We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique at its best!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coqueta Hotel Boutique
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Wow. Another wonderful Hotel that from the street you would think there was nothing there. This is a very small (7-8 rooms) Boutique Hotel two blocks from the main Plaza in San Miguel. On the recommendation of our tour guide, Carlos Aguilar we booked into this terrific Hotel. We were tired from travelling and when we arrived we checked into our rooms and then sat around the pool and enjoyed the beautiful view and the fantastic pool/courtyard. The staff were amazing helping us in every way they possibly could. The location is excellent, with the best restaurants and shops just a short walk away. The streets are narrow so expect that when walking along them, understand that sometimes the sidewalks become non-existent, so you need to be careful. We spent 3 days and 2 nights at Coqueta and loved every minute of it. The wifi was great and allowed me to work and Skype in between sightseeing, shopping and eating.
A great Boutique Hotel that you should not miss.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
There are newer reviews for Coqueta Hotel Boutique
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2014

The hotel is in the perfect location for San Miguel,walking distance to all the attractions and markets and restaurants. The rooms are comfortable, we had a room with a terrace that over looked the gardens and main church Of San Miguel. Wherever you go in San Miguel there will be noise, traffic if you Are on the street side, or church bells. We had church bells all day and night, but take ear plugs and after walking all day in this enchanting town you will sleep
Staff at the hotel were outstanding,. Mexican hospitality at its best

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Marsha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

The Hotel Villa Rivera is located just behind the beautiful Parroquia church in the very center of San Miguel de Allende. For us, it was a perfect situation. My husband had a sore foot and needed to rest a lot, so he was able to enjoy just sitting in the garden area near the pool with a good book to read, while I went out to amble around town, coming back to check in from time to time. I brought him a sandwich for dinner and we took a cab out to breakfast in the morning (we were not aware there might be a continental breakfast and were hungry enough to want a full meal, anyway). Our room had two queen size beds. It was on the lower level with windows opening both onto the street and toward the garden. The room was very clean and comfortable, very well lit, the wifi worked great, and the bathroom had a good shower with plenty of hot water. With heavy white curtains over the windows and a curtain hanging just below the skylight, the room was dark enough for sleep. In the evening, the lights shining on the church and the tin lanterns and other lighting in the garden provided an enchanting environment. We sat out there until it got too chilly. The bubbling fountain near the pool, a few crickets chirping in the garden and music drifting over from the Jardin (the plaza in front of the Parroquia) added to the ambience. Traffic passing by on the cobblestone street can be loud, but with the street side window closed in our room, it wasn't bothersome. We could hear the church bells, which we had expected. Somehow they didn't bother us. We live in Mexico and are used to extra noise, I guess. The hotel staff seemed friendly and were willing to help as needed. By booking through an internet agency, we got a good price, and we considered it an amazing deal to be so centrally located in such a lovely hotel in the generally high-priced town of San Miguel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DBRc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel is just a block from the main plaza and Parroquia de San Miguel, which is a plus. The very bad part about it, though, is that you hear the very loud church bells several times a day and night. And no, that is not an exaggeration. The loud street traffic also is heard in the room.

Another bad thing about this hotel is that the room has a skylight above the bed so when the sun is up, the room is brightly lit.

The guy at the front desk when we checked in spoke English and was friendly. The 3 women who replaced him, however, did not speak a word of English and were also very un-professional. I speak some Spanish enough to get by but then the toilet got clogged and I couldn't explain it in Spanish and the women at the front desk couldn't care less. They even laughed at me with my broken Spanish.

The beds, which are advertised as queen size, are really full size.

This hotel is now called Coqueta and perhaps the service went out the door with the old management.

I seriously do not recommend this place.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank DRDawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Hotel Villa Rivera is an excellent choice when visiting San Miguel de Allende. It's close proximity to the Plaza Principal is an added bonus. Restaurants, shopping and people watchhing are just three of the activities that can be enjoyed in this quaint colonial town. A couple of caveats, bring comfrotable walking shoes, streets are steep and paved with cobblestones. Also, if you're a light sleeper, bring ear plugs-all the churches ring their bells during the night at 15 minute intervals. There are four churches right near the plaza, including the Parroquia, which anchors the plaza. It's the perfect four day getaway.

Room Tip: Ask for the "Parroquia."
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RickieK62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Hotel Villa Rivera is in a very nice location just a few blocks from the center of town. The room we were given was very nice and spacious. This is why i gave it 2 stars :-)

The service was subpar. The hotel advertises breakfast as part of the stay however this only includes coffee and bread and/or fruit. Not bad but it should be clear that it is not a full breakfast.

The part that got me was at check out. We actually made reservations directly through the hotel because we thought we were getting a better deal ... bad idea use an online travel service!!!. We had reserved a couple of rooms at a certain rate. We actually called on a couple of occasion and ensured that we were on the same page on the total bill. To make a long story short, at check out we were charged a price we had not agreed to. the hotel clerk insisted that she sent me an email confirmation on the reservation and she even showed me a copy of the sent message, however I could not find such an email in my gmail (where i never delete anything since they provide ample space!) Anyhow i refused to pay the rate and suggested that I would fight the charge thru the credit card company. At the end of the day after arguing back and forth they agreed on a cash settlement but still not what we signed up for. The only reason i agreed to pay was because i did not want to ruin the rest of my vacation. You live you learn!

Room Tip: I got a double and it was very spacious
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amagallanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Restaurant at the Villa Rivera Hotel, Cuadrante No. 3, Col. Centro, San Miguel de Allende (SMA), Gto., tel. 415-152-0742, e-mail: ventas@villarivera.com, web: www.villarivera.com. We had a lovely lunch in the lovely garden with a view of the Parroquia and the smell of gardenias. We had one Chile Poblano Cream soup with panela cheese (M$50). It was really delicious. And we had one Minestrone (M$55) which was difficult to eat in the bowl because the noodles in it were so long. For dessert we ordered the Blintzes (crepes filled with cottage cheese, Philadelphia cream cheese with sweet cream and blueberries) for M$60. It was an original rendition, huge and too sweet for us. We spent M$200 plus tip for a (too much food for us) lunch.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank aledm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.5 mi away
La Puertecita Boutique Hotel
La Puertecita Boutique Hotel
#27 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
178 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Rosada Hotel
Casa Rosada Hotel
#5 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
195 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hacienda El Santuario
Hacienda El Santuario
#4 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villa Mirasol Hotel
Villa Mirasol Hotel
#9 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
293 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Casa Primavera
Hotel Casa Primavera
#19 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
173 reviews
0.4 mi away
Suites & Spa Dona Urraca
Suites & Spa Dona Urraca
#33 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coqueta Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coqueta Hotel Boutique

Address: Quadrante No. 3, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Villa Rivera)
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 68 Hotels in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range: £77 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coqueta Hotel Boutique 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Coqueta Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing