We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Center of Town, Peaceful, Great Value!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coqueta Hotel Boutique
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Villa Rivera Hotel is a jewel. My girlfriend and I really enjoyed the Balcony Room, which opens up on the quaint cobblestone street. What an amazing place to relax! The bathrooms were great (I think the shower head would be illegal in the U.S. given how much water it puts out, but it's extremely enjoyable to take a shower in!). What is best about the location is the location right behind the Cathedral. You have near instant access to all the best parts of San Miguel. Great staff too and a complementary Breakfast. Give it a shot!

Room Tip: I can't speak for the other rooms, and it might be noisier on weekends, but we had no problems w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2012

The hotel has a great location! Just a couple blocks from the center... The prices are great, make sure to ask, as the ones they show or advertise are not the ones they charge, they are much cheaper!

The bad is if you get the balcony room, which is the one with the best view of town, you will have to get used to all the street noise... If you want a quiet room when sleeping, even at night, make sure to not get that one.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Tripatthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We stayed in the room above the reception area with double queen beds and a balcony. The beds were very comfortable and the decor was beautiful. There was plenty of room for us to spread out. Great location near the zocala. The poblano soup was tasty. Somewhat noisy in the evening but few distractions after 2300.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GirlonthegoUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

The Villa Rivera has its own charms. The receptionists are casual and enthusiastic. The staff absolutely correct. The garden and pool are gorgeous. There are many twists and turns to get to the 10 very individual guestrooms. In the photos of the hotel you'll see a room with a tree--that was ours! The tree was open to the air but enclosed by windows and curtains all around. It stood between the bed and the bathroom. We loved our room with its bench in the entry, a large and well-tiled bath, large room with good floors and comfortable beds--even though the window was right at street level which was a bit noisy in the morning. We didn't mind because we knew that a good continental breakfast awaited us. It's 2 blocks to the Cathedral and zocalo and couldn't be more convenient. Now, the ringing of the cathedral bells--well, travelers have to get used to such things especially in Muslim countries where the call to prayer rings out 5 times daily. My can't stand the noise: very loud rock music bars. And there were none of those near the Villa Rivera.

Room Tip: Tell the hotel what's important to you. If you need a very quiet room, tell the reservationist.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SIDSKID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

I had the chance to spend a few days with my family at this hotel. It is an ancient house adapted to a small boutique hotel. It is very clean, well decorated, smells very good, and you feel really comfortable there. The staff is very friendly and the typical food can't be better. It is one block from the main square and historic places. There are many good restaurants in the surroundings. Definitively, a very good choice

Room Tip: Reserve a room looking to the inside. Those with windows looking to the street can be a little noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cholupo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

We stayed at the Rivera Hotel and I had the worst night ever, they gave us the room called El Valle that is just up of the reception and we heard the noise all night long. They close the door at night, so you will hear the ring every time someone arrives from town. If you go there make sure they don´t give you this room!
The location is very good. Just 2 blocks from the church. The street is very narrow so with children is a little difficult.
The thing that I liked the most of this hotel is the swiming pool area. You can really relax there, very calm.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripmex5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2010

This place is located two blocks from the central square and the room we had overlooked the roof of the cathedral - bad move. If you don't know - they ring the church bells (and there are three within sight of this hotel) every 15mins in San Miguel de Allende, so even though this location seems ideal, if you want good sleep you can find much better places.
The room was nicely furnished with refrigerator, small TV, wardrobe and small desk. The bathroom was a little smelly and the bath was a new version of an old mosaic style bath but not very well done. However the shower was pretty good.
So on the bad side - the finishing of everything was just too cheap. They have tried to create an olde world feel to the place, but the doors onto the patio were cheap and difficult to open, the bedroom door has been stripped of paint- but still some remained, the window glass was held in by plastic sealant, the curtians were thin and pretty useless to keep out ight and the beds were just that bit too hard.
The breakfast included in the price was the bare minimum (bread, coffee OR juice, fruit) and they were trying to sell you more stuff that would have been included in any normal hotel charging you $150+ per night.
So overall, it's an OK place to stay (if you can sleep with the bells ringing), the rooms are fine (except for the smelly bathroom), the breakfast is poor, the swimming pool dirty but the location is very convenient. The price is excessive for this level of hotel, but this seems to be the trend in this town. For money better spent go to Patzcuaro, where you will get a much nicer hotel, a nicer town at half the price!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnandlucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.1 mi away
Hacienda El Santuario
Hacienda El Santuario
#3 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
294 reviews
0 mi away
Casa Rosada Hotel
Casa Rosada Hotel
#5 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
216 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Casa Primavera
Hotel Casa Primavera
#19 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
View Hotel Boutique
View Hotel Boutique
#35 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
64 reviews
6.4 mi away
Casa de Aves
Casa de Aves
#49 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
55 reviews
2 mi away
Imperio de Angeles
Imperio de Angeles
#33 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coqueta Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coqueta Hotel Boutique

Address: Quadrante No. 3, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Villa Rivera)
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 68 Hotels in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range: £81 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coqueta Hotel Boutique 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Coqueta Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing