We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value hotel, shame about the 6am fireworks !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rancho Hotel El Atascadero
Reviewed 20 June 2010

Very nice hotel and good value, but our 2 night stay was spoilt when nearby fireworks woke us at 6am the day of our departure ! Apparently this is a tradition at weekends throughout May and June; the hotel says some locals have complained but there's nothing that can be done. Unfortunately as with a lot of places in Mexico your peace is disturbed by rowdy neighbours who don't give a damn about keeping you awake. So if you're looking for somewhere to have a nice lie-in (in May and June at least), be warned.

Pros:
- Beautiful old building and gardens.
- Friendly service, e.g. letting us dine after 10pm after arriving late.
- Big, comfortable room with balcony.
- Shuttle bus service to the centre every hour.
- Free wifi in restaurant and lobby.
Cons:
- Pool needed cleaning; jacuzzi was just a tub with water in it (again needed a clean).
- Breakfast is just coffee, fruit and roll and muffin; eggs etc cost extra.
- Guests having a gathering not far from our room could be heard until 1am, again another disturbance (in addition to the fireworks that lasted during the evening as well).

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelling_Russian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2008

This is a delightful old place on a hill above town. The room (a jr. suite) was spacious, with a nice greenbelt view. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The pool was fun for the kids. Basically, its a wonderful place for a relaxing stay. I highly recommend it if your looking for a place away from downtown.

There is a free shuttle that about every half hour or so for the 5 min. ride into town, but you need to take a cab (about $2.50) for the trip back.

On the downside, the place is obviously one of the older "hacienda" style hotels in town. Of course, all the haciendas are old, but this one seems to have been turned into a hotel a while ago. Some furnishings are a little dated, and the room had a slightly musty smell about it. However, I think that based on the price and the amenities, it was a great choice for us.

Note that I would be a little wary about staying here in the winter, as the only heat is from a fireplace that was far from the beds.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank leebids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2007

This hotel sits atop a hill, away from the center of town. But do not be dismayed, they offer a free shuttle service to the center of town and is available immediately, and its available everyday from 8am-9pm. You can come back by taxi which costs about $2.50. The hotel has lush grounds, that are kept spotless. The hacienda style hotel was very quiet, and so relaxing. The pool temperature is warm and inviting, which includes a jacuzzi. The staff was great and always helpful. Their is a computer and free internet access in the lobby. If you are looking for a place to relax and enjoy San Miguel in a traditional Hacienda style hotel, then this is the place to stay. I'm definitely returning!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank mendez99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2005

I am now planning my third trip to San Miguel de Allende, Mexico. This is a wonderful retreat for artists or for anyone who wants to relax in a clean friendly town. Although the cobble stone streets and slight hills in the town can be a challenge for some, it is very easy to find your way around. The town is a beautiful historic site, and no modern buildings may be built. Many Americans and Canadians have retired to the good life in San Miguel, so English is spoken almost everywhere. I have stayed at the Hotel El Rancho Atascadero, about two miles from the center of town. This hotel is in a scenic setting and very comfortable. The restaurant and bar at the hotel are quite good, as is the service. Internet is available. Check portalsanmiguel before you go, as there are periodic festivals in town. There is a large outdoor market, very good restaurants, a large library and many nice shops.

12  Thank Gerivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Marlenefc2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suzanne y, Guest Relations Manager at Rancho Hotel El Atascadero, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
1  Thank MaxTorresR4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank mendolun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
2.3 mi away
Imperio de Angeles
Imperio de Angeles
#32 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
230 reviews
6.7 mi away
Grand Las Nubes by Inmense
Grand Las Nubes by Inmense
#11 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
38 reviews
5 mi away
View Hotel Boutique
View Hotel Boutique
#36 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Real de Minas San Miguel de Allende
Real de Minas San Miguel de Alle...
#9 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
1,011 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Primavera
Hotel Casa Primavera
#20 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
183 reviews
7 mi away
Casa de Aves
Casa de Aves
#50 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho Hotel El Atascadero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Hotel El Atascadero

Address: Prolongacion Sto. Domingo s/n | Arcos de San Miguel, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 68 Hotels in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range: £50 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rancho Hotel El Atascadero 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rancho Hotel El Atascadero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing