We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below my expectations”
Review of Casa Quetzal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Quetzal Hotel
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Below my expectations”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

I visited Casa Quetzal with my wife with the intention to have a romantic weekend away from the kids, unfortunately this did not happen.

When we arrived to the hotel it seemed pretty nice, a nice hotel boutique, but when they gave us our room it was terrible. It was right next to the street so the noice was unbearable and the room mas much smaller than what was shown on internet. We complained with the manager so they gave us a much better room but just for one night.

Service and guest attention was pretty good, but they really need to do better with their rooms and space.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Patrik Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerente G, Gerente at Casa Quetzal Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Google Translation
Gracias por sus comentarios nos da pena el saber que la habitación no fue de su agrado esperamos contar con su visita nuevamente y poder exceder sus expectativas

Saludos cordiales.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    69
    27
    16
    14
See reviews for
41
123
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We loved this hotel. It was perhaps the best stay we have ever had. The staff treated us like a king and queen. It was just a week from heaven! Perfect everything. We sat for hours in the lovely garden and felt the warm breeze. Wonderful for sleeping at night./ Nos encantó este hotel. Fue tal vez la major estadía que hemos tenido jamás. El personal nos trató como reyes. Fue una semana celestial! Todo perfecto! Nos sentamos por horas en el lindo jardín disfrutando de la cálida brisa. Maravilloso para dormir de noche.

Room Tip: We stayed in 102--perfect! I put excellent for pool by mistake (no pool).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank volsNc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerente G, Gerente at Casa Quetzal Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for staying with us!
and thank you for your comments! we are very happy you enjoyed our hotel and really hope to have back very soon!!!

Kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We booked the junior one bedroom largely going on TripAdvisor comments. We were not disappointed.It was clean and picturesque while having didinct colonial charm it was also practical. We enjoyed being just a couple of blocks from the city center and the courtyard and table outside our suite where inviting. The only thing I can fault them on was that we asked them to clean the outside table and chairs so we could use them and they never responded we had to do it ourselves in order to enjoy the space. Also no one swept up the leaves in the courtyard. Needs attention to detail. If you are checking out early as we did I would advise you to settle your bill the night before as there was no one at the front desk only a night guard who opened the door so we could leave.
Recommend for tranquil and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hflatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerente G, Gerente at Casa Quetzal Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
We are glad you had a great experience at casa quetzal and Thank you for your comments! we will take seriously your opinions and suggestions which are very important to us!

kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
264 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 459 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Made an arrival date error on our reservation, but the staff graciously honored the reservation a day early. Also upgraded us to a much larger room, because the room type reserved was unavailable. Cannot ask for better service than that. Lovely facility, with a beautiful small courtyard & roof top seating area for relaxing. Suite had lovely brick floors, area rugs & comfortable furniture. Also has a fireplace for use in the cooler months. Great central location only 2-3 blocks from Main Plaza. Just a 1/2 block from the 5 star Casa Sierra Nevada, with much of the same charm & ambience for 1/2 the price. Definitely representative of the type of place you come to San Miguel to enjoy. Will look forward to returning, & another thank you to the professional & helpful staff.

Room Tip: We had the 2 bedroom suite, directly above & behind the reception desk. Lovely, but would probab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smvhou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerente G, Manager at Casa Quetzal Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Guest thank you for visiting Casa Quetzal we are very glad you had a great experience in our hotel and we are looking forward to your return!

Kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

- The receptionist ( a young lady) was busy talking to her friend instead of checking us in.
- room 101 is just at the entrance hall on your right as you walk in. You can hear all the noise from the street. Including all the cars and bikes passing by at 6 am.
- The room is freezing (we went on January 2014), there is a fireplace but we could not figure out how to make it work. We ask the receptionist for help and she told us she did not know how to turn it on. Then she told us to wait until 10pm for the valet parking guy because he was the only one who knew how it worked. The receptionist did not offer any kind of help.
- the light of the main hall comes into the room through the glass door of the bathroom. So if you really need to have a dark room to sleep, please avoid this room. The light of the hall is switched off at 6 am.
- when asked about the breakfast, they told us that because we did our booking trough booking.com we did not have breakfast included, if we had made the reservation trough them directly using their not secure webpage (no https) we would have had it included.
- they told us their breakfast is at a restaurant 4 BLOCKS AWAY. Come on!!!!!!! you cannot have a hotel with this price that does not have a restaurant, it is absolutely insane. At least put a coffee maker somewhere and buy pastries from the bakery around the corner.
- There is complimentary wifi but the signal does not reach room 101.

I really suggest this hotel to get ride of room 101 and instead do a make over to put in that place a small cafeteria/reading room (with 4 or 5 tables) to offer at least some kind of breakfast, there is plenty of space in the bathroom to put a small kitchen.

I suppose the other rooms are nicer, specially the ones with the views to the city. The receptionist at the time of the check out was really nice (a young man)

Room Tip: avoid room 101
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveliando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerente G, Manager at Casa Quetzal Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Guest thank you for your comments
We will install do vent windows in room 101 to avoid noises from the street.
Maybe you have some wrong info but breakfast is NOT 4 blocks away its at the correo restaurant (one of san miguel finest) and is only 1 block away from casa quetzal, we really encourage our guest to reserve with us directly and enjoy benefits like included breakfast and free valet parking.
and when available room Upgrade.

we appreciate your visit and look forward for your next stay with us

kind regards

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fortaleza, CE
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

The staff was always nice, attentive and friendly. They arranged all our needs. Cesar was the best. But the hotel by itself I didn´t like it and I even don´t understand till now why it won many accolades from TripAdvisor´s readers (as soon as we enter the reception area we face the prizes). It´s very expensive for what they offer. We booked three Junior Suites and each one was totatlly different from other. By hazard, mine was the worst. Strange. Arranged. I immediately complained and they moved me to the next superior category. Ok, it was a two-floors room, with a varanda, jacuzzi and a patio but none of those facilities persuaded me. Room was not particularly well decorated and, in my opinion, unconfortably hot. Had very bad sleeping during the three days we stayed there. The sink faucet pour in by itself during the night. I think my room was the 106. I would not recommend and not stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mdsf1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guerras2, Manager at Casa Quetzal Hotel, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Thank you for your comments casa quetzal is built in a house that dates from the 1800´s and san miguel is named a World heritage city by UNESCO which means that properties cannot be modified thats why the different room sizes in the hotel.
we value very highly comments and suggestions from our guests and rest assured yours will be taken very seriously to improve our overall guest experience.

Kind Regards

Casa Quetzal Manager & staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Casa Quetzal's private apartments down the street from the hotel. It was great having the privacy and peace that comes with renting a private apartment in San Miguel. We didn't have daily maid service but we enjoyed coming and going without any interruption.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.4 mi away
Villa Mirasol Hotel
Villa Mirasol Hotel
#8 of 69 in San Miguel de Allende
288 reviews
1.4 mi away
Arcada San Miguel
Arcada San Miguel
#53 of 69 in San Miguel de Allende
32 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hacienda de Las Flores
Hacienda de Las Flores
#29 of 69 in San Miguel de Allende
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Morada Hotel
La Morada Hotel
#12 of 69 in San Miguel de Allende
142 reviews
2.0 mi away
Imperio de Angeles
Imperio de Angeles
#23 of 69 in San Miguel de Allende
213 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hacienda El Santuario
Hacienda El Santuario
#4 of 69 in San Miguel de Allende
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Quetzal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Quetzal Hotel

Property: Casa Quetzal Hotel
Address: 34 | Colonia Centro, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Quetzal Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Quetzal, San Miguel's favorite boutique hotel, caters to the seasoned traveler with guest suites that are unique in their variety and sophistication. This little oasis, in the historical center of town, has elegant nods to the world's most exotic places, side by side with Mexico's colonial and contemporary architectural styles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Casa Quetzal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casa Quetzal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing