We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Event Location! Beautiful gardens, very helpful staff and great food and drink!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coqueta Hotel Boutique
St. Louis, MO
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Event Location! Beautiful gardens, very helpful staff and great food and drink!”
Reviewed 29 December 2009

My husband and I were married in San Miguel in April. Having grown up in San Miguel I have always dreamed of having my wedding in this magical town. I am so happy with our choice to have the Welcome Party for our wedding guests at the Villa Rivera. – We had about 45 people, but the location is very versatile and could have accommodated anywhere from about 20 to 80.
Having grown up in San Miguel and still having lots of family and friends in town I had access to a lot of locations and vendors. Everyone at Villa Rivera was very helpful and they did a very good job with everything. Victor Manuel Luna who helped us to coordinate everything was great! The owners, who we met several times were incredibly friendly and helpful as well.
We had a three hour sunset welcome reception by their pool area with wonderful appetizers and great cocktails!! – We are still talking about the beautiful view of the back of the Parroqia and about the delicious food and great margaritas! We also hired a guitar player for the evening and they were very accommodating about that.
I would very much recommend the Villa Rivera for a dinner or other event. In addition to this location they also own La Azotea which I love!
I included a few photos- most of them are people, but hopefully you can see behind us to see the beautiful hotel grounds.

Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SMA222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    39
    20
    10
    16
See reviews for
29
63
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aspen
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2008

We brought 15 of our friends from all over Europe to the Villa Rivera for three nights. They are all international travelers, very demanding, and accustomed to a very high standard of accommodation and service. We hoped they'd like it; but in fact they LOVED it! Indeed, it blew them away! The hotel, once a private home, is tucked behind San Miguel's Parroqioa. A block from the Jardin, its location couldn't be better, and both the guest rooms and common areas are very tastefully decorated. The bar and restaurant open on to a terrace and tiny lawn complete with a swimming pool -- also tiny. The views from some of the suites are simply breathtaking. But the best thing about the hotel is its incredible staff: In particular, Rebecca and Francesca who manage the front desk and Victor, who is in charge of food and beverage services went out of their way to make us feel totally welcome and at home in a multitude of ways. For example: when some of our party arrived at odd hours, this was no problem for Victor, who insisted on carrying their baggage. When we came in one night after the bar had closed, Rebecca herself opened the bar for us. When I commented on their graciousness to Victor, he simply replied, "We want you to feel that this is your home" That said it all! No matter what we asked them for, their response was 'no problema' -- and they meant it! My friends could not have had a better introduction to Mexico than the Villa Rivera.
Alex B.

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
Thank AspenWicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2006

This is a beautiful hotel in a nice location, with views of the valley and easy access to the Jardin. By all accounts, this should be a highly rated hotel and it would be if the nightly rate was half what it is. Unfortunately it does not live up to its price. We are not usually picky about hotels in middle-income countries; cleanliness and a decent bed are usually enough. But for nearly $200 a night one expects much more than this hotel gives. Our second floor room was average size, with a comfortable bed, small refrigerator and TV. The glass door to the balcony has a gap at the bottom which explains the mosquitoes and ants in the room. The large balcony was a highlight, almost as large as the room and with beautiful views. The sink and tub drain poorly. The ceiling leaked during a heavy rainstorm. A man skims the pool surface each morning to clean it, but the bottom was heavy with leaves, dead insects and fruit fallen from a nearby tree. The hotel staff are polite and friendly but provided no assistance when we enquired about local cooking classes, which we found ourselves on the internet [-]. Wireless internet is available (though the front desk staff don’t know anything about it – ask the manager for the network key) by the pool. A “continental” breakfast is included in the price, but the staff don’t mention it when you check in – you need to call every morning for it to be brought to the room. The restaurant food was mediocre and overpriced, compared to what you can get at a variety of good restaurants within several blocks of the hotel. Overall, we found the hotel to be quite nice but not worth the four star price. Definitely stay here if you can bargain the price way down, probably possible during low season, but look elsewhere if they’re asking the rack rate.

  • Liked — Location, view
  • Disliked — Poor service compared to price
  • Tips/Secrets — Bargain on price
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank boethe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, TX
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2006

We had a lovely long weekend stay in the San Miguel suite of the Hotel Villa Rivera in San Miguel de Allende. Charming is the word for both the town and this quaint little boutique hotel, seemingly borrowed from Provence or Tuscany. Standing on our balcony looking down on the pool and courtyard full of flowers or gazing over the wall at the top of the grand cathedral with its spires and domes or watching the sunset over the distant purple hills, we could not have been happier with our choice of a hotel or this particular room. One cannot beat the location of the hotel for exploring the city or the atmosphere throughout the hotel itself. All was immaculate and the service was very responsive. We marveled at how the lobby, the halls, and the rooms were all so tastefully and artfully decorated. The continental breakfasts that came with the price of the room were perfect for us with a basket full of fresh rolls and a plate full of slice fresh fruits. Our room was airy and bright with French doors out to the private porch and the most comfortable bed I have ever slept on in Mexico. And the beautiful bathroom with its huge tub below its own dramatic cupola was the piece de resistance. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SATXKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zona Norte, Bs As
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2005

This small charming 10 room hotel is definetely a very good option.
This was our second trip to San Miguel and having learned a few things after our first trip we decided to stay at this great spot.
We negotiated the rate and were able to lowered it from US 180 to US 120 by booking a month in advance.
Breakfasts are great and the restaurant is very good in terms of quality of food and service, something you will not find everywhere in this town.

Temperatures in San Miguel get to 95 after midday therefore a pool is esencial so you can go back to the hotel refresh yourself and wait after 5pm under the shade in the garden.

It is also esencial that your hotel is not located in front of the main square as you will have to bear with Mariachis until 2am. This hotel is 2 blocks fro the main square which reduces noise considerably.

Overall service is very good and personalized.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for its price/quality relation.

Helpful?
11 Thank Awell003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2004

My sister and I spent 5 glorious days in June at the Villa Rivera. What a charming spot -- and I am VERY picky. The hotel's website does not do it justice. Our room was lovely -- and immaculate -- with an incredible view of San Miguel and the surrounding area. The staff was helpful when you needed them but not intrusive. The restaurant and bar are very attractive, looking out onto the pool and courtyard, which is beautifully landscaped. And did I mention the location could not be better -- just a few short blocks up from the Jardin. This is the best kept secret in San Miguel. I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Helpful?
13 Thank Emily3307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.5 mi away
La Puertecita Boutique Hotel
La Puertecita Boutique Hotel
#28 of 69 in San Miguel de Allende
176 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Rosada Hotel
Casa Rosada Hotel
#6 of 69 in San Miguel de Allende
188 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hacienda El Santuario
Hacienda El Santuario
#5 of 69 in San Miguel de Allende
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villa Mirasol Hotel
Villa Mirasol Hotel
#7 of 69 in San Miguel de Allende
288 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Casa Primavera
Hotel Casa Primavera
#16 of 69 in San Miguel de Allende
171 reviews
0.4 mi away
Suites & Spa Dona Urraca
Suites & Spa Dona Urraca
#33 of 69 in San Miguel de Allende
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coqueta Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coqueta Hotel Boutique

Property: Coqueta Hotel Boutique
Address: Quadrante No. 3, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Villa Rivera)
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 69 Hotels in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coqueta Hotel Boutique 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Coqueta Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing