We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good service, very central...room with a view!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casaluna Hotel Boutique
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We liked the hotel. Yes, it seems a bit rundown and could need a bit of maintenance but it it still has this old Mexican flair which fits to San Miguel. We were lucky, we had a very nice room, with a roof terrace and an unbelievable view of San Miguel including sun set! Impresionante! We did not sleep that well, because the first night the room was extremely hot because the sun had heated up our room during the day and we just found out the next morning how the windows open :-) (they even had mosquito nets)and the second night a couple next door had a big fight and as the hotel/ house is quite old...you could here every single word. But the staff was very very friendly and as the hotel has no own restaurant they offered to go and get us what ever we needed from the super around the corner, drinks, ice etc. Bottled water was free and everyday new in the room. Breakfast was served in the restaurant Bugambilia in the hotel Casa Linda, which is about 5 minutes to walk from the hotel. We didn't mind the little walk in morning and the breakfast was very delicious. We could choose from a variety of warm dishes, and the breakfast included fresh orange juice or fruits, bread with homemade marmalade and coffee, tea or hot chocolate. There also was some live music accompanying, a very nice men with his guitar and a lovely voice. As the mornings are still quite chilly in February and the breakfast was served outside in the Patio it was a bit fresh. To sum up...for us it was a good choice, we had the best room and really enjoyed....although I would probably try something else the next time we go to San Miguel

Room Tip: Try to get a room upstairs to have enough light!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerente G, Manager at Casaluna Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you for your comments we are happy you enjoyed your stay at our hotel
we look forward to having you back sometime soon!


Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (368)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 368 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2014

The hotel is in a reasonably good area for access to major points of interest. It has a nice courtyard. The rooms are dated and pretty shabby and parts of the property show deferred maintenance. Since SMA gives one the impression that Mexico has been taken over by the Swiss and turned into an oldfolks home, this is a bit incongruous.
Breakfast is not available on site, but there is coffee. The staff were very pleasant and obliging.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jorge_v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerente G, Manager at Casaluna Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you for your comments casa luna hotel is going through a major remodeling process which will give even more value to our guests

Kind regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

I would consider this a 2 1/2 star hotel but I guess if you are in San Miguel everything is overpriced but the hotel is not worth more than $65 for the night There was no heat onle an electric one that barely worked I There was old bathroom disgusting shower nothing special at all

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank NYCookie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerente G, Manager at Casaluna Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear Guest
thank you for your comments.
Casa Luna is going trough a major remodeling process room by room maybe your room has nor gone trough the process yet, but we are making quite an effort to improve the overall guest experience in the hotel.

We appreciate your comments and look forward to your next stay with us!

Kind regards

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Incredible personnel attitude! that was the most impressive part. Of course that is reflected on the cleanliness, tips for good restaurant and places. The property is really nice and original, cozy charm place, the room was really clean lighten, warm. the sheets, everything, smell so clean. Very good location!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frequentravelerTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guerras2, Manager at Casaluna Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Thank you for your comments!
we are very glad you had a great time in casa luna!!!

we look forward to seeing you again in our hotel!


Kind regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights before our wedding and also housed half of our guests at this hotel. The rooms are very basic. We had trouble with the fire place, door locks and bathroom. But all was fixed immediately by the staff. Breakfast is included, but its at a sister hotel about 5 blocks away (Casa Linda) However, this hotel, is in the heart of downtown and in a very nice location, so we didn't mind walking there in the mornings to get breakfast. We bought sweet bread for our guests in the morning and they loved it. The coffee is great! The place is gorgeous, our guests were very impressed. And the staff was extremely accomodating and patient. We had people arriving at all times, with canceled flights, some had other demands, and they were always very helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mari51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guerras2, Manager at Casaluna Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

We are very glad our staff was friendly and helpful and that you and your guests enjoyed casa luna!

we look forward to seeing you again in our hotel!

Kind regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This hotel exceeded our expectations. The staff was friendly and attentive consistently.
The hotel is beautiful with many areas to sit outdoors and enjoy the calm. Photos on their site are accurate. Our room and hotel, in general, were meticulous. Located close to the central plaza but far enough away so night time revelers were not disturbing. The urbane manager speaks English fluently and gave us lots of useful advice. We looked forward to coming back here at the end of the day. Do not hesitate about this place.

Room Tip: There are a couple of rooms with access to a rooftop area. Had I known about that, would have asked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goldiept
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guerras2, General Manager at Casaluna Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Thank you for staying at casaluna hotel boutique we are delighted you had a great time with us! we really appreciate your comments and really look forward to your next stay with us!

Kind regards!

CasaLuna General Manager & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We loved our accommodations. We had a room with 2 singles. There was a seating area, lots of space, a nice bathroom. It was very clean. It opened out into a wonderful courtyard. We had great responses to our needs from the staff. The location was just right, within walking distance to the main town and free parking for our rental car.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoiseAlaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guerras2, Manager at Casaluna Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Thank you for your comments!
we are very glad you had a good experience at casa luna!
we hope you visit us sometime soon!

Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.4 mi away
Casa Quetzal Hotel
Casa Quetzal Hotel
#26 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
255 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hacienda El Santuario
Hacienda El Santuario
#4 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
271 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Morada Hotel
La Morada Hotel
#14 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hacienda de Las Flores
Hacienda de Las Flores
#25 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
71 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Primavera
Hotel Casa Primavera
#19 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
173 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Rosada Hotel
Casa Rosada Hotel
#5 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casaluna Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casaluna Hotel Boutique

Address: Quebrada #117 - Pila Seca #11 | Historic City Center, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range: £47 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casaluna Hotel Boutique 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rated "one of the world's best unknown hotels" by Travel & Leisure Magazine. Nestled in the mountains four hours from Mexico City, lies the quaint village of San Miguel de Allende, a Spanish-colonial jewel and designated historic monument by the Mexican government. With narrow cobblestone streets, colorful markets and fiestas, numerous shops, galleries and fine restaurants, San Miguel is a favorite destination for artists, writers and discriminating world travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Casaluna Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Luna Hotel San Miguel De Allende

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing