absolutely beautiful! The grounds were like a botanical garden. Our room was enchanting. We loved the Corner suite. The view was awesome. Seeing the sunrise and the sunset was a real treat! Not to mention, the gas fireplace really set the mood. It was absolutely romantic!

Lorenzo was great taking care of our every need! Martin and Jorge were on hand in the evenings. You could count on their assistance. Another plus, you could have your clothes washed at Casa de Liza for a fee.

The ladies that took care of the breakfast were just lovely! They waited on us with such a lovely manner. You could tell they enjoyed their job. They enjoyed making your breakfast just the way you like it. They took pride in their service.

The breakfast menu was great. You had an array of choices. The breakfast is awesome! We loved everything!

We really enjoyed our stay! They were so attentive and pleasant that we felt at home. We definitely want to go back. We believe they are the best Bed and Breakfast in San Miguel de Allende!

If you drove down to San Miguel de Allende, Casa de Liza has free parking. This is rare.

Stepping out of Casa de Liza is Juarez Park. It is so lovely there. It is a big park where local artists display their paintings. You can play basketball or just enjoy the playground. There were many families enjoying the grounds.

The square is a short walk from Casa de Liza.

We highly recommend Casa de Liza for their establishment, their lush grounds, their service, and their grand breakfast!

  • Liked — Ambience and service
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank iindiglow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2008

Our stay at Casa Liza was a great experience, made much more so by the staff and owner's family. Three of us shared the Villa Manuela. What a classic beauty! We love the fireplaces, the breakfasts served in the villa's dining room, and the old world charm. This was our 5th stay and 5th B&B in San Miguel de Allende. We will return to Casa Liza.

  • Liked — Classic
  • Disliked — Parking
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LEscapade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san Diego
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2008

I have stayed at Casa Liza twice, Feb 07 and Feb 08. I have traveled all over the world, and never encounter a staff so kind, caring and eager to serve. Lorenzo and Idalia do an outstanding job! As a tour operator, specializing in small groups, I look for unique, upmarket proerties with good food. Casa Liza definitely fits the bill. The breakfast are outstanding and can be delivered to your room or taken in the dining room.
The rooms are individually decorated and most have sitting areas, some with private patios. As a gardener, I particularly enjoy the tranquil grounds complete with parrots! We like to order a pitcher of margaritias while relaxing in the garden after a day of touring.
The location is excellent, far enough away from the busy city center to have peace & quiet, but close enough to walk to the major attractions. We also like the proximity to Casa Sierra Nevada which has an excellent restaurant and bar.
I am looking forward to my third visit in Feb 09. I wouldn't think of staying anywhere else!
Cheryl Hedgpeth

  • Liked — the staff & decor
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank sanDiegoBaxter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2008

I read about Casa de Liza in Suset Magazine - and the editors did not exaggerate how wonderful this bed and breakfast is. The bathroom amenities (such as towels, shampoo, conditioner and lotion) were top rate; housekeeping was incredibly attentive and diligent, and the breakfasts were huge and fabulous (even though I designated small portions, it was always enough for breakfast AND lunch).

The location is perfect: it is about a five minute walk to La Parroquia, the gorgeous gothic cathedral that centers the main section of town, and about a seven minute walk in the other direction to the Belles Artes Institute, and all of the beautiful shops and vistas found in that section of town. I was able to walk everywhere (except La Mirasol, which was a 40 pesos cab ride).

My only complaint, which I do not think would be unique to Casa de Liza, and which is likely an issue with every hotel or B&B in town, is that the church bells begin at 4:30 a.m. and end at 10:45 p.m., and are difficult to block out. Street noise is also relatively loud until about 10:00 at night. Also, not an issue for me, but a possible issue for those with mobility issues - many of the rooms required a climb of one or two levels of stairs. I was in the beautiful Moroccan Suite, which was up three flights of stairs!

The hotel staff was fabulous - very friendly, incredibly helpful, and patient with my annoying questions about exchange rates at checkout time.

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay, and would definitely stay here on my next visit to San Miguel de Allende.

  • Liked — location and hotel ambience
  • Disliked — noisy churches and streets
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ScoobySF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Issaquah
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2008

I've stayed in the nearby apartment, Sollana B ( two minute walk away) for three weeks, and thoroughly loved the experience. It was great having a a kitchen to make little snacks.

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast on the patio is delightful.

The grounds of Casa de Liza are very, very charming, encrusted with art and antiques. The location is great, next to the Parque, five minute walk to the central Plaza, but still surrounded by trees and away from the hubub of the Centro.

Excellent value for the apartment compared to others in the vicinity.

I would recommend this lovely B&B to anyone who is not handicapped.

  • Liked — Charm, elegance, location, staff
  • Disliked — coffee
  • Stayed September 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ElizabethIssaquah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2008

Casa Liza. The bed and breakfast in the quaint world heritage town of San Miguel is tranquil, attentive and full of character. The staff are superb and the breakfast amazing.

The management is very helfpul

  • Liked — Character
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Herbeeking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.3 mi away
Hacienda El Santuario
Hacienda El Santuario
#3 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Quetzal Hotel
Casa Quetzal Hotel
#32 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Puertecita Boutique Hotel
La Puertecita Boutique Hotel
#25 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casalinda Hotel Boutique
Casalinda Hotel Boutique
#62 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada
Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada
#4 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casa Primavera
Hotel Casa Primavera
#21 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa de Liza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa de Liza

Property: La Casa de Liza
Address: Calle Bajada Del Chorro # 7 | Colonia Centro, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 135 B&Bs / Inns in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa de Liza 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Liza is an elegant enclave of luxurious and romantic accommodations situated on the paradise-like grounds of a restored colonial estate just three blocks from the center of town. We like to think of ourselves as "more than just a bed and breakfast" for many reasons. In the morning you're served your breakfast from our gourmet menu, when ever and where ever you would like, even in bed. All of our accommodations, which are in separate and private locations, always have fresh flowers, a welcome snack in your refrigerator, and nightly turn downs with chocolates on the pillows and your choice of down or hypo-allergenic pillows. In addition to the daily maid service each accommodation has a private telephone with computer port, cable television and clock radio. We also offer laundry service and secure parking on our premises with night watchmen. We have an acre of beautifully terraced and landscaped grounds, complete with parrots and an orchid filled greenhouse. One has the feeling of being in the country and yet we are only three blocks from the center of town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your La Casa de Liza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing