We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor Value for the Money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Schuck Boutique Hotel
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Poor Value for the Money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

I like staying in really nice hotels once in a while and am willing to pay up for the experience. In the case of Casa Schuck, I don't feel we got our money's worth. It is a beautiful place, but there are many beautiful hotels to choose from in San Miguel (this one is "average" by comparison to many other places in town). I just thought that the little things were lacking -- you expect really comfortable pillows at this price, and theirs were fine but nothing special. The first night we had only a very, very heavy comforter of some kind and a sheet. I spent the whole first night kicking off the too-hot comforter and then pulling it back on half an hour later when I was too cold under just the sheet. It was not my best night, though they did offer a much more appropriate blanket for the rest of our stay. The bathroom was tiny and not designed to offer much space for toiletries and the like -- getting ready in the morning was a balancing act. I hadn't expected to bring my own body lotion to a place like this. And I thought it odd that they provided only one drinking glass in a double room, though they did provide another, non-matching glass when we asked. The housekeeping staff forgot to refill our carafe of drinking water. All small details but the ones that make the difference between average and excellent.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerOmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    459
    58
    14
    16
    3
See reviews for
51
193
17
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

My nephew just had their wedding at this authentic location . We all loved every minute being in this colonial paradise. This is a family owned boutique bed and breakfast . Fantastic breakfast , cocktails in the bar and the rooftop terrace. Great staff and service with all the bells and whistles. We were here for a wedding with a large group and all our needs were met at the drop of a dime. First time to this special little town, and we all thought the trip and location was well worth returning to next year. My cousin is also thinking now of marring at this hotel in 2015. Loved Casa Schuck!

Room Tip: The hotel was spotless and well attended to considering it is in centuries old hacienda
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

We loved Casa Schuck for the overall location and service. A good friend recommended this and we were not disappointed. because of so many nearby cathedrals, with bells going off every hour, we were glad to have the overhead (high-powered) fan. However, the fan was very loud and squeaky. So we took the fan over the bells and ultimately slept better! The staff was very friendly, and the jewelry for sale in the courtyard rivaled any we found in town. I would definitely recommend this place!

Room Tip: I would recommend a room that is not on the ground floor (because your view will be the courtyard; a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katstracks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at Casa Schuck while our new home in San Miguel de Allende was being constructed. We have known the owners and the hotel for a couple of years and try to visit them every time we are back in San Miguel. We also had our wedding there in July 2012 which turned out fantastic. Our friends still comment often what a great time they had at Casa Schuck; and for good reason. Susan and Chuck took care of every detail and made our guests feel at home in every sense. During our most recent stay we encountered a horrific thunderstorm that flooded all the streets and cancelled our dinner plans with friends. When we returned to the hotel, starving I might add, we mentioned to the night manager what had happened. He personally opened up the kitchen and prepared us a late night meal which we thoroughly enjoyed. That, more than anything else, should tell you what kind of hotel Casa Schuck really is. They are your family when you are there and they want to make you feel at home in every way possible. Casa Schuck is the best.

Pat & Marcos

Room Tip: They're all great. We have stayed in several and I don't really have a favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

We hadn't been back to San Miguel in years. The town has changed grown, and much more popular but the beauty still remains . That how we describe Casa Schuck. A spacious oasis in the middle of all the excitement of town. The service provided cannot have been better, every detail of our needs provided with ease and a smile . Looking for deluxe accommodations in a timeless , beautifully environment, search no further

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Theodore W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona del Mar, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Our choice of Casa Schuck for our 8-day stay in San Miguel de Allende couldn't have been more perfect. Owners Susan and Chuck treated us like family, and the staff went out of their way to take care of our needs and to provide us with information on things to do, restaurants, tours, and day trips. Our room El Royal, and the grounds exceeded our expectations. There are so many hidden places on the property to enjoy quiet time and the views. Do not miss the Torta Chuck for breakfast and the margaritas on the roof top terrace at sunset! We were treated so well by Casa Schuck and the community of San Miguel that we have decided to retire there before the end of this year. Magical is an understatement for this lovely boutique bed and breakfast. Muchas gracias from Jan and Bob.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Paltz, New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

What kind of business profits from the misfortunes of its customers? Casa Schuck.

If everything goes well, you might have a great experience there, but if you have any problems at all, you can count on this business to take advantage of you.

We prepaid for a stay over the New Year's holiday. A week plus before that we informed the hotel that I had badly sprained by knee and we had to cut our vacation short and return home.

A small disaster for us. This was a long planned for and saved for vacation, but the idea of hobbling up and down hills and on cobblestone on a painful, swollen, and dysfunctional knee made no sense.

We were well aware that we were on the hook for the entire amount if the hotel was not able to sell the room to a new customer. A harsh policy considering we gave them over seven days notice, but acceptable.

The hotel succeeded in selling two our our five nights and we expected a refund on the money they collected from the new guest.

Imagine our surprise to see that the hotel deducted $250 from our refund to cover its "expenses."

If you're good at arithmetic you'll see they got the full payment on the room for five days PLUS the $250 they took from our refund, so, if fact, they profited from our misfortune and made an additional $250 from the room above what they normally would have made.

Who does this to people? Casa Schuck.

We're in no position to fight with a far away company over this amount of money. (Note: This is not typical Mexican business policy. In fact, I'd be hard pressed to find any company anywhere in the world that treats its customers this badly. And yes, it appears in the fine print of their terms and conditions.)

There are many great places to stay in San Miguel Allende. I would not recommend this business to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Tivolicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaSchuck1, Owner at Casa Schuck Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
We really took this posting personally as we we have never experienced a review like this. We requested for it to be waived considering they never stayed at our location, never stepped in our doors .. . For reasons we are un-aware of, this review is still posted. On the contrary , we sent back immediately all the funds due to this client. They never stepped foot in our door to have the Casa Schuck Experience that we are famous for .. They canceled their reservation on December 24, with arrival on December 25th for 7 nights, with 1 day to work with the fill their reservation dates , this being ( our HIGHEST SEASON of the year ). We did our best to cover their dates and we did cover some of them. In all our 35 years , our family run business .. we have never experienced a review like this that was kept up, considering that they never even came to stay with us..

Our policies clearly state no refund with reservations cancelled less then 15 days prior during this time frame , and I have all the numerous emails and confirmations back and forth to this client acknowledging our policies and agreeing with our arrangement for us only to refund the funds of the days we could fill. A refund WAS given and granted for that amount .

We did a completely honorable thing by helping them out. The person of this review, acknowledged our agreement, then decided, although never staying with us to slam and slander our reputation in a completely unwarranted way. Our 350+ other reviews tell the true story from our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
#2 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
5.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hacienda El Santuario
Hacienda El Santuario
#3 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada
Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada
#4 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Matilda
Hotel Matilda
#13 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mansion San Miguel
Mansion San Miguel
#6 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Nena
Hotel Nena
#5 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
5.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Schuck Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Schuck Boutique Hotel

Property: Casa Schuck Boutique Hotel
Address: Garita No. 3 Centro C. P. | Centro, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
#4 Business Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Schuck Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Schuck boutique hotel, just 3 blocks to the Main Square (Jardin) and the famous Parrochia cathedral. You are minutes away from shopping, restaurants and galleries. This special boutique hotel offers the chance to live like a king or queen, right in the middle of town and enjoy the local cafes and art world culture. You may not want to leave the house much though, as the rooftop deck may beckon,or you might find a cozy spot to relax in the shaded landscaped courtyard or the heated pool. Rated Tripadvisor's best Hotel", enjoy the traditional Spanish Colonial architecture and comfortable bedrooms, most with outdoor living areas and terraces. Our personal attention along with the atmosphere makes this spot a favorite choice in San Miguel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Schuck Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casa Schuck Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing