We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than your home away from home”
Review of Casa Carmen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I've been coming to San Miguel for 8 years and always stay at Casa Carmen. It's a beautiful centuries old building renovated into a Bed and Breakfast, except they serve you both fantastic breakfast and lunch. The rooms are full of charm and atmosphere (and comfort) and the staff and food is superb, as is the owner, Cynthia. I've had friends come to San Miguel and suggest they stay at Casa Carmen and no one has been disappointed. This is a great find, good prices, a block and half from main plaza and staying here makes ones stay in San Miguel truly special and warm. I'll be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mocona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, Staff at Casa Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for visiting us for the last 8 years, and for recommending Casa Carmen to your friends. We strive not to disappoint our guest, whether repeat clients such as you or new ones. As you said it, one cannot be in a better location than in Casa Carmen, and our staff benefit from not only your patronage but also from your helpful comments and tips on how to always improve the quality of our service and amenities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

Located in the heart of the city, Casa Carmen is a beautiful, historic building. You walk in to a lovely courtyard with a fountain. Breakfast and lunch are included, and breakfast is a full meal, not a skimpy muffin! Lunch is homemade soup with a complete, fresh and tasty meal every day (except Sunday). San Miguel can be a noisy town and nothing can prevent that, so keep that in mind when you go. Casa Carmen is one short block from the Jardin and La Parrochia, which is the epicenter of town. The staff is sweet and kind and patient with those of us that are not fluent in Spanish. As for the dogs, I love them, they are very sweet and make the hotel feel more like a home!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salsatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, Staff at Casa Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

We are happy that you feel like you have a home at Casa Carmen here in San Miguel. That is what we want every guest to feel, that you have a home with us. Please come back so we can enjoy the pleasure of your company and serving you with our trademark warmth and hospitality for every guest who grace us with their presence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Amenities were scarce, no Wi-Fi, no phones, no clock, fan and no hot water for two days. Smell of sewage after flushing toilet, room was clean but very old. Didn't get breakfast and there wasn't even a glass of orange juice when asked. Close to the square but very noisy at night church bells ringing at all hours and loud popping noises...fireworks??? Two dogs in and out of the kitchen and doing their business in the courtyard and in the flower bed by our room. We also had one of the few rooms that had a key to lock the door others were not so lucky. Had to pay in US cash all in all a Very expensive experience.

Room Tip: The room we had was close to the back and not as loud as others and this room had a key.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank deborah t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

This was my second stay at Casa Carmen. Under management of the daughter of the original owner who has passed on, it is still a fabulous place to stay. The accommodations are wonderful, service friendly, and location is ideal for sitting in the harden.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, choose the 'barn'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Earleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, Staff at Casa Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for writing a review for Casa Carmen, and staying with us again. I hope you make Casa Carmen your home away from home whenever you visit San Miguel de Allende, and we love seeing our guests come back and enjoy their company again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

My friend from work suggested my husband and I stay at Casa Carmen. She said we would love it. She was so right. Casa Carmen provided us a lovely place to stay in the "Centro" with classic gracious Mexican hospitality. Cynthia and her staff have mastered the art of being attentive without being intrusive. We enjoyed our week's stay and would gladly return.

Julie
San Diego, CA

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jleonard9719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, staff at Casa Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Julie, We are pleased that you and your husband enjoyed your stay here at Casa Carmen. On behalf of Cynthia and all the other staff, your family at Casa Carmen, we hope you can visit us again and give us the pleasure of seeing and serving you again. Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I just returned from nine days at Casa Carmen in San Miguel de Allende. Owner Cynthia, her family and staff could not have been more welcoming, gracious or accomodating. My room looked like a traditional old world sitting room with a beautiful rug. As a woman traveling alone, I appreciated the delicious home cooked meals where the cooks accomodated alternative requests. The price was reasonable for the value and I felt safe and rested there.

I was present on New Year's eve and was invited by Cynthia to have a toast with her family, a touching and thoughtful touch.

It was unusually cold and the only drawback is that if it remains so in the future, better heaters are needed. Thank you, Cynthia

Room Tip: All are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, Staff at Casa Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you stayed with us, and we have looked into the heater issue and make sure that there are available heaters for every room when the weather turns unseasonably cold. Nevertheless, we glad you enjoyed our warm hospitality and the penultimate service we provide to every guest so that their stay at San Miguel and Casa Carmen can be as memorable as can be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Just returned from a nine day stay there during my first visit to San Miguel. Cynthia, daughter and staff are top notch. the breakfast and lunches are cooked to order and the never empty jar of top notch tequila is always available in the living room.

Two items need addressing in our room. the towel bar keeps falling off. the shower head needs removing and descaling. other than that nothing, nada!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lckt13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, staff at Casa Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear valuable client, Thank you very much for writing a glowing review of Casa Carmen. We always strive to improve our service and to make the stay of every guest as comfortable and relaxing as possible. Thank you for calling our attention to the shower head and the bar. We have fixed it and we hope that you stay with us again on your next visit to San Miguel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.4 mi away
Casa de la Noche
Casa de la Noche
#1 of 141 in San Miguel de Allende
556 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Mia Suites Apartments
Casa Mia Suites Apartments
#2 of 81 in San Miguel de Allende
116 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Maricela
Casa Maricela
#20 of 141 in San Miguel de Allende
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Antigua Capilla Bed and Breakfast
Antigua Capilla Bed and Breakfas...
#3 of 141 in San Miguel de Allende
372 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Puesta Del Sol
Casa Puesta Del Sol
#28 of 141 in San Miguel de Allende
166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clandestino Hotel
Clandestino Hotel
#7 of 141 in San Miguel de Allende
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Carmen

Address: Calle Correo 31 | Centro, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range: £83 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Carmen 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Carmen Hotel San Miguel De Allende

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing