We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casaluna Hotel Boutique
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2013

My husband and I stayed at Casa Luna for 4 nights. We had read the reviews and seen the pictures on their web site, and we were rather disappointed when we got there. You can tell that several years ago it was a beautiful place, but it definitely has changed for the worse. You can tell that it has been a long time since they've done anything to the hotel. It seems old, used, run-down.They say breakfast is included, but what you get is coffee and a piece of fruit (orange).
When we checked-in, the sink in our bathroom was terribly dirty (disgusting). The safety box in the room didn't work.
On the positive side, our room was very spacious and had a terrace. Also, the staff is very friendly.

Room Tip: Ask where you're room is located and don't accept a room in the front part of the hotel (too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mariana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guerras2, Gerente at Casaluna Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

Thank you for your feedback which helps us know your opinion and improve, casaluna since march 15th is going trough an extensive renovation, which will include a major overhaul of common areas rooms, and overall amenities like brand new `32 flat screen tv´s, etc,etc.
this is all because the hotel is now managed by a boutique hotel group.

we hope to see you back in our hotel soon.

Kind regards

Hotel Maneger & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (370)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 370 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2012

We just returned from our stay at Casa Luna (Aug 19-23, 2012). It is exactly like the pictures on the website. If you want a B&B in a Colonial Mexican atmosphere close to town, this is it. The staff is warm, friendly and very helpful. We departed at 5:30 AM and Ernesto was sitting on a bench waiting for us with a "breakfast to go" for our 12 hour journey home. Casa Luna has a beautiful setting for great Margaritas on the patio surrounded by a charming visual Mexican atmosphere. Carmen, Casa Luna manager, set up art lessons with a local artist upon our request which was a highlight of our trip. We had excellent meals at VIVOLI, CAFE MONET and MANOLAS, all walking distance from Casa Luna. San Miguel is a walking city and cabs are plentiful and cheap for non walkers. Every cab knows where Casa Luna is even though the name is not on the front. We took a very informative trolley tour of San Miguel that provided more perspective to the history of the area. We have been here many time but this was an especially memorable and fun trip! Many thanks to the staff and we look forward to returning here again for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PVPamS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guerras2, Manager at Casaluna Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2013

We are happy to inform that Casaluna since march 2013 is managed by a professional hotel company, many improvements are being made: Full hotel renewal new tv sets, improved rooms, amenities, free parking , lower rates, and overall better services!
We hope to see you soon in the new casa luna hotel!

Kind Regards!
Casa luna Manager & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

My husband and i went to casa luna in san miguel for a romantic one night getaway. A friend of mine had stayed there several years ago, and i remembered that her room was spacious, full of light, there was a huge terrace deck with a bar and jacuzzi. However the hotel has since changed a lot. There is no longer the bar, terrace, or jacuzzi! Our room was the very first room, right next to the street and front door so everytime somebody comes in, you hear it. The only saving graces of this hotel were the gas fireplace in our room and the location. The problems with this room: no privacy, we couldnt open the curtains without everybody being able to see us, there is a small round window high up that can be seen through from an upstairs room, no door on the bathroom, just another curtain, no shampoo, no wi-fi signal in the room since it was too far from the main part of the hotel, no phone in the room, shabby rugs in the bathroom, no extras whatsoever like lotion, shower cap. The attitude of the staff was distant and non accommadating Overpriced for the quality of the room at $1900. There are better similar prices hotels in san miguel. We will not return to casa luna.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank boogies75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guerras2, Manager at Casaluna Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2013

We are happy to inform that Casaluna since march 2013 is managed by a professional hotel company, many improvements are being made: Full hotel renewal new tv sets, improved rooms, amenities, free parking , lower rates, and overall better services!
We hope to see you soon in the new casa luna hotel!

Kind Regards!
Casa luna Manager & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

I spent a week at Casa Luna in San Miguel de Allende for a photography workshop. The hotel was lovely, the rooms charming, the staff friendly and helpful and the breakfasts delicious. The location was easy walking distance from the main square of the town. As they use bottled water, we were able to drink the water from the tap with no ill effects. I'd stay there again in a minute.

Room Tip: All of the rooms were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guerras2, Manager at Casaluna Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2013

We are happy to inform that Casaluna since march 2013 is managed by a professional hotel company, many improvements are being made: Full hotel renewal new tv sets, improved rooms, amenities, free parking , lower rates, and overall better services!
We hope to see you soon in the new casa luna hotel!

Kind Regards!
Casa luna Manager & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

I spent a weekend at Casa Luna Quebrada, and I truly felt like being at home. Only better, excellent service, quiet, close to everything that happens in San Miguel. I will definitely go back in summer. All the staff are so friendly. I even like the little dogs that welcome you! Julio and Bombon. Breakfast is also good, and every detail in the decor is like walking through a gallery. Other people might find the colonial houses in central Mexico a bit diferent compared to the type of modern houses they are used to, but being at this colonial places is an unforgettable and unique experience that is very romantic and magical.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SebastianMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Casa Luna was a little difficul to locate as there is no sign in front. Use #117 Quebrada to locate it.
The street, Quebrada, is one way but the location is very close to the Central Plaza and w/i walking distance of everything in town.
All the water is filtered and can be consumed. We did, and suffered no ill effects.
The authentic Mexican breakfasts were great with lots of fruit, "huevos divorciados" home made juice, frijoles and pan.
The grounds, foliage and rooms are very Mexican and the staff is very helpful. Each room has a gas fireplace that made it very cozy in Febuary!

Room Tip: All rooms we had were upstairs and if you have difficulty walking, ask for a downstairs room. Some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

My husband and I just got back from spending 3 days at the Casa Luna Quebrada location. It is a beautiful B & B with lovely courtyards and our room was very romantic, the Rojo y Oro room. The first night, we decided to light the gas fireplace. There is a sign on the fireplace asking that you have an employee light the fireplace and that you should turn it off before you go to bed. About 10 minutes after the fire had been lit, I began to get a headache so I asked my husband to check to see if the flue had been opened. He checked and discovered that there was NO flue! It became very clear why they didn't want you to sleep with the fire on.

We immediately turned the fireplace off and opened the windows to air out the room. Since the fireplace is the only heat source for the room, we were lucky that it wasn't an especially cold night.

The next day, my husband told management about the problem and they offered to move us to another room. That room didn't have a flue in the fireplace either so we didn't move. (We did love our room). They tried to fix the situation by bringing in a gas space heater that they set up in the fireplace which alleviated the problem a bit because it wasn't throwing out the quantity of fumes that the gas fireplace had. I still felt very uncomfortable having it on though so we used it just long enough to take the chill out of the air. I'm not an expert but I've always heard that if you are using a gas heating appliance, it should be vented.

I'm not sure if all of the fireplaces are unvented but we were talking with another guest who also got a headache soon after the fire had been lit and hers also had no flue so at least 3 of them are unvented.

I've read through all of the reviews for Casa Luna and was surprised that nobody complained about this issue. To me, it could be an extremely dangerous situation which is why I am writing this review.

I have nothing against Casa Luna and think it is a beautiful, charming place to stay in San Miquel and is pretty close to the main square. Just maybe go when it's not so cold or take some warm pajamas.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.2 mi away
Hacienda El Santuario
Hacienda El Santuario
#4 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
284 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Primavera
Hotel Casa Primavera
#20 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
180 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Quetzal Hotel
Casa Quetzal Hotel
#22 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Rosada Hotel
Casa Rosada Hotel
#5 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
214 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Matilda
Hotel Matilda
#16 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
352 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Morada Hotel
La Morada Hotel
#14 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casaluna Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casaluna Hotel Boutique

Address: Quebrada #117 - Pila Seca #11 | Historic City Center, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range: £46 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casaluna Hotel Boutique 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rated "one of the world's best unknown hotels" by Travel & Leisure Magazine. Nestled in the mountains four hours from Mexico City, lies the quaint village of San Miguel de Allende, a Spanish-colonial jewel and designated historic monument by the Mexican government. With narrow cobblestone streets, colorful markets and fiestas, numerous shops, galleries and fine restaurants, San Miguel is a favorite destination for artists, writers and discriminating world travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casaluna Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Luna Hotel San Miguel De Allende

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing