We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“third visit here, no better place to stay in San Miguel”
Review of Casa Carmen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2012

The location of Casa Carmen is ideal, just 1.5 blocks from the main plaza. The building is centuries old, full of charm and character, spacious rooms arrayed around a central courtyard planted with orange trees and a fountain in the center, comfortable chairs outside the rooms, it's a great place to hang out and meet other guests or just relax. The staff are all friendly and warm, the owner Cynthia speaks English and is very helpful. One of the pluses is that price includes both breakfast and lunch, and the food is excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mocona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casacarmen, Owner at Casa Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2012

Dear Mocona,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. And thank you so much for your wonderful comments about Casa Carmen. My mom used to say that Casa Carmen atracts amazing people. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. Next time you visit us, we will be happy to give you a discount. We do that for all of our return guests.

Hasta pronto!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2012

Charming hotel/inn. There is a courtyard, like most hotels in San Miguel, and it is especially relaxing with the lovely fountain in the center and comfortable chairs scattered around colorful tile tables. All the rooms are different: floor plan, decorating, color scheme. The location cannot be beat, being walking distance to absolutely everything! Cindy gave top notch recommendations on restaurants. I highly recommend Casa Carmen.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, Staff at Casa Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2013

Thank you for staying with us and for writing a very positive feedback of Casa Carmen. We really give a lot of care and attention to not only in creating a charming, clean, and beautiful place but also in making our guests comfortable, relaxed, and satisfied. We make sure that guests get the best B&B accommodations and hospitality that they could find in San Miguel de Allende and we give care to everything from designing each room to providing warm, home-cooked, delicious, and healthy breakfasts and lunches. We hope you will return to stay with us whenever you visit San Miguel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Casa Carmen--a comfortable destination including incredible food.
Breakfast was served daily and lunch every day but Sunday. This home away from home was located just a couple of blocks from the Jardin, so it was possible to take off on foot almost anywhere in town. The owner, Cynthia was on hand daily to help you with any questions about directions or information about local events. The staff was friendly and always there to help you with all of your needs. Can't wait to get back!

Room Tip: Rooms in the back and upstairs are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WildWest51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casacarmen, Gerente at Casa Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to write, was a pleasure to serve you and be always aware of what you need. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Cynthia and her staff were incredibly welcoming. We had 2 rooms, both were lovely. They have a computer for guest use and a television. The location is perfect, about 2 blocks from the main square where we enjoyed a free concert.The bakery next door offers a creative brunch menu and good cappuccino. During the week and Saturdays, breakfast and lunch are included in the rate, no lunch on Sunday. Be sure to let Cynthia know in advance if you will be arriving in time for lunch and they will prepare it for you. The cooks made an exception for us as we did not know to give them notice. The courtyard, fountain and smell of orange blossoms was simply divine. You will not be disappointed staying at Casa Carmen!

Room Tip: Rooms toward the back will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RanchoSolYMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casacarmen, Gerente at Casa Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2012

thank you very much for your opinion! I am glad that your stay with us has been satisfactory, is what motivates us to continue worrying for you to spend a good time here. hope to see you again! and thanks again for taking the time to write!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

As the growing expat presence threatens to tart up San Miguel with too many slick boutiques and upscale restaurants, Casa Carmen is a refreshing reminder that luxury and comfort can be much more simple. The 400-year-old courtyard building is beautifully maintained. It's clean, solid, and authentic - and wears its historical patina well. The level of service is warm, personal, and attentive, all the way from owner Cynthia across to every staff member. We felt like we were visiting relatives who truly cared about the quality of our experience. Both breakfast and lunch are included in the room rate. At first we thought that it might be inconvenient to have to return to the inn for lunch, but it turned out that the central location made it as easy a destination as any restaurant in town, and the food was as delicious - ample portions of lovingly home-cooked regional cuisine served either in the homey dining room or adjacent to a lovely fountain in the courtyard. When we go back to San Miguel we will stay here again and recommend all of our friends to do the same.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bsverdloff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casacarmen, Gerente at Casa Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2012

thank you very much for your opinion! I really glad we can make you feel at home, everything is here to serve you and give good service. your opinion motivates us to continue to serve well and with more desire! hopefully have it here again! and again thank you very much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

have just returned to Australia from a life changing experience in this gorgeous B.&B. 12 days painting with Flora Bloom . welcomed with open arms by Cynthia and her staff. beautiful atmosphere , delicious meals by Bernice and her staff always served with a smile . When one comes through the big front door into the beautiful courtyard one is assailed by the sense of peace and tranquility, bird songs (even saw emerald green hummingbirds) and perfumed flowers. Lovely comfy clean bedrooms and this casa is so close to the centre of town. so close to the centre of town... this will stay in my memory for ever
Patsy Howell

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, Staff at Casa Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2013

Location, location, location. This is one advantage that Casa Carmen has over many B&Bs in San Miguel de Allende. But our central location is just one of the best things about CC; we strive to give the best service and hospitality to our guests. We want them to have a very relaxing and comfortable stay. And we treat each guest like family. We are very glad you had a memorable time at CC and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

i had the deep pleasure of hosting a painting retreat with the alluring destination of san miguel de allende. casa carmen seemed the most fitting home for our group and a charming ample courtyard for our creative needs. think enormous canvases, easels, a wild array of paints, paint brushes, and enough room for fifteen passionate artists to follow their muse. i share this with you so you will understand how far cynthia and her entire staff extended themselves beyond our wildest expectations to make an art retreat of a life time come true.

my group all found their rooms charming and sparkly clean, our meals together extraordinary, the staff thoughtful, accommodating and friendly.

i want to offer my deepest thanks to cynthia for her kindness and resourcefulness. she was invaluable in helping with many logistical needs for the workshop far in advance of our arrival. she answered my emails quickly and with great willingness and kindness. i have found a true friend in cynthia and casa carmen truly has won all our hearts!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rebecca b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, Staff at Casa Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2013

Hi, on behalf of Cynthia and all the staff at Casa Carmen, I'd like to thank you for choosing CC to host your painting retreat. We strive to give our guests the best possible stay and to accommodate their every need. We hope you return with your groups and make CC your home away from home!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.3 mi away
Hacienda El Santuario
Hacienda El Santuario
#3 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
296 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Puesta Del Sol
Casa Puesta Del Sol
#27 of 153 in San Miguel de Allende
168 reviews
0.7 mi away
Acuarela Bed And Breakfast
Acuarela Bed And Breakfast
#7 of 153 in San Miguel de Allende
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa de la Noche
Casa de la Noche
#1 of 153 in San Miguel de Allende
571 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Calderoni Bed and Breakfast
Casa Calderoni Bed and Breakfast
#8 of 153 in San Miguel de Allende
248 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa Don Pascual
Casa Don Pascual
#25 of 153 in San Miguel de Allende
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Carmen

Address: Calle Correo 31 | Centro, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range: £95 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Carmen 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Casa Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Carmen Hotel San Miguel De Allende

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing